We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the best serviced apts in Singapore”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great World Serviced Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2008

Stayed for a week in Sept 08 because I lost the argument with my wife who likes the place. Had a 3 br apt which is actually 2 reasonable size bedrooms and one that is little more than a closet.

The apartments don't get much light and are decorated in "1980's Institutional" style - which means they have no style. The kitchen is too small and poorly equipped to do much beyond microwave cooking.

The staff don't follow up on anything without being prompted 2 or 3 times. One day we woke to no functional internet and washer/dryer not working and it took about 6 hours to get response.

The rooms do have their own washer and dryer, but they are tiny and the washer takes about 4 hours per cycle, and the clothes don't smell clean when finished. The dryer takes a long time as well, because the clothes come out of the washer very wet.

The 3x/week servicing is annoying. All of the other serviced apartments in Singapore are doing 6 day/week servicing and we much prefer that. Knowing that this was an issue, I requested a touch up and towel change on the "off" days - in a conversation with the manager - and it never happened despite his agreement to do so.

The gym has been upgraded recently and includes 2 lifefitness ellipticals (one broken), 4 treadmills, and 3 bikes as well as a complete set of good quality life fitness weight machines and some dumbells. Gym is open 24 hours with room key access as well... definitely one of the best points of the whole place.

Pool area is great, especially for kids.

Being atop the mall is also nice as there are a number of good dining options right there.

Over the last several years, we've stayed at Fraser Suites, Treetops, Shangri- La Serviced Apts, and this place rates as the worst of the lot. For the same $$$ you can stay at the Shangri La Apts and have a much nicer experience.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank j889814672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 189 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2008

The Good - The pool area is good; There is a very large pool and a small one for kids. There is also a little playground next to the kiddies pool Unfortunately the pool restaurant is not good at all. We waited close to 45 minutes to get a really bad meal.
The apartments are situated above a good shopping mall. There is a Cold Storage supermarket in the basement which is handy and lots of various restaurants. There is a great variety of shops to choose from including Zara, sports shops, My Gym, Starbucks, a baby store and many more other nice stores etc. There is also a great reflexology place that provides wonderful foot and other types of massage! Nice.
There is also a notable play room on the 3rd floor for young and older kids. The young kids room has a great playing set up and kept my kids happy for quite a while. The outdoor play area next to the playroom is also pretty nice. There are video games, a pool table and tv in the older kids room. The bathroom for kids next to the playroom is disgusting though - it is carpeted and smells strongly of urine.

The bad - The apartment we were in was a 3 bedroom apt. It was furnished straight out of the eighties and is rather cave like. It is clean enough but very tired. We have seen a lizard which doesn't bother me but also some ants in the kitchen and, to completely freak me out; a few cockroaches.
They do seem to fumigate on a weekly basis but it obviously isn't solving the problem entirely.
The kitchen is pretty well stocked with plates, glasses and other necessities and there is a microwave. No dishwasher but this didn't really bother me. There is also a washer and dryer but I have to say that we tried about 4 different wash cycles as they all seem to take about 2 hours and really start to show on your clothes. I noticed that my family's clothes were starting to look worn in a very short time. In short, the washer is not good for the life of your clothes!
The maid service comes 3 times a week and are very nice about coming back later if you are still in the apt. They do a good job on the whole.

On the whole, I really didn't enjoy living at Great World. It is a very tired place - the furnishings are dated and the decor is eighties and again, very tired. It has a definite cave feeling to it; not bright and inviting. I was very happy to move out when our time came and would not go back if I had other options. For other families, having the proximity of shops may be paramount but for me, a clean, bright, welcoming apartment - free of wildlife- is my priority and Great World was a disappointment.

Stayed: July 2008
4  Thank Sheo333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2008

Stayed for three months, by the end we felt as if we were freed from a prison. Housekeeping comes three times a week, while cleaning they do an inspection. If anything, including minor issues, seems out of place they notify management, who then comes to do their own inspection. This usually results in some inflamed charge to the resident. Staying in 5+ star hotels and corporate apartments world wide, this is unacceptable behaviour. Felt as if we were employees, not guests. At S10,000 a month you figure they could consume the cost of a cracked glass and would know how to get a spot off of the duvet. The insect fogging is quite a bother . On occasion they would do it without notifying us, filling our home with toxic gases, causing headaches/illness in us all. It is convenient to stay here because of the access to Great World mall and the discounts offered at various merchants. This convenience did not make up for the terrible treatment by the apartment staff. We will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank its_getting_dark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2008

We stayed at GWSA in June 07 for 9 days. I have two young children (at the time 4 and 1.5 yrs old) and I also brought my parents and my sister along. So there were five adults and two small children in our party. We stayed in a three bedroom apartment.

Overall, all of us really enjoyed our stay there. The unit was clean, and the amenities were complete. We had washing machine, dryer, microwave oven, stove, TV, dvd player, very big desk, etc. The only thing that I missed was a dishwasher, especially because we cooked frequently and I was the one who did most of the dish washing.

It was also very comfortably located above a shopping center. To get to the supermarket, we only needed to go down using the elevator, cross an underground parking lot, and there it was. Very efficient, especially if you need to do grocery shopping frequently.

There were also many restaurants in the shopping center, and shops too. And if you want to shop even more, there are free shuttles to Orchard road leaving every hour (and every half hour during peak times).

It's unfortunate that they require a minimum stay of one week. If they accept shorter stay, we would stay there during our other short Singapore visits.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank rindradjaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2007

The apartment is situated on top of the Great World Shopping Centre which is ideal for families with supermarket, restaurants (which all do takeaways), bread shops and of course about 300 shops similar to the middle range brands of orchard road. We travelled to Singapore for 1 week holiday with 2 children which would normally be a bit of a nightmare but the accommodation of a 2 bedroom grand deluxe apt at GWSAs, it was much more bearable. There is a kiddies pool, near olympic size adult pool and several playgrounds catering for all ages with a mixture of indoor and outdoor.

The location is fantastic made so by the free regular shuttle bus to orchard rd, chinatown, business district and Suntec center. there is plenty of Taxis which is to say the least still quite cheap.

The apt was serviced daily and has the convenience of a fully functional kitchen including microwave, washer and dryer which is heaven sent for traveling with children, fully air conditioned with individual room temperature controls, large master bedroom with king size bed and ensuite. 2nd bedroom is smaller with a double bed, in our case also a cot. There is 2 TV both with cable and DVD player with surround system. Furnishing is of a high standard in modern luxury. There is a balcony which is small however there is a functional gas BBQ, outside sink and outdoor seating for 2. We didn't use the balcony because of our children as we were on the 34th floor which makes all parents nervous, but the views were great. The only small negative is that although they have a reasonably priced broadband internet ($40SG for 1 week with no down load limits), there is no wireless facility in the apartment.

We had a great time and would definately stay there again on our next visit. Note that a minimum of 1 week booking is required.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank hadtobeyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.5 km away
Fraser Suites Singapore
Fraser Suites Singapore
#18 of 317 in Singapore
412 reviews
1.9 km away
Orchard Scotts Residences by Far East Hospitality
1.5 km away
8 on Claymore Serviced Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Village Residence Clarke Quay by Far East Hospitality
3.2 km away
The Forest by Wangz
The Forest by Wangz
#1 of 237 in Singapore
477 reviews
1.6 km away
Treetops Executive Residences Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Singapore

Been to Great World Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great World Serviced Apartments

Address: 2 Kim Seng Walk Great World Serviced Apartments, Singapore 239404, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 237 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: $284 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Great World Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The largest serviced apartments in Singapore, Great World Serviced Apartments boasts 34 floors of luxury living, offering fully-furnished 1-bedroom apartments to 4-bedroom penthouses. Just a stone’s throw away from the hustle bustle of Orchard Road and minutes from Singapore’s financial and cultural districts, our ideal location is further enhanced by complimentary shuttle services and an adjoining shopping centre. Sweat it out in our gymnasium or simply chill by our near Olympic-size swimming pool, our full range of facilities have a little bit of something for almost everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Wotif.com, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Great World Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great World Serviced Apartments Hotel Singapore
Great World Serviced Apartments Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing