We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't beat the value for money”

Restaurante El Che de Cuenca
Ranked #114 of 675 Restaurants in Cuenca
Cuisines: Ecuadorean
Restaurant details
Reviewed 14 October 2018

For 12$ we had a filling and tasty lunch, we had 1/4 grilled chicken with rice/salad etc and a plate of grilled pork with again rice salad etc. The meal arrived 3 mins after ordering as they have carbon grills on all day.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Granduelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2018

Last week was the second time we had visited this Argentinian steakhouse/restaurant... and, just as on the first occasion, we were delighted with the quality of the food - great steaks - the service... and the very reasonable pricing!!! We shall definitely be back!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank dgbma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

I've become a fan. No frills roadside eatery. Roast pig and chicken are a staple; occasionally there's lamb or cuy (guinea pig). Lunch from $2 (almuerzo del día) to $19 (whole chicken). I like the cancho (roast pork) best, it comes with crispy skin, and carved fresh from the roast. Get it as the Plato Personal, or the larger Plato Mixto, or feast on Cancho Solo by the pound. Enjoy!!!

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank globetrottingYankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

If you don't mind dining under a big picture with the ominous figures of Che, Chavez and Castro and you are craving nutritious revolutionary juices, then make this a stop. Located right outside Cuenca in the suburb of San Joaquin this roadhouse type place serves a variety of reasonably tasty fare. We had some delicious pork with a crunchy crust (yum) and Ecuadorian ceviche composed of shrimp and mussels. Light on the solids (so more like soup) but tasty.
For three of us plus 2 large beers and 2 pepsis it was $30.50.
Wouldn't make an effort to get back, but glad I tried it.

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank Francoise1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016

When everything is closed in Cuenca (Sunday), this is the place to go. Interesting atmosphere (Che pictures everywhere) and great food. Place your order at window, pay, then find a seat. The waitress brings you your food. The Sancocho (pork) is to die for, my husband is obsessed with the "Cuy" (guinea pig), and my son orders shrimp. Everyone is happy! Parking around back.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank livingincuenca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante El Che de Cuenca also viewed

 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 

Been to Restaurante El Che de Cuenca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing