We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“return visit”
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Miramar
Ranked #103 of 314 Hotels in Singapore
England
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“return visit”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The Miramar is a bit pricy but this was a return visit and when you know the standard you can expect, I chose it. This is away from the centre and quieter. Although on a busy main road, there was no traffic noise. Clarke Quay is about a 20 minute stroll along the riverbank - very pleasant. I arived after midnight, greeted by pleasant staff and a very quick check-in. My room was very large, pleasant and equipped with fridge, coffee maker and room safe. Buffet breakfast was not included for me, and offered a good range of Asian and European foods. I did not like their very strong coffee and have receivd a written apology from the manager saying they will consider changing their coffee brand. Singapore is a good stop-over point when flying from Australia to England and I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank female-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    465
    232
    51
    24
See reviews for
165
453
71
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed at Hotel Miramar for one weekend when we were in Singapore. The hotel is very reasonable for this type of hotels. The room is not fancy, but it is comfy and has sufficient amenities. I would have to say the shower is very good. If you're looking for a luxury hotel, then this is not for you. However if you're looking for a place to rest while exploring Singapore then this is the one for you considering how pricey all Singapore hotels are.

It is also located near Clarke Quay where there are some restaurants and bars. If not Orchard Road is a 5 min cab ride away. A note to those who are driving, the hotel offers free parking to guests. Just ask for the voucher when you check out.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ytravel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I stayed at the Miramar for a short getaway as part of a package from Escape Travel. I paid $200 a night but stayed 4 nights for the price of three.

Pros: -most of the staff were very friendly (except for one tour booking person who was really quite rude and one bellman who couldn't care less)
-most bell staff and desk personnel were very efficient
-they let me check in very early after an early am arrival...with no extra charge
-there is a shower and change room you can use free if you have a late flight
-there is a mall within ten minutes' walking distance

Cons:
-The 'deluxe' rooms are definitely not four-star, as the Miramar bills itself (although I understand the 'premium' rooms are a bit better)-the rooms are worn around the edges and in need of some renovations
-the housekeeping was so-so (note to staff--you need to clean under the rim of the toilet bowl too...eww)
-despite what some others have said, this place is not that central...it is not that close to any major points of interest. It is a hike to get anywhere on foot, and there is no MRT station nearby. There is a bus station outside the door of the hotel, but if you don't already know your way around it is a bit of a chore to figure out.
-i asked for a late check out as I was going on a tour all morning, and they said the best they could do was one extra hour...for a charge.

All up, although the Miramar definitely has its drawbacks, there is a pretty good vibe here and some of the staff were outstanding. If it had some upgrading and the prices were just a bit lower, I would stay here again. Now that I know the lay of the land though, I will probably be looking for a more modern, more central hotel the next time I come to Singapore.

Grade: C+

Room Tip: I heard the premier rooms are better than the deluxe rooms (which are a bit of a misnomer)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SylvieRamonaBluebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed in the Miramar for 3 nights, 4 days in January at the beginning of a trip to New Zealand.
We arrived at about 9 am after a 12 hour flight from the UK. The reception staff were most helpful and told us we would have our room as soon as possible. This was at about 10.30am. We were delighted at the short wait and were able to shower, change and get out to explore the city well before lunchtime.
Our twin room was spacious, looking out onto the main road but as we were 13 storeys high the busy traffic did not bother us. The bathroom was spotless, with new towels each day.
Off the lobby there is a restaurant where we had a buffet breakfast each morning. An amazing variety of food to choose from, more than enough to keep you going all day. One tip --- if you like tea for breakfast take a t-bag with you as the tea in the pots is quite weak and English breakfast tea bags are not readily available. Twice we had a snack there in the middle of the day, the toasted sanwiches were good!
Immediately outside the hotel there is a bus stop where you can catch the city tour buses. There are plenty of taxis which the concierge will call for you. They are very reasonable.
Close by, to the right as you exit the front of the hotel, is a petrol station with a small shop for things like extra water.
We booked 2 evening trips via the concierge...the night safari at the zoo... great, and the night tour of the city to include a visit to Raffles. We enjoyed the second but wished there had been time to look at the city at night as the lights were fabulous. Unfortunately the coach kept moving from one stop to the next and this wasn't possible. Photos taken trough the window of a moving coach at night do not come out very well!
Our flight leaving Singapore was not until the evening. We asked at reception if we could keep our room until 3pm. We were prepared to pay but they allowed us to stay until 2.30pm free of charge. This allowed us to visit the Botanic Gardens in the morning and have a shower before waiting for our airport pick up.
We would reccommend this hotel to anyone passing through Singapore.

Room Tip: The one we had on 13th floor facing Havelock Road was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Buch78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prestwick
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

stayed in singapore at the miramar hotel for 3 nights prior to a cruise. hotel was on havelock road and over looked the singapore river a 5 min walk from clark quay. hotel was excellent for the location, comfort and amenities. first visit to singapore and with so much to see, hop on hop off bus stopped right outside hotel this was good value. could also easily walk to most city centre attractions from here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank revkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Four Points by Sheraton Singapore, Riverview
Furama RiverFront
#97 of 314 in Singapore
2,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#52 of 314 in Singapore
3,997 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#51 of 314 in Singapore
3,542 reviews
The Quays
Studio M Hotel
Studio M Hotel
#121 of 314 in Singapore
2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Singapore

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Property: Hotel Miramar
Address: 401 Havelock Road Hotel Miramar, Singapore 169631, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#87 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price range (per night): $180 - $524
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramar 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tower Hotel located in city center, within walking distance of Orchard Road & Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel Singapore
Hotel Miramar Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing