We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospital people, Central Location”
Review of El Arupo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Arupo
Ranked #39 of 247 Quito B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 September 2016

I had done a fair bit of research prior to booking into here but was not sure about the area. La Meriscal is LOUD; and the B&B can do nothing about it. The music seeps in but its not unbearable. The rooms, including the bathroom were clean, and included a TV, although all the channels were in spanish and ours was not clear but we did not bother asking to get it fixed since we didn't care to watch it. Although it worked perfectly fine in the main area. They also give you towels, and soap. The breakfast is a hearty breakfast, with toast, bananas, fresh fruit, fruit juice, eggs (scrambled or fried) and coffee/ tea. Totally worth it for the price. The place is extremely secure, with you having to be buzzed in and out. They work 24hrs so we did not have to worry about coming back late or checking in late. We even left some money and our passports with them and they taped everything up and left it in their safe. They are extremely helpful, although when we first got here the language barrier was significant. The next day there was a guy who spoke minimal english and was able to help a little more. I wouldn't recommend depending on them for help with organizing tours etc unless you are able to communicate in Spanish as the message was often lost in translation. They offered to pick up from the airport for $30 bucks, but also told me that it was cheaper from the airport for $25 - Although given the language barrier and our taxi driver having no clue where this was I wish I had just asked them to pick us up for the extra $5 bucks.

Room Tip: Room # 10 is right by the kitchen so you can hear the breakfast prep in the morning. Not recommended...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tadew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

Great and serviceminded hosts! Affordable and good location. Highly recommended! Also a safe place and good neighborhood. The breakfast tasted good. Thanks for the hospitality! Now we are heading to Cayambe and Chimborazzo for climbing after three days of aclimatizing in the mountains near Quito city.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank øystein espe c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed here twice during our trip at beginning and end. The rooms were clean w/ nice decor. We especially enjoyed having drinks in the garden area out back and even had chance to stay in garden room. The breakfast was great. The staff were extremely nice and their English was better than our Spanish. We accidentally left something behind our 1st stay and they remembered us 2nd time and returned it to us. We also booked taxi extremely early am to airport thru hotel and was very reliable.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank piper m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2016

Nice rooms = #13 is great as is 15. Nice common area, surprisingly quiet, nice flat screen /tvs with plenty of channels - average breakfast, nice staff very willing to accommodate - good location, clean.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thirst-Aid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2016

Great location, felt very safe, and it was incredibly good value for the price paid. Breakfast was also great, and the staff was super friendly! It was tough to fall asleep at times at night, because the neighborhood parties loudly until 4a, but that's going to be an issue at just about any hotel in the Mariscal area.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank aisp264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.2 km away
Casa Kanela
Casa Kanela
#40 of 247 in Quito
88 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#17 of 112 in Quito
782 reviews
16 km away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 km away
San Jose de Puembo - Quito Airport, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.5 km away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#3 of 112 in Quito
706 reviews
0.6 km away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Arupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Arupo

Address: Lizardo Garcia E 5-45 | Juan Leon Mera, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 247 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range: $37 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Arupo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant neighborhood La Mariscal in Quito, the capital of Ecuador, Arupo Bed and Breakfast offers the comfort and furnishings of hotels that can cost double or triple the price.One of the benefits of staying at Arupo Bed and Breakfast is the easy access to lots of tourist activities and information. Its just a few minutes walk to travel agencies, banks, museums, restaurants, cyber cafes, bars and discotheques, both dance and Spanish classes, artisan/indigenous markets, bus stations, parks, post office, hospital, pharmacy and much more.Arupo Bed and Breakfast offers 14 comfortable rooms with private bathrooms with hot water.We also has a large dining room and kitchen where guests can prepare meals and store food and drinks in the available refrigerators. Guests can also enjoy the comfortable living room with fireplace, satellite TV and DVD player where guests can watch movies free of charge.In front of the main entrance Hostel El Arupo has a beautiful garden with a wooden table and ornamental plants which attract a variety of birds, especially hummingbirds and robins. You can also relax or read a book, or enjoy a drink on the garden terrace located on the second floor. The whole property is a smoke-free environment, but smoking is permitted in the garden or terrace.The hostel provides laundry, luggage room, fax machine, copy service as well as free Wi-Fi internet access and free private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your El Arupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing