We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem outside of the city with excellent food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Lago Estelar Hotel
Ranked #25 of 103 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We were only supposed to stay at El Lago Estelar one night, but extended our stay because we liked the hotel so much. The grounds are spacious and home to various pets (ducks, llamas, horses), as well as a pool, soccer field, and small pond with kayaks and paddleboats for guests. The hotel is modern, clean and comfortable, with WiFi, lots of TV channels, a spa, and a gym (that could use some updating). The restaurant was delicious, we ate all of our meals there and were never disappointed. They're also pet-friendly, although pets aren't allowed in the rooms, They have a separate area for them, but were super accommodating in letting us move to a room with a terrace and set up our dog's crate there. It was a great place to spend a few relaxing days.

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor that face the pool have terraces that open up to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katrina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2012

I was in a short vacation with my family and we had good days. The breakfast is good as well as the food for lunch and dinner - I recommend "El doble"-
Clean pool, games for kids and space to play soccer, volleyball and to run or just read un the yard. The hotel is in the middle of the country and the air is very clean and nights are quiet.
They also have some pets -ducks and alpacas- and a small lake where you can use boats for free. Also, at the entrance, a boy rents horses to ride through the country.
At the end, we enjoy our stay so much.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelgarFBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I took my family for a quick get away and this is a great place in Arequipa's countryside, away from the noise and city crazyness. However it is a little too far from downtown Arequipa where most of the attractions are located. If you just want a place to rest, this is a great hotel, very quiet. However if you want to walk around downtown and visit museums and go to some of the great restaurants, this hotel may be a little too far. My biggest problem was leave in the morning when it was sunny and warm and having to come back to the hotel to pick up coats for the afternoon/evening. Besides that, the people at the hotel do their best to make you feel good. They have breakfast at the restaurant overlooking the small lake. I just would like to see more choices of healthy food and they need to pay more careful attention when claening the bathroom.

Room Tip: Look for rooms closer to the lake and looking towards the Molino (south), they are quiet and you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoseAntonioRobles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

This hotel is located in the middle of the country in Arequipa and is equipped with swimming pool and a large natural park of lawn.
The room is large and conformable, but very very cold without any possibility of heating. The restaurant is also very cold as for the diner where a fire was in the hearth but any strong to have a reasonable temperature for the diner.
The swimming pool is small and the temperature of the water in August is probably less than 15°C
It is possible to meet some domestic lama very close from the hotel
The hall of the hotel is very large
Equipment like safe wifi don’t operate in our room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and had a fantastic time. The hotel felt really relaxed. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and well equipped. The hotel has its own restaurant and the food was very tasty. I was pleased to see that they also had a selection of vegetarian meals. The pool area was clean and tidy and the hotel has a lovely view of the volcano. The hotel is a good way from the centre of Arequipa (15 mins or so in taxi) but that is the only downside, the breakfast was tasty but it would have been better as a buffet selection I think.

Room Tip: Some of the ground floor rooms open onto the pool at the rear or the lake at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheshireMonkey44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
7.1 km away
Queen's Villa Hotel Boutique
Queen's Villa Hotel Boutique
#31 of 103 in Arequipa
111 reviews
7.3 km away
Inkanto Hotel
Inkanto Hotel
#26 of 103 in Arequipa
148 reviews
7.6 km away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 103 in Arequipa
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
La Hosteria
La Hosteria
#17 of 103 in Arequipa
298 reviews
8.1 km away
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
#5 of 103 in Arequipa
877 reviews
7.4 km away
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Lago Estelar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Lago Estelar Hotel

Address: Pasaje Camino al Molino de Sabandia | Sabandia-Arequipa, Arequipa, Peru
Region: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 103 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range: $82 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Lago Estelar Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a lakeside hotel in a very natural place. Estelar El Lago provides perfect harmony between business and pleasure with the perfect location and surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your El Lago Estelar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing