We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST - stay & dine here!”
Review of Hacienda Rumiloma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hacienda Rumiloma
Ranked #43 of 113 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2011

My husband and I just spent our honeymoon in Ecuador and could not be more happy with our hotel choice for Quito. Hacienda Rumiloma is like no place I have ever been before. From the world-class service to the gorgeous accommodations (every nook and cranny contains authentic antiques and art from Ecuador) to the INCREDIBLE food, you will not be disappointed. Plus, the owners are incredibly giving people, supporting various causes in and around their community. You'll feel good knowing that your patronage is helping to support their charitable works! The whole experience felt like a dream. My husband and I are already planning how we can make it back for our anniversary!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeaconView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 123 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2011

We are from the coast of North Carolina and absolutely suggest Rumiloma to anyone who wants luxury in Ecuador!!! Wonderful suites, beautifully decorated and fabulous food!!! Views are INCREDIBLE!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kastewart34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We were passing through Quito on the way to the Galapagos Islands and decided to stay for an extra day. One of our traveling companions had just been to Quito to climb and his guide introduced him to the restaurant at Hacienda Rumiloma.
We called them and they sent two taxis to take us from downtown Quito to their mountaintop retreat for dinner. Bottom line, it was fabulous! Phenomenal service, incredible decor and the food rivaled anything we had ever experienced. All fresh and all local sourced.
Be prepared, the ride up the mountain to it is an experience. You may wonder were you are going, but once there, you will be amazed.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lingjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

I had been reading my quarterly newsletter from an adventure travel company I like (Geographic Expeditions, www.geoex.com) and they happened to briefly mention a hotel they had found in Quito, Ecuador: Hacienda Rumiloma. In looking at the Hacienda Rumiloma website, it looked like a fun place to visit for a couple of days.

Making contact for reservations over multiple emails turned out to be very straightforward, as did setting up several tours. As this was the first time for a vacation in Ecuador, the tours turned out to be a great way to see many different part of the area (Papallacta, Otavalo) with a great tour guide (ask the concierge about William Arevalo).

The room was a delight: the porch afforded a view down the side of Pinchicha volcano to Quito and out beyond. The same view can be had from the restaurant in the main building. Sitting on the porch in the morning with some of their GREAT hot chocolate is a nice way to start the day.

The room was done up very well, the furnishings very comfortable and the nightly hot water bottles were a treat. In the spirit of great service, the wood-burning stove would always be going by the time we got back from the tours, and the hot water bottles were already under the covers by the time we got back from dinner.

The llamas and horse on the property were great photographic subjects - until you got within 1m of hte llama - beware!

The staff was always extremely helpful, regardless of the question or request. I have always found that when one thinks back on 'great places', it's as much about the staff interaction as it is the surroundings. On that note, it's worthwhile to particularly note the concierge Ximena Pallo. She is the one that effortlessly managed the reservations and provided great advice on which tours to take, and most importantly, when to take the tours (weather can be very variable, so you don't want to be somewhere when the fog rolls in). She was always smiling and went out of her way to make our stay enjoyable. I know how bad my Spanish is, but her English is better than she believes.

I have already recommended the hotel to some personal friends and look forward to the day when a return visit might be in order.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbigbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Sadly, we did not stay here. Rather we only had dinner. Our loss.

The place is beautiful with fabulous views, amazing food, caring service and a not to be missed feel!

Great food and a great wine list. Simply put this place is "Special Occasion Central". Do yourself a favor and go. Whatever the reason , they will make sure it's special. Amber, the owner, is charming and the quintessential host.

One suggestion. Have the restaurant call you a taxi to pick you up. They work with a great company that knows where this place is so you won't spend an hour searching for it. Trust me on this one. You'll see what I mean when you get there.

Has to be Quito's best.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kkhinnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
23.1 km away
El Crater Hotel
El Crater Hotel
#41 of 113 in Quito
209 reviews
20.4 km away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
4.9 km away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#6 of 113 in Quito
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 km away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#3 of 113 in Quito
714 reviews
4.5 km away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
4.9 km away
Hotel Plaza Grande
Hotel Plaza Grande
#31 of 113 in Quito
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Rumiloma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Rumiloma

Address: Obispo Diaz de la Madrid, Quito 3130, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Quito
#16 Luxury Hotel in Quito
Price Range: $227 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hacienda Rumiloma 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumiloma is one the largest private properties in the capital of Quito and has earned an international reputation as one of South America's finest properties, with nearly 100 acres of primary and secondary high Andean cloud forest. Rumiloma overlooks Quito and the sights extend toward the Amazon jungle. The hacienda offers the best of both worlds! Enjoy a life of rustic luxury in an Andean Hacienda and at the same time, feel free to pop down into the historical center, financial district or tourist areas of Quito that are only 10 short minutes away. Rumiloma features 7 generous guest suites with 9 bedrooms and 11 bathrooms in total. The hacienda can accommodate groups of up to 18 people, making it the perfect spot for a destination wedding, family reunion, executive retreat, or just a few days of relaxing in the Andes after adventuring in the Galapagos. The main house has several cozy sitting rooms that are perfect for relaxing after a long day of touring ithe city, hiking in the surrounding hills, or just enjoying an after-dinner drink, while gazing out over the lights of the city to the Amazon jungle beyond. The bottom floor has been converted into an intimate Irish Ecuadorian pub, complete with a walk-in fireplace. The grounds offer beautiful gardens, terraced patios- all with spectacular views of the surrounding countryside. The Hacienda comes fully staffed with a breakfast cook, a professional kitchen, groundskeeper and housekeeper. Specialty chefs with a variety of gastronomical specialties can be arranged as well as chauffeur, tour and Butler services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au and Agoda so you can book your Hacienda Rumiloma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Rumiloma Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing