We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst of the Worst”
Review of Espana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Espana Hotel
Ranked #195 of 202 Hotels in Santiago
Reviewed 2 March 2012

He have visited over 27 Countries in Europe, South America and Central America and
never even dreamed of staying in a place like this Espana Hotel in Santyiago, Chile.

Here are a few samples:

The Elevator (actually a little tiny metalic cage) was out of order every day for at least
5 to 6 horas, there were no towels or soap in the Bath room, we have to request
these items in a daily basis and sometimes waited up to 4 horas for somebody to
bring one towel for my wife and I (just one towel), the bar soap was about 1 inch
by 1 inch in size, also going up in the elevator one of the only 2 people allow to ride
was supossed to hold the door to make sure the elevavor did not stop between floors.
The breaklfast buffette included with our reservation was a big container with
hot water and some tea bags, when I asked for Coffe I was informed that en
Chile they do not drink coffe, next day we found some kind of powder with
chocolate and ground coffe flavor to be mixed with the hot water. There was a
Soccer team staying in the same floor (4) and they were talking, playing, singing
every night until at least 3 in the morning, we called the front desk several
times and they did not do absolutly nothing.

I also blame Expedia for advertising this Hotel as a 3 *** when actually is no more
than l/2 *

In general our trip to Chile was the most frustrating experience we ever had.

Room Tip: As far as I know there are not good rooms in this Hotel, all we have in ours was an old metalic cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank palmira1932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 21 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

Was a bit apprehensive reading the many negative reviews. But turned out to be much better than the rating given. Had a nice room. Nice shower. Cable tv. Wi-fi. But the breakfast area was a bit messy. U must be early to grab the better stuffs. The public toilet is also not well-maintained. But overall had a good stay there.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluesotong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Hotel Espana is well located 2 blocks from Plaza de Armas, the main square of Santiago. The reviews are pretty bad on Trip Advisor but I was going on a group tour and the tour left from this hotel, so I stayed the night before. The hotel had no acknowledgement of my reservation but luckily found me a room. The safe was not working in the room and other things were also wrong. It took a while to put these right. Staff at reception speak very little English. Breakfast is not served until 7.30 so you may miss out if you go on an early tour.

On the positive side, they have nearly completed major refurbishment so the decor is much improved to how it was described by other travellers.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravellerDWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

Allowing for the fact that this was only a few weeks after the earthquake - the room was tired, smelly and made you want to go home (this was the first night of our holiday/in the country) - it was thoroughly depressing. Our room was on the fourth floor and supposed, therefore, to be one of the better ones - wouldn't like to think what the rooms lower down were like. Having said all of that, the staff were very helpful and the location is very good, but didn't change our overall opinion.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank intrepidtraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2010

The website looks promising, the lobby is quite nice, but as soon as you walk up the stairs (the lift was broken) things continue to go downhill. The door to the room has a 30cm x 30cm opening, accessible by anyone that allows people to see straight in. It also blocks the door from opening fully making it difficult just to get into the room.

Once inside the dark little rooms have poor lighting except in the bathroom, the TV doesn't have a remove control, there is only one power socket, and the floor is sticky.

The bed is actually very comfortable, not too soft and not too hard, but on waking up in the morning the too small sheets had come off exposing all the long dark hairs all over the mattress. These hairs were alos present in the bathroom, where the shower over the bath was missing a tap and the button that switches the flow of water between the bath and the shower. The toilet lid and seat were broken and the towels ripped and in one case missing a 5cm square hole in the middle.

The internet supposedly available in every room is only accessible outside the lift shaft on the 4th floor and is painfully slow.

FInally the breakfast buffet consisted of a pile of cheap white sliced loaf and nothing else - no butter, no plates, no spreads.

There really is very little to recommend for US$65 a night apart from the excellent location just one block from the Plaza des Armes, but only if you're staying one night and getting food elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Hotel Dacarlo
#125 of 202 in Santiago
96 reviews
Monteverde
#193 of 202 in Santiago
61 reviews
San Francisco
Hotel Quito
Hotel Quito
#184 of 202 in Santiago
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Paris Londres
#147 of 202 in Santiago
208 reviews
Hotel Santa Lucia
#175 of 202 in Santiago
136 reviews
Hotel Baleares
#180 of 202 in Santiago
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Espana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Espana Hotel

Address: Morande 510 | Esquina Catedral, Santiago 8340296, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 202 Hotels in Santiago
Price Range: $72 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Espana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Espana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Espana Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing