We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Museo de Arte Colonial de San Francisco
Save
Review Highlights
Peaceful and plenty of history

There is a small fee to enter the museum but it is worth the price. The inner courtyard is very... read more

Reviewed 3 November 2017
Ron P
,
Greenfield, United Kingdom
Excellent View into Colonial Art

This is museum is attached to the Church of San Francisco in downtown Santiago. The museum is... read more

Reviewed 27 March 2017
The_Traveling_Expat
,
Chicago, Illinois
Read all 212 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Santiago
from USD 11.00
More Info
from USD 33.00
More Info
from USD 109.00
More Info
from USD 127.99
More Info
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveller rating
78
93
37
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
93
37
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sala cloisters depicting church life
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 212 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2015

In the beautiful cloister next to San Francisco Church is magnificent collection of colonial era art. The paintings are mainly from the Cuzco school - the main gallery has a series of 30+ large paintings of the life of St. Francis. One particularly stunning painting features a crucified Christ aloft on beautifully detailed wings. There are also sculptures, metalwork, woodwork and other items. The garden of the cloister is lovely as well, complete with peacocks! There are downloadable apps and audioguides that will guide you through the exhibits.

Also this is one of the few museums in Santiago that is open on Monday.

Thank Brooklynite718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2015

After paying our $2 admission, we entered the courtyard to be tangled in sheets of plastic covering all of the flooring of the courtyard walk ways. There was scaffolding all over the place, so we had to walk around it. We could not find any rooms open: there were signs stating do not enter.

We finally found the chapel upstairs, which was exquisitely overdecorated. I then went back down to the cashier to complain that there was nothing open, but the chapel. She escorted us to the entrance to the museum, which earlier had been blocked by workers on a scaffold.

Once inside, the artwork is excellent. One review I had read elsewhere stated there were painting of indigenous gods, which I would have found fascinating, but we never did find them.

Photos are only allowed in the courtyard. There are a couple of vibrant parrots there.

1  Thank Ryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2014

It is a former monastery. It's now full of religious artefacts. But it was worth the 1000 pesos to look around. I especially liked the doors, the building, the peace and quiet and the 400 square metres or so of old paintings. The courtyard is very overgrown, but also peaceful. You have to lock your bag away at the office. And as others have said, it was open on a Monday.

1  Thank euromnlostatsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2014

The Museum still is a Franciscan Convent, so keep the silence and the ambiance of the Holiness place. But the heavy atmosphere is not friendly to the modern people, they prefer lights and noise. The places keep a artistic treasure with colonial paints preserved for the Franciscan Order. Also have the Gabriela Mistral, Nobel Prize, document, include the Nobel Prize Medals, and domestic papers. The enter price is very cheap, and the museum justify the visit

3  Thank berry1961_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2014

Based on the other reviews I was going to skip this place, but it was Monday and this was the only museum that was open. Yes, the lighting is poor in many rooms and some of the displays could benefit from better spaces. However, the gran sala with 54 large 17th cent. paintings from Cuzco based on the life of St. Francis is really interesting. The clothing, food, instruments, etc. in the paintings all give a clue for what life was like 350 years ago. Also, there are a few gruesome and melodramatic paintings by Melchor Perez Olguin that are fun in a post-modern context. The courtyard is just lovely to relax in. The admission fee is only 1.000 so you're not out much $$ if you don't like the place.

2  Thank polkaparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews