We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Basque food”
Review of El Txoko

El Txoko
Ranked #180 of 5,426 Restaurants in Santiago
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Santa Lucia
Reviewed 6 April 2018

The warm welcome and quaint decor evoked some of the pintxo bars that we so loved in northern Spain. The clientele was a mix of visitors and locals and the food was very good indeed. Our sangria was refreshing, the grilled octopus was divine, and the paella was generous and tasty, albeit the shrimp and mussels were a mite dry. Service was efficient and delightfully friendly, and prices were reasonable. A great choice indeed.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank QCern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2018

I stayed opposite building of the restaurant during my stay in Santiago, went twice for lunch and dinner. The staff are friendly the wine by glass are generous and delicious. The first i have "Txoko" way were fantastic.. so does Octopus another night.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sensualmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018

Charming, warm, lively and friendly restaurant. Tapas bar at the front and serious restaurant upstairs and downstairs. Push your way through the throng at the front to the desk at the back and you are then directed up or downstairs.
The waiters are knowledgable and happy to offer any advice on food or beverages and are always on hand to top up your drink or assist without being in the way.
The food is good, with large ( too large) serves - had difficulty finishing.
Prices are what you'd expect for this level of service and quality.

Would happily return.

Unfortunately there is a website problem that will not allow me click on the service, food or value ratings - these are all excellent.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank RJS_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018

My wife and I were walking around in search of food near Central region, and we fortunately stumbled upon El Txoko. We were so pleased! We sat at the bar, although there are numerous tables for private dining throughout this quaint restaurant. Sitting at the bar we were entertained by the two bartenders who worked very well together. They have tapas at the bar that were ready made and excellent. We had some seafood, some beef and a vegetarian tapa, all of which were so tasty. Excellent wine, beer and alcohol choices from all over the world, with an emphasis on Spain and local flare. Services was great and prices very reasonable for this friendly, well run restaurant.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Heavenwillwait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

This is an excellent small restaurant with great Spanish food and wines. Service is as expected and quick. We were one of only two couples that looked liked tourist and it had an authentic local feel. Try the black ink squad. The best!

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Motupipi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Txoko also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to El Txoko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing