We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santiago Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #30 of 536 Speciality Lodging in Santiago
Reviewed 26 April 2016 via mobile

Santiago backpackers is a great hostel.
I initially booked 4 nights but ended up staying for 10 nights. I then went to Easter Island for a week and returned for a further 5 nights.
Was able to leave the bulk of my backpack and belongings in the hostel whilst I was on Easter Island. Returned to find them the same way I left them.
Jurgita was amazing. She made the breakfast every morning. Great pancakes. She also cooked the free meal every Tuesday. She would also mix well with guests and would have drinks with us at night. We even went out a few times through the day together.
The rooms aren't numbered instead they are named after places in chile. I was in Pucon. Nice 6 bed form but right at reception so could get a big noisy and it didn't have an outside window which made sleeping till 11 every day too easy.
Great location. Only a 5 minute walk from plaza des armas. There is a laundrette around the corner snd several supermarkets near by.
Over all I had a great time at Santiago backpackers and this is the only place I would stay if I went bank to Santiago.
The staff are all great and very helpful.
Great place, don't hesitate just book it.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
Thank l300dub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

Booked a private double bedroom for four nights. We were expecting one of those nice and bright rooms you see in the pictures.
How wrong we were.
We were given room "Chiloè", a 1.5x3m hole with a dusty bunk bed and a microscopic window. No heater. You get in from a courtyard where people gather up at night, so noisy as hell.
The rest of the hostel is fine, not particularly clean but with a nice kitchen and decent facilities. However, we would not go back given the risk of sleeping again in room "Chiloè". See picture.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank PietroP91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arifurman, Owner at Santiago Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2016

Hi Pietro, thanks for your comments. We have a new basic private room, labeled as twin and not double, that we opened this year for people who were looking for a budget private option. It is stated in each of our booking sites that this room doesn't have the standard of the other rooms, that it has a bunk bed and that is not spacious.
However, we offered you another private room, at a different cost, which you rejected.

We would like to emphasize to our future guests that this room should be considered if you are looking for an economic and private option. If you plan to spend more time in the room, or have a light sleep, you should consider our other 3 private options: twin, double and double ensuite rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2016 via mobile

+Excellent hostel in Santiago!
+Very friendly staff!
+Nice and spacious building, relax athmosphere. Lots of charm in this old building. Common areas comfortable. Easy to meet other people.
+Big kitchen with everything needed.
+Dorms are spacious.
+Showers worked very well. Hot water.
+Clean toilets and showers.
+Wi-Fi very fast.
+One of the best breakfasts you will get in any hostel!
+Convenient location. Metro stations lesa than 5 min away. Bellavista within walkable distance.
+Quiet at night


Kitchen could just be a bit more orgnized, very messy sometimes.

I would definetely stay here again.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank sbch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016

Four incredibly disorganised Irish lads showed up after midnight with no booking and nowere else to go. staff managed to organise us all in the same room and were extremely helpful, they couldn{t have done enough. one of the lads was sick and they kept checking in on him. Philipe and Andres were the two staff names i remember, absolute legends. very peaceful place, no bar but i needed the break anyway.

Room Tip: dont get the one near reception, loud in the mornings!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lynagh14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2016

charming hostel with chill atmosphere. Vintage house. Bed in room are comfortable and wide. the volunteers are cool and very helpful about everything. No doubt best hostel around to stay in santiago :)

Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
Thank Emmanuel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
La Chimba Hostel
#31 of 536 in Santiago
455 reviews
Princesa Insolente Hostel
#14 of 536 in Santiago
570 reviews
Santa Lucia
La Casona Hostel
La Casona Hostel
#7 of 536 in Santiago
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casa Mosaico Hostel
#23 of 536 in Santiago
305 reviews
Chile Lindo Hostel
#29 of 536 in Santiago
258 reviews
Santa Lucia
Hostal Forestal
Hostal Forestal
#4 of 536 in Santiago
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santiago Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santiago Backpackers Hostel

Address: Enrique Mac Iver 661, Santiago, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 536 Speciality Lodging in Santiago
Price Range: $16 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Santiago Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Santiago's greatest hostel! Perfect location in downtown, 100-year-old restored unit, amazing facilities, extra large beds and more!We offer Furnished apartments, private rooms and cheap dorms to suit every traveler's need. Join our social activities and discover all Santiago has to offer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Santiago Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing