We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Mercure Standards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Santiago Centro
Ranked #68 of 202 Hotels in Santiago
Reviewed 5 October 2017

I booked this Hotel first because I am member of the Mercure Rewards Programme and secondly because it was close the my work appointments, but I must say it was the worst experience EVER in a Mercure branded Hotel!

First of all I booked my whole stay with prepaid conditions in a upper class (renovated room) which was more expensive than the standard rooms. When I arrived I was told the upper rooms were sold out and I had to accommodated in a standard (non-renovated) room, which was a nightmare! The standard room was dark and really really old, completely useless, old beds, disgusting carpet, furniture completed depleted. And I was not even offered an discount or any other compensation for paying an more expensive room and being obliged to stay in a lower quality and cheaper room for the first night.

In the second night, after complaining, I was put in a renovated room. Indeed, one can experience 2 hotels in one in this Mercure, cause the old rooms are really bad! While the new ones give a so needed freshness.

Also, the breakfast is so so, not up to Chilean standards applied in other higher quality Hotels.

The staff is not supportive at all. Particularly the two guys that handle the night shift: not polite and no sense of organization! I had to wait 40 minutes to check out because they could not properly organize a check in of a group that has arrived. On top of that, they were very short on patience and were very rude.

The positive point of the Hotel is the GYM.

I won´t be staying there again and I don´t recommend it for any other person.

Room Tip: As for a superior renovated rooms, preferably looking the back for silence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DinhoAlves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure S, Manager at Mercure Santiago Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear DinhoAlves,

Thank you for sharing your opinion through TripAdvisor.

We sincerely apologize for the delay in answering it. There was an internal glitch that prevented us to do it. Now that is solved technically, we want to get our treatment regarding their opinions. We will be working in the sense of making our hotel getting better, through opinions of our guests.

Thank you very much for helping us with constructive criticism. We hope to see you again so you can see the progress of our services and products.

Best Regards,
Carla.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,088)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 1,088 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2017

I was staying in Santiago as a single, 60+ female and I wanted somewhere central and safe. The Mercure fit the bill perfectly, as it's only about 50 metres from the Metro and right in the middle of town. The staff were good, and there was usually someone on the desk who spoke English. The room had not been renovated in some time, but it was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good if somewhat repetitious, although the hot meal changed daily (I was there for six days). The library is across the road, and worth a look, and the hill with the castle (Cerro San Lucia) is also just across the road and visible from the dining room.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure S, Manager at Mercure Santiago Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear Janine R.

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Santiago Centro. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Carla.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Spent 3 nights here to start our South America holiday and picked a very nice hotel. Centrally located as the name suggests. Friendly helpful staff, very good restaurant for breakfast and dinner. View of Cerro San Lucia and The Andes from our balcony was a bonus !

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARIO597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure S, Manager at Mercure Santiago Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear Mr. MARIO597,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Santiago Centro. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Carla.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Mercure hotel for 5 nights. The upper floors are very nice and newly renovated. The staff is accommodating, but not overly friendly/welcoming. Location was wonderful- in the middle of centro and right next to subway and bus stops. Free breakfast every morning with your stay includes coffee/tea/juices, eggs, fruit, cold cuts, baked goods, and yogurts. This is a very clean, modern hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Megan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure S, Manager at Mercure Santiago Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear Megan O,

Thank you for share your review of our hotel! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

It will a pleasure receive you again, fell welcome!
We hope to see you again very soon.

Have a nice day!
Best regards,

Carla.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

We stayed at the Mercure Santiago in August and we were so pleased with the location. There is a lovely hill across the road which has a short walk to the top, overlooking the city and beautiful Andes mountains. The hotel is also very close to the Plaza de Armas which is a nice touristy spot. And the nightlife in Bellavista is easily within walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Mikeyde1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure S, Gerente at Mercure Santiago Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear Mikeyde1989,

Thank you for your comments and for choosing our hotel. We are very glad that you enjoyed our location and we hope to have the pleasure of having you back in the hotel.

Best regards,

Kimberly - Asist. Calidad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Centro Histórico
Hotel Plaza San Francisco
Hotel Plaza San Francisco
#21 of 202 in Santiago
1,672 reviews
Vitacura
Novotel Santiago Vitacura
Novotel Santiago Vitacura
#53 of 202 in Santiago
960 reviews
Hotel Galerias
#72 of 202 in Santiago
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Santiago
#43 of 202 in Santiago
1,248 reviews
Atton Vitacura
#28 of 202 in Santiago
1,902 reviews
Providencia
NH Ciudad de Santiago
NH Ciudad de Santiago
#57 of 202 in Santiago
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Santiago Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Santiago Centro

Address: Avenida Libertador Bernardo o'Higgins 632, Santiago 8330066, Chile (Formerly Caesar Business Santiago Centro)
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Santiago
#32 Family Hotel in Santiago
#46 Romantic Hotel in Santiago
Price Range: $140 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Santiago Centro 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Santiago Centro hotel is close to Santiago's main attractions, such as Plaza de Armas, the Metropolitan Cathedral, the Palacio de La Moneda, the Mercado Central, the Museo Chileno de Arte Precolombino and the Municipal Theater. The hotel is only 33 yards from Santa Lucía metro station and 11.2 miles from Santiago International Airport. The hotel boasts comprehensive facilities for both leisure and business trips, with 142 rooms, a pool, bar, restaurant, fitness center and meeting/events rooms. Enjoy the modernity, quality and technology of a hotel that has everything you need. Enjoy the feeling of being in total control, with a dedicated team on hand at all times to help you carry out your work effectively. Hotel extras Outdoor swimming pool and fitness center available for our guests. In the center of Santiago close to Santa Lucia Hill, the metro and public transport. Convention center within the property. Complimentary breakfast from 6:30am to 10am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Odigeo, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Santiago Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caesar Business Santiago Centro Hotel Santiago
Caesar Business Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing