We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (427)
Filter reviews
427 results
Traveller rating
178
193
39
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
193
39
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small pool security guard lovely garden front gate hot water colca canyon games room overnight tour tour operator great facilities very nice hotel breakfast buffet breakfast was amazing main attractions stayed here for two nights room was large bread
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 427 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel that surprised me. From the front gate it doesn’t look like much but it’s quite large once you get in and the grounds are gorgeous. Take time to walk around and check it out. They have a nice, if small, pool and a little restaurant that has seats outside. Just like the name of the hotel (Grandmother’s House) the rooms are a bit dated and not decorated in the current style - but it’s comfortable for what you need. One thing my room didn’t have was a phone which was difficult if you needed to call the main office for something or a friend in another room. Would definitely recommend this hotel!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank StefJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasademiAbuela, other at Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Thank you very much for your comments, we will try better the decoration of the rooms.
It makes us very happy that you enjoyed the Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017

Beautiful venue, breakfast is great. The restaurant offers high quality "home-made" food. The rooms are quiet and clean. The newer area is great and security is taken care of.
People are kind and offer an excellent quality service. Silvia the general manager is kind and ensures the hosts are having a nice stay.

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool are quiet.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bgomezgarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

I spent 3 nights in the hotel in November 2017. Yes, the rooms are old-fashioned and you might have to wait for the hot water, but the areas around the hotel are amazing. Even though the hotel is located 5 min away from the city center, it was quite and relaxing. It has a huge green garden, full of different trees and flowers. I spent most of my afternoons laying down on the hammocks located in different places in the garden. The other thing I liked a lot about this hotel was the breakfast. You have several choices of fresh fruits, freshly squeezed juices, cereals, granolas, scrambled eggs, avocado, jellies, ham & cheese, different types of bread and so on. Also, you have an option to leave your luggage in the hotel's locker if you are going on a trip and have to check out.

Room Tip: great breakfast, amazing garden and pool area, relaxing
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nevena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here in November. Although it is 3 stars it was very disappointing. The rooms was very old fashioned and dated , shower cold on the evening . The pool area and gardens are pretty and breakfast looking onto garden not bad but it could really do with a facelift. Staff were helpful and we left our cases overnight while on a trip to Colca Canyon.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank emme991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasademiAbuela, Administradora at Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

We regret that your stay has not been pleasant, and thank you for your comments which will help us improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Casa de mi Abuela for 3 days and were really happy with everything. We had a superior room for $62 per night. It was really spacious, clean and comfortable. Plenty of hot water. WiFi in the room was patchy. The hotel is quite spread out with rooms in various blocks around a nice garden and pool. We stayed in 2 different rooms - one was newer with a more modern bathroom than the other though the price was the same. We had a secure area to park our car inside the property. It was a 10 minute walk to the centre of the old town or 15 mins to the main square. Breakfast was good and served buffet style in the garden. The staff were all very helpful and efficient. I would stay here again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank traveller1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews