We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Adventure into the kampong

It was a great experience for us & my 2 little kids as we walked through the kampong grounds and... read more

Reviewed yesterday
AnnetteCWL
via mobile
A reminder of Singapore’s origins

We were told about this on our last day in Singapore. We took the LRT from Sengkang to Tongkang and... read more

Reviewed 21 December 2017
Chrisrickenbacker
,
Bracknell, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 24 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Singapore
from USD 34.90
More Info
from USD 72.00
More Info
from USD 53.40
More Info
from USD 68.30
More Info
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
4
11
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
11
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews serangoon hdb homes development fence perspective greenery life mrt
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 21 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

It was a great experience for us & my 2 little kids as we walked through the kampong grounds and teaching them to appreciate what they have as a home. Watching the kampong kids play simple games and soaking in nature as you see it was a good exposure for them. Very serene and relaxed environment. Worth a visit.

Thank AnnetteCWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

As Singapore is changing almost every day I was curious to see a bit of the past. I was a bit disappointed in visiting Kanpong Buangkok. Only few houses are left, so it doesn’t give a complete impression how it used to be.

1  Thank martinhelmantel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

In the modern landscape of Singapore, where residential buildings are replicated in masses, this kampong is one of the few places left where the houses reflect the residents' personalities. With ample of space and no strict restrictions, they decorate their homes and fences to their liking with plants, bricks and an assortment of stuff. it is a sight like no others in SIngapore.

2  Thank morsels-of-delice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

It is an interesting place to visit especially when you can see the high rise estate surrounding the kampung. Spent 20-30 minutes the most as it is quite a small place.

Tips:

1. Mosquito Repellent applied before entering the zone. You might get a nasty surprise if you don't do that.

2. UV Umbrella(s) are a should have, it gets really hot as there is minimal cover available.

1  Thank Handiplast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

Kampong Lorong Buangkok. Located off Sengkang East Avenue, 7 Lorong Buangkok, Singapore. it’s not an easy place to find, The Kampong is not a promoted tourist attraction but if you’ve ever wanted to go back in time to Singapore’s former provincial life, Kampong Lorong Buangkok is the best place to do that., it’s the last village left on Singapore’s main island, with 26 dwellings left, Including a mosque and the Chinese temple almost side by side. Here, chickens, and other stray animals run freely. Redevelopment is in the works, but as you can imagine, people are up in arms in calling for conservation efforts. .I would recommend a visit if you have spare time, it gives the place a better perspective of the living in our forgotten past.

5  Thank MVI888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

This is an interesting place to visit if you are interested in how some people lived in Singapore in the past. This place is easy to get to as several bus routes stop next to the site from where it is a 3 minute walk over the canal. There is not a lot to see, but ordinary people live here and so you need to respect their property and privacy.

2  Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018

My mother-in-law grew up in a small kampong near what is now a very modern, bustling part of the city, and when we found out that Kampong Buangkok was the last remaining post-war traditional kampong we knew we had to visit. She told us that as rustic and simple as this kampong is, it is still a far cry from how undeveloped her childhood was. It's a shame that the country is poised to demolish this, too, hence losing their remaining link to the past. A must-visit if you care about the history of Singapore.

Thank Erin_in_PDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017 via mobile

We were told about this on our last day in Singapore. We took the LRT from Sengkang to Tongkang and walked. The Kampong is not a tourist attraction, people are going about their daily lives. One of the residents showed us the way through the village, she seemed quite happy to help. There are a number of older style houses arranged along a central path, the style of houses varies in design and material. The contrast between the Kampong and the surrounding HDB development was striking, as was the mosque and the offering to Buddha almost side by side. It was well worth the trip, and I would suggest reading up on the history of its continued survival before visiting as it gives the place a better perspective.

Thank Chrisrickenbacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

Totally rustic and the only kampong of Singapore. A rare chance for the next generation to view this post war kampong before demolished. Situated at Lor Buangkok.

Thank Noel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

It is not easy to find Kampong Lorong Buangkok. Indeed for a visitor it is actually quite interesting to take the bus just to see a bit of out of town Singapore.

We took a taxi there then for the return found a bus stop and asked for directions to Serangoon MRT on purple line. Bus 70 got us right to station.

The kampung is not very big, and not particularly welcoming (signs up asking not to be filmed etc) and you can understand why. We only saw one person in the 20 minutes or so there. You can get some great photos of the greenery and houses with a backdrop of sky rise but don't bother unless you have plenty of time. Our taxi driver laughed when we said where we are going and offered to wait while we visited because it will take us only 5 minutes.

We actually spent about 20 minutes here, and it is an interesting place to visit while it is still here. Wouldn't bother unless you are dead keen on seeing a few original buildings or, for the visitor, maybe interested in the ride, or can fit in with something else - going to zoo perhaps, which is also towards north of island.

1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews