We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room the size of a cupboard!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Inn at Temple Street
Ranked #173 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Adelaide
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Room the size of a cupboard!”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Didn't have a great experience at this hotel.

The positives: Cheap, great location right in China Town, three minutes to the MRT trains.

The negatives: Room the size of a large cupboard, TV in room didn't work, Wi-Fi wasn't working, the world's smallest bathroom/toilet wasn't clean, staff constantly asleep at the front desk, no breakfast available - need to go to Mcdonald's close by.

The hotel has character as it is a restored old chinese inn, but it isn't well run or looked after despite having tourism awards displayed. An old grotty tissue on the main steps up to the rooms was there when we arrived, and was still there two days later whe we left. Doesn't look like much cleaning ever gets done and our room reflected this.

Despite being in the lower price bracket price (about $105 a night, so not exactly ultra-budget) we won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    127
    101
    36
    42
See reviews for
45
135
76
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We stayed here for 11 days over Chinese New Year and had an absolutely great time. The hotel opens onto Temple Street which was closed to vehicles, and full of food stalls and hawkers selling everything under the sun.
It was great. The room was clean and tidy. The small fridge and electric kettle were a nice touch.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
A thoroughly enjoyable staff.
Our room was on the second floor at the rear. We used foam ear plugs at night, and weren't bothered by the street noises.
Would we stay here again. You bet.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Didiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

This hotel is by no means a Boutique Hotel - a statement that is being used rather a lot these days without any foundation.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boutique_hotel

The Hotel has just been renovated and stank of paint, when I asked if windows could be opened, as the smell was intoxicating and giving us headaches, I was told no. It turned out nobody had keys for any of the windows in the whole Hotel, not the stair ways nor the bedrooms, which is a big Health & Safety concern.

The rooms are tiny to say the least, and the bathrooms have been 'shoehorned' in.

The decor is simple and pleasent but the beds are short. I'm 5'8" (172cm) and when I was laid on my back with my head on the pillow my heels were hanging over the end...

For a one night stop over it is okay but for a couple of nights at 113 Singapore Dollars per night, when it is advertised as 'Boutique' it is very disappointing and not worth the money.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KandyKitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Bhubaneswar, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

it's very cozy right in the heart of China Town. It is very near the Marina and it's accessible to the night market. It has a busy street of great foods and cheap shopping. The people at the front desc are very accomodating and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SorentoMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Friendly services, convenient,very clean, nice to stay. I will back soon

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#85 of 312 in Singapore
663 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
#249 of 312 in Singapore
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Keong Saik Hotel
#119 of 312 in Singapore
243 reviews
Chinatown
Park 22 Hotel
Park 22 Hotel
#271 of 312 in Singapore
192 reviews
Naumi Liora
#104 of 312 in Singapore
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Temple Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Temple Street

Property: The Inn at Temple Street
Address: 36 Temple Street, Singapore 058581, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Price range (per night): $96 - $251
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Temple Street 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perankan styles boutique hotel with intricately carved wooden furniture, antique artifacts, & well painted murals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at Temple Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Temple Street Hotel Singapore
Hotel At Temple Street
At Temple Street Singapore
Bed Breakfast Singapore
The Inn At Temple Street Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing