We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
5
9
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
9
5
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The man who runs the hostel is a very nice man, he and his assistant took care of all our laundry which was fantastic. The rooms are okay, it did the job as a place to sleep at the end of the day. Breakfast was basic but enjoyable, but the worst part about this place is the bathroom - it was pretty disgusting. If this had a bit of work done on it, the hostel would be a good, basic cheap hostel, but the bathroom currently lets it down.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Augustuscalv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

The Green House was a very nice place to stay in Santiago. It is a little far from some of the night life and things to see in the city, but it is quiet and convenient to the metro and bus lines. The family that owns it and lives there is incredibly nice and helped us out when my husband got sick.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank M3gsFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

The 2nd cheapest private room I could find online(in english!). The location is fantastic. Whilst not in the prettiest area(an area in which we felt completely safe) it is very close to santa lucia metro station and a short walk across Ohiggins rd to the pedestrain streets leading to plaza de armas about a km away. For such a central location in a big city the room is also very quiet, meaning good nights sleep for the week that we stayed. Breakfast of bread and jam, yoghurt, juice and tea/coffee is not the best weve had in 3 months of travel but is by no means the worst either. Latinos just dont do breakfast! The shower is tempramental(solar heated) and the place could be cleaner but again, weve stayed in dirtier places for more money. This is a great budget room in a small guesthouse for those who need to escape hostel life for a while....

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bestbet_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We were not quite happy with the time we spent in Santa Lucia Green house.
Although, being not with higher expectations, than for a basic place to spend the night, we were really disapointed - it was not clean at all.
Except that, we had a bad expirience in Santiago de Chile, being robbed during the day in the famous park.
As a result, we didn't receive a proper attitude or assistance from the hosts.
We wouldn't recommend that place.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Petya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

This review comes in 2 parts so take both into consideration:

The accomodation: This is of a reasonable standard not posh and flash but also not a dump. I would say for visit to the city it was of a reasonable standard. Breakfast was fine and the location reasonable.

The staff:
Day 1, the hostal ran a free city tour that was suposed to last for 1.5 hours. After 4 hours of being shown all the best sights and history of the city we get back to the hostel. What a great start.. After asking where was good to eat we were then guided back into the centre and taken to it.
Day 2, we had asked about going to the local markets, as a result the guide at no cost again (although we tipped him well) took us on the metro to the markets, showed us round, took us to a fish resteraunt for lunch in the fish market (we paid for his) and then back via a local bar and a museum.
Day 3, no guide but on their advice and from the city tour we knew where to go we visited the local historical sights. As this was September 1st (month of national celebration) lots of official buildings were open to the public. We went into and had tours around the Congress building, the Presdential palace, the Majors office and Stock Exchange. I bet you can't do all those at home??
While in the Congress building we meet and had our picture taken with the 'Speaker of the House' for the government and given a parlimentary pen....
Great city..

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hallcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews