We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
5
9
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
9
5
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We stayed here in total for around a week, our hosts (Rodrigo and his parents) looked after our stuff when we went away to Easter Island for a week so very trustworthy. The guest house is relatively basic but homely and can be a good place to meet people. It's an IDEAL place to stay to explore the wider city as it is by a metro stop and walking distance to many shops and sights.

Standard breakfast and super fast wifi is included although best if you have your own laptop. The hosts have their own floor below are a hands off but open and friendly if you need them.

Directions:
It can be quite hard to find so here are some directions if arriving from the airport:
From the airport take the bus to a stop in Santiago called 'Los Heroes' (pronounced los erowez). This is by a metro stop by the same name, from here buy tickets to 'Santa Lucia'. Surface from the south exit and go straight then take the first left onto 'Marcoleta' street. Keep going until you see 537, a green door opposite a tattooist, can be easy to miss first time around.

If you are arriving at the city by bus you will most likely arrive at a stop called Universidad de Santiago stop, this is also a metro stop so you can hop on and get to Santa Lucia from here as above.

Hope this helps and enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kingbails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Schleswig, Germany
23184
Reviewed 8 March 2011

This is a kind of hostel.Very centrally located and near to the metro station.From the Santiago int.airport the best idea is taking a sharing van/minibus service to the hotels
is just outside of the arrivals, will be the budget and secure transfer availability.Private rooms with shared bathrooms are clean.Approx six rooms and sizes vary but not big.
Try to get back side,front side is looking an sometimes noisy street.In the room there was a bunk bed,a TV & table & chair&hangers&head lamp for an hostel, really not bad place to sleep. Continental breakfast is standart,in addition, they are supplying an kitchen, you can prepare all your meals.Though the management does not speak and understand English well.The young guy some times seeing like rude but trying to prepare as they can.This will be a good base for a couple of days,(business trips etc.)
If you are looking for a budget clean place for sleeping and who do not need luxury or expectations too much.They are supplying free internet/pc for their guests.For business trips yes,I will be back there.Basic,budget and their location is the best.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2011

We stayed here on our return trip to Santiago. We had been thoroughly not impressed with the place we had stayed the first time. We had also looked at some others and everything in the budget category seemed to be falling a part. We found this one via HostelBookers. It was in a good location and we decided it was worth a try.

The hotel was small, but we were quite pleased. The location was great - so close to the Santa Lucia metro station that it was a breeze to get to. We had done the touristy things the first time we were in Santiago, but we could have easily reached them from here. There were also lots of reasonably priced restaurants close at hand and some great budget shopping.

Our room was small and basic. There was a double bed with nightstands and a TV mounted on the wall. Not a lot of room for our bags, but it was manageable. We did have a window, but no view. It was a shared bathroom. It was clean, but sometimes there was a wait as only one bathroom on our floor. But then there was only three rooms so not like a ton of people using it.

There was a small kitchen that we made use of and found functional. There was also a breakfast room upstais. Breakfast was included, but was basically just instant coffee and toast.

The family lives on the ground floor of this house and it all seemed very homey. It was not the massive backpackers accomodation with lounge rooms, bars, and travel information. This was just basic rooms with Spanish speaking owners. So if you are looking for the backpacker vibe, it is not here. But we were not looking for that. We were looking for a clean, convenient, comfortable accomodation in which to spend our last two nights in South America - and Santa Lucia Green House was perfect for that.

We slept quite well here as the walls were much thicker than at the hostel we originally stayed at in Santiago. Plus there was no street noise. And most importantly, our room was clean.

I would stay here again when in Santiago. It is good value, as it was cheaper than even dorm beds in most of the flimsy made hostels. Plus you could simply not beat its location.

Our double non-ensuite room cost 14,000 chilean (US$ 26). We were pleased with that and would recommend for the mature budget traveller that is NOT looking for a party place.

We booked through Hostel Bookers and be sure to look at the photos before trying to find this place. We found the street easy enough, but they don't have an obvious sign and although it is called "green house" it is not a bright green or anything. Luckily we recognized it from the photo so take a good look at that.

Santa Lucia Green House
Marcoleta 537
Santiago Centro
Metro Station Santa Lucia
Santiago de Chile
Chile

Phone +56 (2) 633-7638
Email greenhouse.chile@gmail.com

Double non-ensuite 14,000 Chilean (US$ 26)

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShyBare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2009

We visited Santiago on a few occassions during our travels in SA. The Green House was by far the cheapest accomodation. The staff were very friendly, location was perfect close to metro and the facilities were clean and comfortable.

You won't find better value for money in Santiago.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerVan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2009

The Green House is a nice terraced house in a central suburb of Santiago and guess what? It’s painted green!

It is run by a very welcoming family who were more than willing to help. The room we had was small but comfortable and the shared bathroom was right next door. The bathroom was only shared by about three rooms so was never engaged. There was a communal kitchen and lounge area with free internet access and various books left by other travellers.

The location was excellent as it was a 2 minute walk to the subway, local shops and restaurants.

I would recommend this hotel to fellow backpackers looking for a nice quiet place to spend a few days away from the hustle and bustle of a busy city.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gemmasnook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews