We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed, easy hostel in decent location”
Review of Ecohostel Chile

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ecohostel Chile
Ranked #96 of 525 Speciality Lodging in Santiago
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Ecohostel is in a quieter neighborhood, an easy (maybe 10-15 minute) walk to lots of Santiago and close to the subway for the rest. Great value, breakfast was pretty good, the kitchen is VERY well stocked, and it attracts a fun, low key, respectful hostel crowd. Staff was very friendly and overall it was great in terms of cleanliness, helpfulness, and comfort for the price.

Room Tip: The privates upstairs are great, the front room even has a balcony. The dorm downstairs is a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackieNYC13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 32 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2012

We moved here from another hostel in Santiago which is rated higher but this place was much better in terms of facilities, vibe, comfort and value for money.
The staff were really friendly and helpful, our room was comfortable and warm, the kitchen and bathroom facilities were good and well equipped.
We enjoyed the breakfast and the hostels attempts to recycle and be generally eco conscious were well thought out and appreciated.
We took a hiking/snowshoeing tour with Enzo (the hostels in house guide) which was as excellent as the hostel itself.
We cannot recommend staying in the lovely place enough.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Having spent a year in South America and stayed in around 70 hostels, this one was in my top 5. The beds are large and comfortable; the facilities are extremely clean; there are two lounges, one with music and ambience, the other quiet; the kitchen and internet are both very good. The music shuts off at 11pm on the dot so it's an excellent place to get a good night's sleep. The stream of backpackers coming through tend to be friendly and sociable, at the same time it's not a "party" hostel; there is a good mix of ages and nationalities and a mellow vibe to the place overall. The hostel is reasonably well located; it's about a 7 minute walk to the nearest subway station and a pleasant 15 minute walk past parks and through pedestrian thoroughfares to the Plaza de Armas. There are two supermarkets within a 5 minute walk. However, the best feature of this hostel is the staff; they are friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. For instance, one time I wanted to go skiing, so they wrote out for me a comprehensive page of local ski information; transport, hire, times, places, costs, web references, etc. This was a typical experience; another time I wanted to buy a picture book, so they told how to get to the best picture book shop in Santiago, plus advised me on other shops and sites to visit in the area. Another night the staff put on a Chilean BBQ (asado) and this was fantastic too, really sociable and a terrific experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tim6140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed just one night in the Eco Hostel in early July when the weather was very cold. We were part of a group of 12 and we arrived late due to problems with the weather and the bus journey. There was only one toilet on the first floor for us: a couple more on the lower floor but only accessible via a small outside staircase. The showers on the first floor were ok for one person at a time only. There was one small heater on the landing but it was not switched on. Our room was extremely cold and noisy from the traffic. On the plus side the breakfast was good and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dd338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Finally a hostel who keeps her promises fully equipped kitchen, working wifi, clean and spacy rooms, warm water and flushing toilets. The Ecohostel is central located so you can reach most interesting sites of downtown by foot or bus. The staff is very helpfull, friendly and giving you a feeling of being welcome. The patio is a perfect place to have dinner or meet people from all over the world. If you want to relax, read or watch tv there are other spaces in side the hostel. The eco part is a bit basic recycling carbage but at least a good start. We had a really nice and good time t the Ecohostel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAKPlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Santiago Backpackers Hostel
#35 of 525 in Santiago
287 reviews
Princesa Insolente Hostel
#14 of 525 in Santiago
562 reviews
Chile Lindo Hostel
#30 of 525 in Santiago
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Traveller's Place Hostel
#214 of 525 in Santiago
140 reviews
Providencia
Aji Hostel
Aji Hostel
#45 of 525 in Santiago
238 reviews
Don Santiago Hostel
#9 of 525 in Santiago
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ecohostel Chile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecohostel Chile

Address: General Jofre 349 B, Santiago 8330148, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 525 Speciality Lodging in Santiago
Price Range: $16 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Ecohostel Chile 1.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Ecohostel Chile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing