We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
USD 87
View deal
Free cancellation until 24/04/21
Hotels.com
USD 87
View deal
Free cancellation until 24/04/21
Agoda.com
USD 85
View deal
Booking.comUSD 87
eDreamsUSD 87
PricelineUSD 87
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (612)
Filter reviews
612 results
Traveller rating
346
192
50
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
346
192
50
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no elevator three nights chilli wonderful hotel old building views city
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 612 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2020

I absolutely loved this hotel. It was better than expected! The staff was great. The location was great. The design and decor was so amazing. It made you feel like you were really part of the city. And, maybe best of all, the hotel is attached to an outstanding restaurant. We ended up eating there almost every night. Three nights there and each one outstanding.

Room tip: Ask for a view. Ours was great!
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JulieShipman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso Dimalow Alegre, Director General at Hotel Fauna, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2020

Hi JulieShipman,

Thank you for your kind comment. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We will be waiting for the next time you are in Valparaiso.

Best regards,

Mikaela Muñoz B.
Marketing & Sales.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2020

The ceiling heights are 10-12 feet, and gives a very spacious feel to an already generous room. Many little lobby areas on the various floors, that you can sit and read or visit in. The reception is always manned by English speaking hosts who are very helpful and friendly. The bathrooms are large, but with essentially no counter space. Everything is very clean. Breakfast upstairs in the restaurant is the best we've had in 9 days in Chile (fresh sourdough bread!) and fresh squeezed OJ. Delicious fresh coffee.

Major downside is location and noise until the early morning hours. It is in a very safe and interesting neighborhood.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stork90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso Dimalow Alegre, Director General at Hotel Fauna, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2020

Hi stork90,

Thank you for your kind words.
We will take into consideration your comments in order to improve in the areas that you mentioned.

Best regards,

Mikaela Muñoz B.
Marketing & Sales.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2020 via mobile

My lady and I are conflicted. Tremendous hotel with lots of character. We loved the view from the hotel rooftop restaurant for breakfast, and the options were great. But Friday night we literally felt the bass of the outdoor music next door until past 4am. Is this the hotel’s fault? Probably not, but it has to be mentioned, and is part of the downside of their central location

Date of stay: January 2020
Thank 813kennyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso Dimalow Alegre, Director General at Hotel Fauna, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2020

Hello 813kennyd,

Thank you for your comment.
We are sorry you had problems with the noise from outside. We are working to solve the issue as soon as possible.

Best regards,

Mikaela Muñoz B.
Marketing & Sales.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2019

Tiny room, not much better than a good hostel double room. Good sheets and mattress, but you can't have lumpy pillows at a hotel.
We tried to have hot water in the shower for over an hour...
The breakfast was quite good.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank barbarachondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso Dimalow Alegre, Director General at Hotel Fauna, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2020

Hello barbarachondo,

Thank you for your comment.
We are going to take your words into consideration, in order to improve in the areas that you mentioned.

Best regards,

Mikaela Muñoz B.
Marketing & Sales.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2019

This hotel is tucked away down a traffic free passage. Clean and comfortable hotel with views over the city and sea. Staff friendly and helpful especially as we were there at the time of the trouble in Chile and over two days of public holidays. Not suitable for anyone who can’t manage stairs or hills.

Room tip: Not easily accessible.
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivien W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso Dimalow Alegre, Director General at Hotel Fauna, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2020

Hi Safari653259,

Thank you for your kind words.
We will be waiting for the next time you are in Valparaiso.

Best regards,

Mikaela Muñoz B.
Marketing & Sales.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews