We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bueno, perfecto”
Review of Conquistador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Conquistador
Ranked #30 of 203 Speciality Lodging in Arequipa
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Colonial style hostel with charm, helpful staff and a perfect location - make this one of the best hostels I have stayed in during my travels.
The hostel is laid out perfectly, the rooms are away from the street noise and at the back of the hostel,so you have the lounging areas and dinning rooms towards the front.
The staff are attentive, helpful and very friendly - quite proud of their city are eager to suggest places to eat and things to do if you dont have an organised tour.
The rooms are clean, with decent showers that have hot water - and wont scald you! The flat screen tv with cable is a nice bonus in case you find yourself having a quiet night in.
Well recommended.

Room Tip: All were in the same area, no real difference to be honest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blacksteel79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2012

This is a family run business in a quaint old mansion right in the heart of Arequipa. Love the entrance, reception area and the breakfast room. The decor, the furnishings and details take you back to Spain hundreds of years ago. Our room was in a modern building and had twin doors which opened onto a small balcony with a view of the courtyard and the passage to the entrance. The room was clean and spacious as was the bathroom. The staff at the front desk were incredibly kind and helpful, we received lots of good advice about restaurants, what to see and where to buy some basics. Very good atmosphere, very good value.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wageni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I booked this through Booking. Com and got a room for half price with a special deal so I was pleased. The hotel is stunning, an old stone building tucked away behind gates on a street where no cars are allowed. The lobby is majestic and bursting with ye oldy charm. However, the hotel where are the rooms are is modern. The room was actually no better than one I paid 35 soles for in Puno! The carpet needs a change, the curtains etc. There is a flat screen TV, perfectly okay bathroom.

Having said that, I was so happy with the safe, central location and the friendly, helpful staff made up for it. Also, walking into the hotel was such a pleasure, you feel as if you are in a really grand, colonial home. There is a little garden at the back.

I came back from a three day trek to Colca Canyon and they had kept my suitcase stored for me. I had a few hours before my bus left to Nasca. I asked if there was a bathroom where I could change and the manager offered me a room and even said I could take a shower! Didn't ask for anything in return. I was very pleased to have stayed here.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

The hotel itself is ideally located near the centre. The building itself inside is beautiful and the staff are friendly and helpful. The beds are comfy and the rooms are well kept but we were situated at the back of the hotel where their is a live music venue, which plays music so loud that even earplugs are not enough to counter it.

The TV did not work in our room and the breakfast of scambled eggs and bread is more suited for a hostel. There is not much opportunity to meet other guests with a lack of a bar but there is one free internet computer available. I think you could quite easily find somewhere better to stay no matter what you wanted from a hotel or hostel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank English_drinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2007

Very nice lobby and inside yard. The room was really basic but clean. Perfect for a backpacker with a average budget like me... No noise...

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank titesdents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.4 km away
La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel
1.4 km away
Posada Nueva Espana
Posada Nueva Espana
#11 of 104 in Arequipa
286 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
#5 of 104 in Arequipa
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel Ramos
Hotel Ramos
#75 of 104 in Arequipa
9 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel PiruWasi
Hotel PiruWasi
#56 of 104 in Arequipa
19 reviews
0.6 km away
La Posada del Virrey
La Posada del Virrey
#125 of 203 in Arequipa
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conquistador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conquistador

Address: Mercaderes 409 | Centro Histórico, Arequipa -, Peru
Region: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 203 Speciality Lodging in Arequipa
Price Range: $62 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Conquistador 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This monument, artistic inheritance of Arequipa in located on Mercaderes St. the main street of the city. This hous built in the early eighteenth century was occupied by colonial authorities. This monument is a real expression of the history of Arequipa for its unique construction material called sillar, a volcanic lava stone of porous nature.Our Service, your best Recommendation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Conquistador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing