We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in many ways”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality
Ranked #104 of 314 Hotels in Singapore
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Perfect in many ways”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I arrived at midnight after a long flight and delays at the airport with luggage and I was greeted by friendly warm staff who ensured I got to my room as soon as possible. However, all of the hotel staff that I came across were lovely and helpful and this is always welcome by guests.

My room was on the corner of the building and it was really, really spacious with a massive king size bed. There were two small balconies where you could escape the air conditioning and take in a view of Orchard Parade or the gardens but this also allowed the street noise to be fairly obvious in the room. The room has everything you need including a large flat screen TV, a clean bathroom, plenty of space for your clothes and a desk - I also had free internet so this was a welcome bonus. Breakfast was included in my tariff and the buffet was ordinary but sufficent. There is a large outdoor pool and pool area which guests seem to really enjoy.

This hotel is extremely well positioned no matter what reason you find yourself in Singapore however if your plan is to "shop until you drop" then this is the hotel for you because it is SO close to the best stores. There are countless restaurants, a 7-eleven and bars very close by so there is nothing that you could not access.

I wouldn't hesitate to return to this hotel it was great.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KheeSiong, General Manager at Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear Sir/ Mdm,

Thank you for your kind comments.We are delighted to know you have enjoyed your stay with us; and were satisfied with our location, facilities and services provided by our team. Hotel Orchard Parade is a 3-minute walk from the shopping belt of Orchard Road. Vibrant nightlife options at Clarke Quay and Boat Quay are approximately 3 km away. The hotel is a 30-minute drive from Changi International Airport.
At the Orchard Parade Hotel, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay. Thank you again for sharing your experience and recommending us. We really look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Singapore.

Kind Regards,

Ng Khee Siong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    931
    452
    120
    78
See reviews for
564
441
162
689
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Knysna, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2012

At first I was checked into a smoking room that was not aired or could not be aired. The rooms are so small that you can not even open the cupboard door fully and it opens up against the bed.

When I requested a change in room I was first told I could be helped the next day only, this is without checking availability in the system. I insisted and short of causing an incident on the desk did I get a non smoking room.

This room was better and housekeeping was fine.

Breakfast was atrocious and I would be embarrassed if I was the F & B Manager in this hotel. The buffet was untidy, not well refreshed and waiter service was sloppy on the tables.

The hotel's location was fine and we got around well within the city.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotellier12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KheeSiong, General Manager at Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear Sir/Mdm,

We would like to thank you for giving us feedback regarding your stay with us We are delighted to know you have enjoyed your stay with us; and were satisfied with our rooms. Orchard Parade Hotel is a 3-minute walk from the shopping belt of Orchard Road. Vibrant nightlife options at Clarke Quay and Boat Quay are approximately 3 km away. The hotel is a 30-minute drive from Changi International Airport. When it comes to shopping and eating, this area definitely has one of the best options in Singapore.
Please accept our sincerest apologies. It is with regrets that the room was not maintained well. We appreciate your highlight on the areas of shortfall you have had experienced. You have every right to expect to be checked into a hotel of efficient and high and service quality, which we have failed to deliver. Your feedback has been a high priority in our management discussion and would like to inform you that we have taken all actions to ascertain the high level of service that you have mentioned. We are in the planning stages of refurbishing our rooms and we are confident that this will address the concerns that you have expressed about our rooms.We take this lapse in our standards very seriously. This is certainly not representative of the standards either of us expects from any hotel. We can only hope that you will give us another opportunity to redeem ourselves and to restore your confidence in our hotel. At the Orchard Parade Hotel, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay. Thank you again for sharing your experience and recommending us. We really look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Singapore.

Kind Regards,

Ng Khee Siong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

It is a nice concept of the lobby design, which is beside the bar. Especially under the sunshine, it makes us feel warm & brighten our mood. This is the first impression when we step in the area, & we love it so much. Although it is an old hotel, but the suit rooms are new and nice renovated.

Thanks for the kindly arrangement. We appreciated the warm services that have been provided by the team of Apple, Jonathan & Coco @ suit lounge. It is a nice and convenient place to stay in Singapore. Highly recommend based on the kindly services that they are offering to customers. Pls keep it up ;P.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celiashaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KheeSiong, General Manager at Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear Sir/Mdm,

Thank you for your kind comments.We are delighted to know you have enjoyed your stay with us; and were satisfied with our location, facilities and services provided by our team. Hotel Orchard Parade is a 3-minute walk from the shopping belt of Orchard Road. Vibrant nightlife options at Clarke Quay and Boat Quay are approximately 3 km away. The hotel is a 30-minute drive from Changi International Airport.
We greatly appreciate your compliments on our team members and their services. Your positive feedback is a big motivation to our staff and we will definitely convey this to Apple, Jonathan, Coco and the team.
At the Orchard Parade Hotel, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay. Thank you again for sharing your experience and recommending us. We really look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Singapore.

Kind Regards,

Ng Khee Siong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Good location for all amenities. Stayed for 3 months at the hotel and was very impressed by the complete package. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly and management were always available for consultatation. Hotel areas and rooms were very clean and the housekeeping and laundry staff were very efficient. Great service in the club room where all the staff were very friendly and welcoming, I was made to feel like part of the family.
Only minor fault I noted was the quality of the balcony windows and the soundproofing, but I soon became accustomed to it.
Without doubt would stay again.

stephengoudie@hotmail.com

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KheeSiong, General Manager at Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for giving us feedback regarding your stay with us We are delighted to know you have enjoyed your stay with us; our location, facilities and services provided by our team. Orchard Parade Hotel is a 3-minute walk from the shopping belt of Orchard Road. Vibrant nightlife options at Clarke Quay and Boat Quay are approximately 3 km away. The hotel is a 30-minute drive from Changi International Airport. When it comes to shopping and eating, this area definitely has one of the best options in Singapore.
We appreciate your highlight on the areas of shortfall you have had experienced.Allow me to reiterate my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. We are in the planning stages of refurbishing our rooms and we are confident that this will address the concerns that you have expressed about our rooms.We take this lapse in our standards very seriously. It was our pleasure to have you as our guests during your recent stay with us.I am very pleased to hear that you had enjoyed your stay here. Your kind comment is deeply appreciated by all our team members.
At the Orchard Parade Hotel, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay. Thank you again for sharing your experience and recommending us. We really look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Singapore.

Kind Regards,

Ng Khee Siong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Have stayed at OPH for many years and have seen many improvements and changes made to this "Grand Dame" of Orchard Road. Because of the crowds of "mass tour groups" with loud noises checking in, and behaving badly (example, speaking into hand-phones while helping themselves with one hand at the buffet breakfast counters or while checking in, and Mainland Chinese people shouting to each other over the breakfast room.), I choose to pay extra for the Executive Club floors. The staff at the Club Lounge do know how to make one feel really "at home" with their friendly smiles, wonderful hospitability and great service. We really enjoyed our stay and return visit (latest return visit was in February 2012) , thanks very much to Ms. Eunice Choo, Ms. Josephine, Ms Apple, Jonathon, and the lovely lady from the Philippines (with the name I cannnot pronounce well). They made our stay a memorable one and we return again and again, to meet these "friends" of OPH.

However, it would be appreciated if the Management makes sure that guests using the Club Lounge are (a) in fact Club paying guests, (b) observing a certain decent dress code (like, no surfer shorts, no singlets, no slippers) and no unruly behaviour, and to show their respect that this is a Club Lounge where Club guests can meet business associates; and (c) that Club staff have the authority to nicely "throw out" guests who are not suitably dressed or too "loud-mouthed" (speaking too loudly within the small space of the Lounge) so that other guests cannot read the newspapers or watch tv in the Lounge.

Our most recent stay was in the Presidential Suite. Although it was a spacious suite, one can only watch tv from the bed (TV fixed in an unusual position), the colour of the big and long sofa does not match the whole suite (it dominates the room), and the electric water-cooker does not work because the electrical wiring was faulty (the electrician came and showed to us the electrical wires embeded in the wall that have corroded, which he could not fix in one day).

Finally, please review breakfast offering in the Club Lounge. It serves Danish pastries and some limited items. In Europe, Danish pastries, especially the sweet ones, are not really a huge favourite amongst the health conscious folks. Because of the limited offering, I had to go down to level 2 to Tung Lok to "fight" with the group-tour people (a) for a seat, (b) for the food (they tend to pile up their plates with foods that they later leave half-eaten - what a waste !) - pity that the famous Tung Lok Restaurant foods are treated with such low respect.

Despite all this, we return to OPH simply because the staff at Executive Club level treat us like "we are at home". Many thanks to Eunice, Josephine, Apple, Jonathon, "Miss Philippines" and staff behind the scene (like the Laundry department).

Cheers,
Dr, Gim Seow

Room Tip: Pay extra for the Executive Club rooms, but (a) please dress and (b) behave appropriately, and (c) d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Silverlucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KheeSiong, General Manager at Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your kind comments.We are delighted to know you have enjoyed your stay with us; and were satisfied with our location, facilities and services provided by our team. Hotel Orchard Parade is a 3-minute walk from the shopping belt of Orchard Road. Vibrant nightlife options at Clarke Quay and Boat Quay are approximately 3 km away. The hotel is a 30-minute drive from Changi International Airport.
Please accept our sincerest apologies. It is with regrets that the room was not maintained well. Kindly be assured that we will work closely with our staff and will reinforce the importance of room condition. At the Orchard Parade Hotel, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay. We greatly appreciate your compliments on our team members and their services. Your positive feedback is a big motivation to our staff and we will definitely convey this to Eunice, Josephine, Apple, Jonathan, Chona and the team.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and recommending us. We really look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Singapore

Kind Regards,

Ng Khee Siong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Orchard Hotel Singapore
Orchard Hotel Singapore
#73 of 314 in Singapore
3,445 reviews
Orchard Road
Concorde Hotel Singapore
Concorde Hotel Singapore
#78 of 314 in Singapore
3,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#30 of 314 in Singapore
2,457 reviews
Orchard Road
Grand Park Orchard
Grand Park Orchard
#89 of 314 in Singapore
1,882 reviews
Orchard Road
Hilton Singapore
Hilton Singapore
#66 of 314 in Singapore
2,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Singapore

Been to Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality

Property: Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality
Address: 1 Tanglin Road Orchard Parade Hotel, Singapore 247905, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#54 Business Hotel in Singapore
#67 Family Hotel in Singapore
#69 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#88 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price range (per night): $173 - $327
Hotel Class:4 star — Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the entrance of the Orchard Road, Singapore's most famous shopping belt, Orchard Parade Hotel is just a 10-minute walk from Lido Cineplex and major shopping centers such as ION Orchard, Wisma Atria and Ngee Ann City. Business travellers will enjoy the accessibility of Orchard Parade Hotel, and families with children will definitely appreciate the hotel's spacious 50-60sqm Family Rooms. It is also within 10-minute walk to Scotts Road, another famous shopping district in Singapore. The same amount of walking time will bring you to Orchard MRT station, which can connect you to other parts of the city. A 10-minute car ride will get you to the Central Business District or Suntec Singapore International Convention & Exhibition Centre. Orchard Parade Hotel is also only 30-minute drive from Changi International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotelopia and Cancelon so you can book your Orchard Parade Hotel by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard Parade Hotel Singapore
Orchard Parade Hotel By Far East Hospitality Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing