We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Week in Quito”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room view from the living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Living room
view from the living room
Living and dining room
Kitchen
Bathroom
bathroom
Balcony by night
Little park by the condo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Quito, Pichincha Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
BJR78613
Leander, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Week in Quito”
Reviewed 15 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Greetings from Quito. Arriving early February we took to our apartment on the 11th floor of Cordero. Great tower view from apartment overlooking the southern part of Quito. The Basilica Vol de National in the background surrounded by Old Colonial Quito. Great place to set up shop for a weekend or for months.

Our hostess Cathy arranged for our driver at the newly built Airport. Quito is an international destination by air. La Mariscal is a neighborhood in Quito to soak in the culture. After reading many reviews and nights researching This French appointed apartment was a great fit. Our host lives next door. The location fit all our needs.....safe and secure. Restaurants steps away. Cathy and her attention to detail made sure we had English drivers and guides for all our adventures. She speaks English, Spanish and French. Hospitality is second nature to her. Steps away from the Cordero apartment building gives her the ability to host others from Antinea, her Hotel. You won’t be disappointed with it as well. Loved touring it.

As the week unfolded we loved our apartment location, style of living, and became comfortable with Quito and the people. I see us returning and using Cathy and her resourceful team to know Ecuador more.

Thank you Cathy for all you do! Quito is our friend. We will see you again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2018
Thank you so much Brian for your kind review. I will be delighted to have you again and help you in all your needs to better know our wonderful country. Let’s have a cup of wine next time !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planeteer...
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“A very nice play to stay!”
Reviewed 5 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Security should not be a concern. The apartment has security at the entrance with an attendant at the desk. The apartment is well secured by an external locked steel gate in addition to the apartment door lock. Elevator also has security features which will not allow a stranger to use the elevator. The whole area is very safe. I was out in the evening on many occasions till 8:30 PM and found no problems contrary to what I had read on the Internet. I cannot vouch for late night events as I did not stay out late. Police is present everywhere.

It is a one bedroom apartment with a beautiful panoramic view of Quito. One can observe a variety of changing scenes during the day depending on the weather conditions, and at night the view is equally spectacular.

Four volcanoes can be seen from the windows. From the bedroom window you can view Cayambe, and part of Pinchicha which can be better viewed from the streets below, if you want to see the peak itself before heading out for an expedition. From the drawing room window you can see Antisana and also Cotopaxi. Cotopaxi can be viewed from the right side of the balcony looking to the left. Someone has to show you Antisana volcano because it does not look like a familiar style of mountain formation.

You can also see the famous historical church, which dominates the view, and Panicillo among other sites from the drawing room. For a tourist perspective the apartment provides an interesting bird’s eye view of the city.

Locally Plaza Foch is very visible. It is a short walk.

Next to the building is a parkette, a place for city organized events and it has an information booth where you can get local tourist information along with city maps. City events included Ecuadorian dances, and market display of Ecuadorian products.

The area is surrounded by a large variety of restaurants serving all kinds of cuisines! You can choose between Ecuadorian, European, Chinese, Indian cuisine and familiar fast food restaurants.

Since the apartment has a well furnished kitchen there are two major grocery stores within walking distance, and an Ecuadorian farmer’s market. For fruits and Vegetables a visit to the farmers market and the closer one ( at least not so far) is Santa Clara Market at Versalles Street. A taxi fare might be less than $2. However, it is within walking distance. Coming back a taxi might be well worth while if you have a lot to carry. It all depends on what kind of gastronomical adventure you seek!

Artisans market place is within walking distance about a mile away along Reina Victoria Ave which incidentally goes through Plaza Foch. The market place has all kinds of jewelry, arts and crafts, and dresses designed and made in Ecuadorian styles. Please make sure if you buy an Alpaca blanket it in fact has some Alpaca wool in it! That is one caveat I like to point out. The good thing about this market is that you do not have to go to Otavello which is slightly larger but essentially the same. Otavello might be cheaper though but you have to bargain as the prices are not fixed.

For taxi service I found it a good idea to request Veronica for making arrangements for travel in the city. The taxi drivers most often provide better and responsible service as a result. Taxi services are quite economical to use in the city. Yellow taxi cabs are the ones to use for safety. Not to mention the public transit system. Ride is a quarter and if you are a senior it is only 12 cents!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: An apartment which was higher with a view of the city and air was fresh and clean! It was like home!
Liked least: Bedroom was slightly noisy in the morning due to traffic but you expect that.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2016
Hi Keshav
I thank you for your review full of important details about the neighbourhood. You went away just a few days before the Hábitat III famous event. It was just incredible. Never seen so much people in the city, Mariscal and historical center.
Thank you again hid your stay in my suite. You will be ever welcome!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nels2014
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“All the conveniences of home were in this well appointed suite.”
Reviewed 2 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

This apartment was perfect. The decor was warm and inviting with a European flair. The building is very secure with 24 hour security personnel for your safety and comfort. The building staff was also friendly and helpful with directions. They answered other questions I had about the neighborhood. There are a couple of lavanderías within a block and everything you could want or need is furnished. I was able to prepare meals in the well equipped kitchen. The bed and bedding were very comfortable which is not always the case in Ecuador. The water was hot, hot and plentiful. There was wifi, cable TV, CD player, electric fireplace and more. A bonus was how quiet it was. You would never know you were in the middle of the Mariscal. The location has numerous restaurants, grocery stores, bakeries, and assorted shops. I found three parks within walking distance and loved walking around the area. The host was gracious and I look forward to staying here again the next time I am in Quito.

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tx
Reviewed 31 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Colorado
Reviewed 20 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing