We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveller rating
164
72
39
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
164
72
39
17
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 301 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

Booked a private double bedroom for four nights. We were expecting one of those nice and bright rooms you see in the pictures.
How wrong we were.
We were given room "Chiloè", a 1.5x3m hole with a dusty bunk bed and a microscopic window. No heater. You get in from a courtyard where people gather up at night, so noisy as hell.
The rest of the hostel is fine, not particularly clean but with a nice kitchen and decent facilities. However, we would not go back given the risk of sleeping again in room "Chiloè". See picture.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank PietroP91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arifurman, Owner at Santiago Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2016

Hi Pietro, thanks for your comments. We have a new basic private room, labeled as twin and not double, that we opened this year for people who were looking for a budget private option. It is stated in each of our booking sites that this room doesn't have the standard of the other rooms, that it has a bunk bed and that is not spacious.
However, we offered you another private room, at a different cost, which you rejected.

We would like to emphasize to our future guests that this room should be considered if you are looking for an economic and private option. If you plan to spend more time in the room, or have a light sleep, you should consider our other 3 private options: twin, double and double ensuite rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2016 via mobile

+Excellent hostel in Santiago!
+Very friendly staff!
+Nice and spacious building, relax athmosphere. Lots of charm in this old building. Common areas comfortable. Easy to meet other people.
+Big kitchen with everything needed.
+Dorms are spacious.
+Showers worked very well. Hot water.
+Clean toilets and showers.
+Wi-Fi very fast.
+One of the best breakfasts you will get in any hostel!
+Convenient location. Metro stations lesa than 5 min away. Bellavista within walkable distance.
+Quiet at night

Kitchen could just be a bit more orgnized, very messy sometimes.

I would definetely stay here again.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank sbch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016

Four incredibly disorganised Irish lads showed up after midnight with no booking and nowere else to go. staff managed to organise us all in the same room and were extremely helpful, they couldn{t have done enough. one of the lads was sick and they kept checking in on him. Philipe and Andres were the two staff names i remember, absolute legends. very peaceful place, no bar but i needed the break anyway.

Room Tip: dont get the one near reception, loud in the mornings!!
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lynagh14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2016

charming hostel with chill atmosphere. Vintage house. Bed in room are comfortable and wide. the volunteers are cool and very helpful about everything. No doubt best hostel around to stay in santiago :)

Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
Thank Emmanuel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2016

The reception staff was very lovely though some of them didnt speak English very well. Good location and really nice building! There were not enough showers on the first floor, so sometimes we should use showers on the second floor. But it was not a big problem at all because the hostel has real home atmosphere.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
Thank martymcfly12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews