We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“avoid this hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Puerta Del Sur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Puerta Del Sur
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Valdivia
Certificate of Excellence
Willemstad, Curacao
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“avoid this hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed for two nights, but will never return to this hotel. Nothing worked as it should.
To open or close the sliding doors of your cupboard, you have to be Superman. With the safebox you had to struggle 10 minutes to close it. No climate control in the room. The wireless internet drops out every so often.No sign for an emergency exit. No lights switched on at the stairs nor the hall to our rooms when we arrived. It looks that after the opening in 1996, no maintenance has been done.

Room Tip: Avoid this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank argonfroes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    73
    16
    6
    11
See reviews for
60
66
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zuid Holland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

Beautiful surroundings, hotel looks grand from the outside. Once inside you'll notice it old fashioned looks. It is in desperate need of remodeling and refurbishing. No non smoking rooms. Restaurant and bar are not open when they are supposed to. Internet didn't work. Staff very friendly. Definitely not a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jul01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

We stayed @ Hotel Puerta Del Sur just at the beginning of the summer rush. Hotel is at least 3 stars and its easy to see she was once more grand, but could use basic upgrades in grounds keeping, new carpet & paint to return to prior level. Staff was very helpful, good buffet breakfast included in our price of $99/day; Grounds were beautiful, free Wi-Fi in room worked well. We would stay again, and use the free Bicycles & kayaks we didn't have time for this trip. in room safe box & hair dryer were a plus.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ranapoona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2010

This is my third visit to Valdivia and the second to this hotel which is located near downtown but at the same time surrounded by nature, which is the truly essence of Valdivia. For my surprise the rooms were redecorated some months ago, like new. Something that we really enjoyed is that when it was raining we could use the outside heated swimming pool. My children used the canoes and the bicycles in the sunny days. The service is very good and the people was very kind.. They didn't have any activities during the night, so we had dinner at the hotel and then we went to downtown. I recommend this hotel as the best of the city.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreas303506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires and Pacific Palisades
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2009

We were told it was a 5 star hotel. So when we arrived it looked good from the outside. The reception is nice but a little run down and its not 5 star caliber. Once in our room we discovered various problems. 1st. we could not make an international call. Instrucions on the phone said we could direct dial , and when tried we conected to the telephone operator ( which is the same as the receptionist and concierge) who informed us to come downstairs to the office and try from there. We never could get a line. The safe in the room was not operative and again had to go downstairs to the reception to get a lock and key. Water pressure very low. No heating in the room, the hotel decides when to turn it on!. Instrucion book for the TV and other room amenities like the phone does not exist. I can go on but I want to advice travelers that this is definetly not a 5 star hotel.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — untrained and few staff for a 5 star
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank avelino23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valdivia hotels
1.9 km away
Hotel Dreams Valdivia
Hotel Dreams Valdivia
#1 of 13 in Valdivia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel Villa del Rio
Hotel Villa del Rio
#3 of 13 in Valdivia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Naguilan
Hotel Naguilan
#4 of 13 in Valdivia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Diego de Almagro Valdivia Hotel
1.3 km away
Hotel Di Torlaschi
Hotel Di Torlaschi
#5 of 13 in Valdivia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Boutique  Borderio
Hotel Boutique Borderio
#7 of 13 in Valdivia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puerta Del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puerta Del Sur

Property: Hotel Puerta Del Sur
Address: Av. Los Lingues 950, Valdivia, Chile
Region: Chile > Los Rios Region > Valdivia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Valdivia
Price range (per night): $150 - $273
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Puerta Del Sur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Wotif.com so you can book your Hotel Puerta Del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing