We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Museo de la Memoria y los Derechos Humanos
Open today: 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Save
  
Ways to Experience Museo de la Memoria y los Derechos Humanos
from USD 60.00
More Info
from USD 128.00
More Info
Reviews (6,111)
Filter reviews
6,111 results
Traveller rating
4,449
1,165
274
93
130
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
4,449
1,165
274
93
130
Show reviews that mention
All reviews human rights audio guide pinochet regime chilean history museum is free dark period recent history important museum non spanish speakers chilli better understanding modern history excellent museum coup torture video exhibits
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
453 - 458 of 6,111 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2016

This museum is located directly across from a subway station, so it's very easy to get to. If you don't speak Spanish, I would highly recommend for you to stop at the reception desk and ask to rent the headphones which will give you a guided tour of the museum in English. It is well worth the money because the exhibits are text-heavy without translations.

Date of experience: March 2016
1  Thank trailblazer119
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

I am never one to insist on English just because I can speak it. The museum looks great and seems informative, but if you do not know Spanish then you will not get a great deal from it. If you do consider it, read up on the Pinochet history (Wikipedia should be fine) and then go, it could add value. The visuals have been inspired to read up on the history, so all is not lost.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank burgertm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

The museum is about the history of santiago of 30-40 years ago. Santiago was struggling in that time.

Like I mentioned it is a well designed museum and they paid a lot of attention to it. It is very modern and there are three floors. Basically the first floor is the one you want to spend the most time.

There are videos you can watch on the screens with headphones. Loads of pictures and videos you can see. Also you can find so much information.

I like there is so much interactive things there. But if you don't like to know what happened years ago. Don't go.

I say: this is worth to visit it.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank justice1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 August 2016

This is one of the best museums that we've ever been to. We spent much longer in the museum than expected as it was powerful. There are many well put together videos and excellent exhibits. Viewing the wall with the individual pictures of those killed is a very powerful experience. It was great to have the headphone sets (we used English, but there are other languages available. It's well worth the time to spend at least a few hours and it's very close to the metro station.

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank rayk401
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 August 2016

If yo uwant to understand Chile start here to understand the culture, people, and what people went through

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank cblittlefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews