We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner at Island Crab Seafood”

Island Crab Seafood
Ranked #345 of 1,839 Restaurants in Quito
Price range: USD 15 - USD 40
Cuisines: Seafood
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Arriving in Quito late afternoon on Valentine's Day without a dinner reservation was not a good plan. When we checked in at Hotel Dann Carleton we were immediately assisted in booking a reservation at Island Crab Seafood Restaurant.

When we arrived at the restaurant they were waiting for us and knew we were English speaking only. We were warmly greeted and immediately seated.

They very patiently helped guide us through the menu and once we had answered a few questions about likes and dislikes the chef prepared us a spectacular seafood dinner. The only thing missing was lobster that's not available right now. We added seafood soup and a salad to this.

We were treated very kindly and they checked often if everything was ok or we needed anything. The young girl at the desk called us a taxi and waited with us until it arrived.

It was a relaxing evening after a long day of travel. We really appreciated the service.

Restaurant is located at Eloy Alfaro y Granados N40369. The decor is great.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank Jackolyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2016

The service is excellent! We started off with great margarita's and then to die for creamy crab soup loaded with bits of crab. Since there were 3 of us our server suggested that we order 1 1/2 bowls to share. Perfect suggestion. For our main course we order the fresh galapagos lobster tail. It was presented and cooked to perfection on a bed of spinach rice. We were also served a complimentary tiramisu to share. I have to admit this one of the best meals I have had since living in Ecuador. If you love good food do not miss dining at Island Crab Seafood. Needless to say whenever we visit Quito we will be going back!

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia I, Gerente at Island Crab Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2016

We are grateful for your opinion. It was a pleasure to serve you. We are looking forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Our hotel made reservations for us on a Sunday night @ 7. When we arrived, we were the only people there. After inquiring from the owner's son Sebastian, they closed @ 6 and stayed open for us.

Fortunately Sebastian was born in the USA and speaks very good English since the waiter spoke only Spanish.

After ordering, there was a tremor and we had to evacuate the restaurant for a few minutes. A little scary when everything shook.i started with a very good ceviche of conch.

For mains, my wife ordered the shrimp in coconut milk. Beautiful presentation, served with rice and sliced plantains on top.

I ordered the tuna umami, red tuna wrapped in bacon served with grilled vegetables and tempura asparagus. Excellent.

Sebastian 's mother and sister drove us back to the hotel when we requested a taxi. She told us that the President of Ecuador eats there several times a month. She also told that they cater to locals mainly.

I definitely would recommend Island Crab if you are looking for an unusual excellent seafood restaurant.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank rschagrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Excellent food and awesome personal service by Sebastian, the owner's son. We love his passion for food and customer service. The number one dish is Island Crab Gourmet. Recommend to try!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Duendanaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The food is really, I mean really good, specially seafood, and the best crab you will find; service is great, prices are a bit high, but the place is nice also, and the food oh my the food!

Date of visit: August 2013
2  Thank VerCit3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Island Crab Seafood also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Island Crab Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing