We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a taste of Mexico in Ecuador”
Review of La Enfrijolada

La Enfrijolada
Ranked #125 of 664 Restaurants in Cuenca
Price range: USD 3 - USD 12
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch
Reviewed 28 June 2016

I've gone to La Enfrijolada many times for my Mexican fix. It's by far the best Mexican restaurant in Cuenca. Try the black bean soup a real treat and the chicken and black bean enchiladas, excellent. They now are serving breakfast on Friday, Saturday and Sunday. I had the Machaca, which is beef and scrabbled eggs with fresh squeezed orange juice and a basket of fresh bread, it was first rate. The interior has a Mexican flare and the side room has a small art gallery. The service is excellent and prices are reasonable. If you like Mexican food, this is a must.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tim p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfrijolado, Propietario at La Enfrijolada, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016
Google Translation

Estimado Tim, nos es muy grato tenerlo cn frecuencia en La Enfrijolada, es muy útil su opinion, estaremos esperándolo de vuelta y siempre ofreciéndole la auténtica sazón mexicana.

Leonardo y Priscila.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2016

We were among friends for lunch at La Enfrijolada. Priscilla the Chef, trained in Mexico City for 2 years and brings to Cuenca the most authentic mexican cuisine for us. Nice ambiance, festive and cozy at the same time. Leonardo will offer you Margaritas to start and you begin to enjoy the festival like decorated spot. We enjoyed almost all menu, and the aguas frescas. Guacamole was always coming in, Octopus and the slow cooked cochinilla; Red beans frijoles, soft tortillas and of course lots of roasted red chill pepper sauce. You can't go wrong when visiting La Enfrijolada, we enjoyed it tastefully. Opens till 10pm.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LaDISTRIBUZIONE E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfrijolado, Propietario at La Enfrijolada, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su opinión, para nosotros en La Enfrijolada es importante ofrecer un ambiente agradable y los platillos preparados con los mejores productos y la auténtica sazón mexicana; que nuestros clientes se sientan a gusto, en un pedacito de México en Cuenca, gracias por venir. Los esperamos de regreso muy pronto.

Leonardo y Priscila.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2016

We agree with others that it is the best Mexican food in Cuenca. The margaritas , guacamole, and dishes (green chile enchiladas and quesadillas) were all fantastic. The restaurant is beautifully appointed (apparently Leonardo, the proprietor has a background in architecture and interior design) and the water color artwork by a local painter (yes it is for sale) compliments the interior design. We need to return often to sample all of their dishes.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfrijolado, Propietario at La Enfrijolada, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2016
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su opinión; el objetivo de La Enfrijolada es ofrecer un ambiente agradable y los platillos preparados con los mejores productos y la auténtica sazón mexicana; que nuestros clientes se sientan en un pedacito de México, gracias por venir. los esperamos de regreso.

Leonardo y Priscila.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2016

Visited on a Tuesday night...the restaurant is open until 10pm. We ordered the enchiladas rojo, enfrijolada with house sausage, and (the star of the meal) the cochinita pibil - slow roasted pork. Everything was excellent & very flavorful. Plus a side of tasty guacamole. The inside of the restaurant was tastefully decorated.
We had enjoyed their octopus ceviche at a local food & craft festival, so I knew the restaurant would not disappoint. I'm from Arizona and LOVE Mexican food, so La Enfrijolda is definitely recommended! Prices a bit higher than an average dinner in Cuenca ($6-12 per entree) but one of the best meals I've had in town.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SarahLintheCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfrijolado, Propietario at La Enfrijolada, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016
Google Translation

Estimada Sara, muchas gracias por su comentario; el objetivo principal de La Enfrijolada es ofrecer a nuestros clientes los mejores platillos con la auténtica sazón mexicana, en un ambiente acogedor, que "se sientan cómo en México", gracias por haber sido parte de nuestros clientes, hasta la próxima visita.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2016

I have a small appetite and I had the Taquitos Dorado which came with guacamole and cheese. The guacamole was the best I've had in all of Cuenca so far. The salsa was excellent. The place is decorated charmingly and was very clean.
Muy bueno! Muy recomendable!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CindyinWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfrijolado, Propietario at La Enfrijolada, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2016
Google Translation

Estimado cliente, sus opiniones son siempre bienvenidas; siempre tratamos de brindarles nuestros platillos preparados con la auténtica sazón mexicana, con los mejores y más frescos ingredientes, muchas gracias, lo esperamos de vuelta muy pronto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Enfrijolada also viewed

Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 
 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 

Been to La Enfrijolada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing