We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Lago Estelar Hotel
Nearby Hotels
USD 127*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 201*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Inkanto Hotel(Arequipa)
USD 46*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 75*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 89*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 65*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Hosteria(Arequipa)
USD 143*
USD 88*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 32*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
USD 88*
USD 85*
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel PiruWasi(Arequipa)(Great Value!)
USD 28*
USD 24*
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
84
79
20
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
79
20
4
5
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 192 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2016

I was there with my family (2 children & my wife) for 3 weeks last summer. My wife is from Arequipa so we were 15 minutes away by car from her parents house. We spent 3 wonderful weeks @ this hotel and were treated very well by all the staff (dining room, cleaning ladies, front desk). The food is excellent, yes, it's more expensive than Downtown but the quality is very very good. I would recommend this hotel for someone who is looking to explore the outside of Arequipa (Colca Canyon, Volcanoes Misty, or the desert...). If you are more into nightclubs; you should look for a hotel closer to Downtown. Thanks again to all the staff (from: Martin from Montreal Canada)!!!

Room Tip: we stayed in the same room for 3 weeks we were on the back side (very quiet except for the roosters @ night)...
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MARTIN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Manager at El Lago Estelar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2016

Dear Guest.

We appreciate your comments about our Hotel, thank you for taking the time to write them. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope we can welcome you back any time soon.

Best Regards.

Maria Patricia Andrade Sterling.

Country Manager - Hoteles Estelar Del Perú.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2016 via mobile

Best hotel stay but dar away from Town .
Taxi from center to hotel 15 sole
FROM bus station to hotel 20 sole
From hotel to Airport 40 soles
Breakfast are good .
Internet work goog in reception loby .
In room the internet îs mot so good .

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Ciobanu F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Manager at El Lago Estelar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2016

Dear Guest.

We appreciate your comments about our Hotel, thank you for taking the time to write them. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay.


Best Regards.

Maria Patricia Andrade Sterling.

Country Manager - Hoteles Estelar Del Perú.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2015

The hotel is a few kilometers from the Plaza de Armas; without traffic a taxi needs 20-25 minutes to get to the center. This makes the hotel unattractive for a short stay in Arequipa. We also found the service lacking, no help in unloading luggage from the car to the rooms. At first we were assigned an uncleaned room, but this was changed immediately. The breakfast is over a water pool with ducks, but it lacked vegetables and the bread was not fresh. The coffee was almost undrinkable. On the whole the establishment does not justify the number of stars it has. On the other hand if you want to run a meeting there, it is not a bad choice, but the management must pay attention to details and try to improve the shabby appearance and the quality of service and food.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Procaccia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Manager at El Lago Estelar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2015

Dear Guest.

We truly apologize for all the inconveniences during your stay,all the involved areas have taken good note of your comments to solve the mentioned issues.
We are always working so hard to improve every details and provide the best service. Your comments are highly appreciated and helped us so much.

Best Regards.

Maria Patricia Andrade Sterling.
Country Manager-Hoteles Estelar Del Perú.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2015 via mobile

The building it self is nice, but in need of some renovations, nothing major, but bits and pieces all over.

The rooms are big and nice, but no heating or air conditioning. It was a bit chilly at night, but not to bad. The worst part is the bathroom floor - that was freezing. The no heating seems to be an issue many places in Peru.

My room had a small bathtub witch was nice. The mechanism that close the drain didn't close tightly so I had to refill the tub constantly. Worse was however that it wouldn't stay in open position either so when showing the tub filled with water.

The doors to the hallway was not very soundproofed.

The restaurant was more a joke. We had obviously a waiter that was under training, and that's ok. Then you should be lenient. However I do not think it's ok that the food for 7 persons arrive so spread out that the all but one has managed to finish their food before the last plate arrive. And that's the chefs responsibility, not the waiter.

The food was not that great either. They did not manage to cook the meat to medium, everything was well done.

Another strange thing - the English language in the menu was not understandable. We suspect that they have used a bad version of Google translate.

They have a nice pool area, but no one is attending the bar there, so if you would like a refreshment you have to go to the restaurant and search for a waiter. No big deal, but it wouldn't be a big problem for them to circle the pool once in a while to ask if someone wants something.

You can't order from the restaurant or the room service menu at the pool. I find that a bit stupid. I would like to sit outside snd eat a light lunsh. Apparently they want do that because the food might get cold.

The hotel is located in the middle of nowhere. That makes it quite, but at the same time a bit unpractical for sight seeing. A taxi to city centre is not pricy, about 20soles, so its not a big issue.

All in all, its an ok hotel, but it could have been great. The most disappointing is the restaurant - they really need to get the act together.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank Edvard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Manager at El Lago Estelar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2015

Dear Guest.

We truly apologize for all the inconveniences during your stay.
All the involved areas have taken good note of your comments and working to solve the mentioned issues.
We are always working hard to improve every details and provide the best service. Your comments are highly appreciated and helped us so much.

Best Regards.
Maria Patricia Andrade Sterling.
Country Manager-Hoteles Estelar Del Perú.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2015

Plus
- Great plus was the price (booked through Mr. Jet)
- Friendly and serviceminded staff. Gave a little bonus-discount
- Nice, clean and comfortable room
- Fitnessroom. Very, very basic, but it was there
- Lake and mountainview

Minus
- Great minus: No heating in the room. Veeeeery cold night ind July.
- Location - but not a big problem to take a taxi to central part of Arequipa

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
Thank Kargaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Manager at El Lago Estelar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2015

Dear Guest.
I want to thank you for your candid feedback, sharing your experience during your recent visit and helping us to improve our services with your comments. We will continue working, since our biggest commitment is to provide our guests an exceptional service and the best possible experience.

Best Regards.

Maria Patricia Andrade Sterling.
Country Manager -Hoteles Estelar Del Perú

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews