We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
71
55
33
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
55
33
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews separate toilet boutique hotel great location on arrival comfortable bed chilli bread street
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 173 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2016

We stayed 2 nights before our cruise departed and rooms were a little hard to come by in Valparaiso.
On departure i had the opportunity to have a conversation with one of the owners/managers, so i am not saying anything here i did not tell him.
The reviews on here are pretty much spot on. The hotel is clean, tidy, modern decor, with the rooms being a little on the small side. The location is good, being a couple of streets back from the ocean/metro line and maybe a 5 min walk to the start of the main shopping area(such as it is). However the big downside is the noise from the street. We were on level 2 and the Saturday night was horrible, with car horns and people making a racket the whole night. That is not the hotels fault and none of that is linked to the hotel, but it is a fact that the road outside is busy and the local drunks are not doing this business any favours with their shouting at all hours.Sunday was better, but i had added ear plugs anyway so slept better.
There is no A/C in the rooms, which was ok when we were there in mid Feb, but i would hate to need to leave the windows open for the cooling, as the noise would be ridiculous.
The breakfast is slightly light weight, just don't be needing it to fill you up and you'll be fine.
The offer of their courtesy bus to the cruise terminal was a nice touch - thankyou very much.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Colinmc400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2016

Terranostra is a lively, clean and well located hotel. The building is old, but the interior feels new, and everything is clean. Braulio, one of the staff members, was very welcoming and always a good presence at the breakfast. Breakfast is simple but made to order: omeletes, fruits, juices, coffee, etc. I highly recommend this simple but comfortable hotel.

Room Tip: Room 402 had great view, the room I stayed, 406 was quiet and overlooked a garden.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RafaelLessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2016 via mobile

The location is great, I couldn't have been happier. The rooms are big and very modern. Not much English on tv but that's the norm for Spanish SA.
The street below is quite noisy, so get a back room. It would be quieter as they do have double glazed widows but the frames are not sealed properly??

Service is good especially at the bar. Breakfast is basic but good.

Complimentary water would be nice, not sure why it's never offered.

Would stay again

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank justindp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2016

The hotel is located ins an excellent location : at the foot of Cerro Conception, with the steps just next to the hotel and the funicular 50 meters away. It is also within walking distance to the various attractions : Plaza Anibal Pinto and Plaza Sotomayor, where the Free Tour Valparaiso and Tour 4 Tips meet respectively.

The hotel is a decent size and there is personal attention by the reception, which is on the mezzanine floor that overlooks the entrance. It serves as a quiet waiting area.

For quietness, we requested for a room at the back, which looks into the next building. But if one is there only to sleep, the view wouldn't be the most important thing to look for. Even then, we were woken up early in the morning by noises of people talking. The windows are not double-glazed for sound proofing.

The room is clean and the amenities are basic : no hairdryer or shaving kit.. So, bring your own if you need them.

There is life music the night we were there and drinks are offered at reduced prices during happy hours.

Room Tip: Ask for room at back of hotel if you are sensitive to noise.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceyeoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2016

The emplacement of this hotel it's the Best …. but for 120€ is really expensive hotel, no ice, the bar is closing very very sun , when you ask to the boy something ( i speak the boy of the bar) he looks to you like Alien .The receptionist are very nice persons but i think the real Owner are really tightfisted …. no orange juice in the morning Only Melon juice ( horribile ) the Ham an Chesse are coming very very slowly THE WORST BREAKFAST IN MY LIFE …. THE COFFE Horrible …..

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virgil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrasnotra, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Terranostra, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2016

Dear Virgil,

Thanks for your comment regarding our Hotel, we will try to do out best to improve every point mentioned on your remark, but we will like to inform that you paid a rate of 88€ per night.

Referring to the breakfast, we always serve season fruits and natural juices, that is the reason we had not orange on the morning, even we always try to offer similar and healthy choices, such as the melon juice, which is fresh and rich in vitamin C, usually much appreciated on the morning.

Regarding the coffee and due to you had a long stay in Hotel Terranostra, we had change the type of coffees in order to provide you alternative options as soon as you informed the staff on the front desk that you was disappointed on that. We regret that you was not satisfied with the alternatives offered to you, we will try to change some of the products, as well as being faster serving the breakfast.

Sincerely
Guillem Grau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews