We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Deserted Island

I hadn't planned to come here, just stopped on the way back from St John's island. This is a small... read more

Reviewed 24 September 2018
Tarawera99
,
Hamilton
via mobile
Serene and pristine

I was in Police Coast Guard between 1980 and 1987 and every year during October pilgrimage period... read more

Reviewed 10 March 2018
soh_kien_peng
,
Singapore, Singapore
Read all 91 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Singapore
from USD 35.00
More Info
from USD 40.20
More Info
from USD 73.70
More Info
from USD 51.40
More Info
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
18
32
17
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
32
17
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews marina south pier john's island ferry ride southern islands tua pek kong temple coast guard hill top abdul rahman ferry leaves picnic spot climb steps tortoise sanctuary seek blessings city life hawker centre shrine pilgrimage
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The visit to Kusu Island during Kusu Pilgrimage (9 Oct 2018 - 7 Nov 2018) is an annual event I look forward to and it’s a great time to visit to enjoy the island atmosphere.

I went on a trip to Kusu Island in a cloudy wet Sunday morning. Arrived by car at the Marina South Pier (MSP) early morning to catch the 615 am boat (note: departure time may varies). The parking at MSP was not allowed and vehicles were directed to park at the Marina Bay Cruise Centre car park. Be ready for a 10min brisk walk from Marina Bay Cruise Centre to MSP to catch the ferry to Kusu Island. Bought and paid $18 for the adult ferry ticket (at the specially setup booth during Kusu Pilgrimage period) at the MSP entrance. It was fortunate that there was no one in both the ticket counter and ferry queue area at this early hour, as the crowd typically builds up fairly quickly around 7-8am. The ferry ride was fast & I arrived in less than 30 minutes.

The visit to Tua Pek Kong Temple and “the Kusu Kramats” (shrines of three Malay saints) is a must. Devotees pay homage & offer prayers at the temple first. They then head towards the Hawker Centre and climbed the 152 steps (located just after the hawker Centre) to the hill top to reach the shrines.

You can buy the incense prayer at $3 per set at the temple and the shrine. Devotees offer donations and seek blessings for good luck and good fortune. There are many devotees who made the Kusu Pilgrimage annually from Malaysia in tour groups.

If you are hungry or thirsty, there are several food stalls (serving drinks, desserts, char kway teow, fish ball soup noodles, vegetarian bee hoon). Prices are reasonable and comparable to air-conditioned hawker centre on main land Singapore. Char kway teow costs $4.50 for a big plate and $3.50 for small plate. Paid $1.70 for a hot cup of tea (teh si) and there are fresh coconut for sale too.

After a hearty meal, I headed back to Marina South Pier and managed to catch the 815am ferry. I was informed that the next ferry will only leave one hour later. Be prepared to pay costly car parking at Marina Bay Cruise Centre, it cost me $8 just for less than 3 hours of parking. (You can check out the complete parking rates at their website)

Looking forward to make another trip next year.

Thank LimC726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

I hadn't planned to come here, just stopped on the way back from St John's island.
This is a small little island with two temples, a couple of beaches and turtles. That's really about it.
I had a wander around, hung out with the turtles, had a swim and lie down then caught next ferry back to Singapore.
Nice to escape maddening crowds of Singapore for a few hours

Thank Tarawera99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

I visited here in late August 2018. The were currently fixing up the location due to the finding of asbestos. As such, around 80% of the island cannot be accessed. A small Chinese temple, toilet block and a few turtles are all you can see on your current 2 hour stop. Wait until late October 2018 or after until the island is fully fixed. Then it should be a pleasant spot to visit. The closely located St Johns island has also suffered the same fate but has a longer wait. There is more to see on that island though. You have been warned...

5  Thank Mathew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

A visit to Kusu Island on a weekend away from the city chores can be very refreshing. Nestled between nature it refreshes the mind.
This is also a holy place.

1  Thank FunFunny999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

If you want to get away from the city life and relax, this is the place for you.
Please bring water and food if you want to stay for a while! Got shelter as well!

Thank Nothernstar85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

We visited on June 10, 2018. The island is closed for maintenance work. No notice was put up about it. Ferry operators denied knowing that the island was closed for maintenance , which we found hard to believe. We can only visit the Chinese temple which is very beautiful. We are allowed to take photos. No modest dressing was required. Food ( limited items)and toilets available in the temple. But this was a saviour, because we had to wait for 2 hours for the next ferry. Free water is available. The beach surrounding the island is very beautiful. Swimming is not allowed. We saw small tortoises too. We had to take Singapore island cruise ferry right outside the Marina South pier MRT station to reach the island. SGD 18 for a round trip from Marina South pier, St. John island and Kusu island.

2  Thank JanhaviB11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

This is the second stop on the Southern Islands ferry, you can go ashore here after visiting Lazarus and St John's Islands, or stay on the ferry boat and return to the mainland.
It would be a pity, however, to miss Kusu because it's quite different from Lazarus.
First up you visit Da Bo Gong Temple with its beautiful statuary, cheerful bright red paintwork and resident / pet owl. There's also a turtle sanctuary here, with a whimsical turtle shaped secure play area for the reptiles. Check out the story of the helpful turtle who rescued two sailors and turned into Kusu Island. Then it's an easy walk up a small hill to Keramat Sayed Abdul Rahman. If you have plastic bags with you, conceal them for this bit of your visit. There are lots of macaques living at the Keramat and they think plastic bag = food. Anyway, that's just for a precaution. They didn't get aggressive with me. There's a nice view from the keramat.
Then you can go for a picnic or a swim until the ferry boat returns.
Even on the weekend these three islands aren't crowded, so I'd recommend you go on Saturday or Sunday when there's an expanded schedule, giving you more choices of when to go, transfer, and return to the mainland.
Remember to bring along: water bottles, food / snacks, sun block cream, bathers, hat. There are toilets near the temple.

1  Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018

I was in Police Coast Guard between 1980 and 1987 and every year during October pilgrimage period, I will be deployed together with other officers for crowd control duty on the island. After I left Police Coast Guard, I did not make any further trip to the island until last Thursday when our Welfare organized an island hopping cruise to visit this island again.

As I walked down the lane leading to the Chinese Temple, a nostalgic memory flashed across my mind. 30 years ago, I was that smart looking, energetic and youthful officer standing on guard at this spot of the island directing the human traffic flow.

Today, I am just alone in plain attire walking down this memory lane looking at the same old Tua Pek Kong temple across the little pond. As I looked down at the reflection in the pond, I saw a man with a wrinkled face and bunch of white hair overgrown above his forehead.

Time flies but this Kusu Island seem the same Kusu island that I knew 30 years ago. The bold red and green roof temple building contrasted starkly with the surrounding, the Tortoise sanctuary, the keramat temple at the hill top, the long stretch of sandy beach and the many coconut and palm trees that wavered in the wind.

My colleagues went into the temple compound to pray to the two deities, the Tua Pek Gong and the Goddess of Mercy. The praying hall has not changed much and the sculpture of two tortoises still remained standing at the compound. The label on the sculpture showed that it was erected in 1976.

We walked up the stairs to the keramat Datuk Nenek temple at the hill-top. Despite having some back pain, I still managed to surmount the climb. The yellow painted praying area remained the same that I saw 30 years back and is still very well maintained.

From the keramat, we walked down to the beach. The area was full of trees and probably filled with positive ions. It is a healthy getaway for a half a day island hopping cruise to this island. No pollution from passing vehicles, no heavy traffic, no car horns, no noise pollution but just the rhyme of the splashing sea waves and the soothing wind that caressed my face. It was rejuvenating and a refreshing nostalgic outing. The atmosphere was serene and the scenery pristine.

We spent about an hour here but it was enough to refresh all my old memories. As the ferries departed from the jetty, I wondered when will I come again to this island that is far from the madding crowd.

4  Thank soh_kien_peng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017

Went to St John's Island and Kusu island together on a weekday. Take the North-South line to the end and follow the exit to Marina South Pier. Tickets (round trip) is at $18/adult and $12/children(<12). Weekday only 2 ferry so take the 10am to St John and spend a few hours there and then take the 2.45pm ferry to Kusu. The final ferry from Kusu is 4.00pm (same ferry as it will just wait there). Should reach Marina South Pier at 4.30pm.
Weekends got more ferry trips and timing is much different.
Nothing much to do on Kusu island except visit the temple and the climb up the 152 steps to the Karamet. Good to combine the trip with St John's Island.

4  Thank wallaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

Excellent family picnic spot ! 45min ferry ride from Marina South pier. Lot of huts to sit and eat. Tranquil beach. One big pagoda. ideal getaway for family and friends. Take everything as there are no shops.

1  Thank svgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews