We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,516)
Filter reviews
4,516 results
Traveller rating
1,658
1,975
594
186
103
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,658
1,975
594
186
103
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new wing raffles city great location premier club room opposite raffles bras basah marina bay mrt stations business trip bugis junction club lounge central location an upgrade rain shower buffet breakfast shopping centre long flight
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 4,516 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2018

The location is awesome however the following needs improvement:

1.There was no glass to drink water only 2 mugs?!?
2. Room service is horrible someone should record the calls and train them to improve
3. housekeeping quality is weak as the bathroom smells really bad

lots of rooms and having a property in the middle of town is not enough as hotel is expected to be hospitable!

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dr Sharad N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonHotelSG, Manager at Carlton Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Dr Sharad N,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Carlton Hotel and for sharing your recent stay experience with us on TripAdvisor. While we are pleased to read that you have found convenience in our central location, we regret to read that your stay fell short of your expectations. We have taken note of your feedback mentioned and have since shared them with the relevant departments for their review and improvement.

Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
KC Sim
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

Great hotel, conveniently located near Subway station, next to Raffles for a Singapore Sling in the Long Bar, opposite Chijmes for food/drinks, short walking distance to Suntec City travel hub for tour buses to Singapore Zoo (Night Safari) and beyond. Booked a Premuim Club that includes breakfast and cocktails/food between 6-8pm and free soft drinks throughout the day, plus complimentary cleaning of a suit or 2 garments per night of your stay so well worth it (we were on 16th floor so great views!). Room was large and comfortable with great views and superking bed. Lovely shower too. Also comes with “Handy” complimentary mobile phone. Pool and Spa available too. Recommended.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JuniGreenTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonHotelSG, Manager at Carlton Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear JuniGreenTraveller,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience and for your 5-star review. It was great to read of your compliments for our convenient location, well-appointed Club Room with the Handy smartphone, complimentary access to our Premier Club Lounge as well as our breakfast and evening cocktail selection.

Once again, thank you for your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Singapore.

Best Regards,
KC Sim
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We walked everywhere or caught the MRT, the location is very handy to Raffles City Shopping Centre and a short walk to Suntec. Our room was very comfortable, lovely bed and a renovated bathroom. The staff catered for my gluten free requirements for breakfast, delivering me with a bowl of cereal and 3 pieces of toast each morning. They were always happy to oblige, whether it be providing a pot of tea or delivering tea bags and milk so quickly on the one day housekeeping forgot to replace tea bags. The pool was great, perfect temperature and plenty of loungers and chairs. We have now stayed at 6 different hotels in Singapore and we would happily return to the Carlton.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 18th floor and were happy with it
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank you3912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonHotelSG, Manager at Carlton Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear you3912,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It delights us to read that you have had an enjoyable experience, appreciated our comfortable guest room, the team’s service as well as attention to details and also found convenience in our central location.

Once again, thank you for the positive feedback. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back once more.

Best Regards,
KC Sim
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018

My friend and I were quite upset by the misrepresentation of the size of beds in the hotel. We expected a king size bed, but instead we got something along the lines of a queen size bed. I chose this hotel because the rating for cleanliness was high and they said they have a king size bed. Anyhow, my friend's room smelled really musty compared to mine, but had a better view.

All in all, I would return here, though it's not really walking distance to anything worth seeing or eating. The hotel is comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonHotelSG, Manager at Carlton Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Teresa L,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Carlton Hotel Singapore and for sharing your recent stay experience with us. While we are glad to read that you have enjoyed our central location, we are disappointed to read that your stay fell short of your expectation. With regard to the size of our beds, we would like to clarify that all our 940 rooms come with a king size bed. At the same time, we have also shared your feedback with regard to the musty scent in the room with our Housekeeping team for their review and rectification.

Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We look forward to having you with us once more.

Best Regards,
KC Sim
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

This is an excellent hotel conveniently located on Bras Basah, next to both Raffles Hotel, Raffles City (Bar Rouge) and Chijmes. On our return stay we had three days in the hotel. The room was good but not huge, it was clean, tidy and comfortable and had a splendid king sized bed. We stayed in a Premier, Club room which gave us access to the Club lounge for pre-evening-meal drinks and canapes and was located on the 18th floor ( the 18th floor gave access to superb views over the city, particularly at night). We also had breakfast in the Club lounge and were able to check-in and out from there - convenient to avoid the crowds! Breakfast was very good with a reasonable variety of foods from various regions. The location of the hotel makes exploring very convenient whether by taxi or MRT (both of which are not too expensive). Eating out for us is always the highlight of our visits to Singapore, we avoid restaurants and bistros and head for the local food halls. For anyone who has never experienced a food hall in Singapore it is something that should not be missed - to say the least they are rough and ready, they are where the locals eat, they are often noisy and a little chaotic, however they will provide you with a vast variety of different cuisines from Japanese to Korean to Chinese to Indian and many varieties of each. Almost always they are excellent and the food splendid. Food halls or Hawker stalls are usually located under large stores, malls, office buildings and/or in outside areas like parks etc.

The only irritation with our return stay was that on our last day we were told we could have a room in which to shower and change before leaving for the airport, but this was not the case! We packed, checked out and went out for the day. We returned, expecting to have a room, as agreed, in which to shower and change, however, the ''room'' turned out to be a communal shower area next to the pool, complete with a queue of around a dozen seriously irritated, hot, frustrated, other guests. I complained but to no avail, I was given a key to the gym changing room but this was a nightmare with a large suitcase and at this point my wife gave up on the idea (she was then forced to wait in a smelly gym with no seats whilst I conducted my ablutions - not pleasant for non-gym bunnies). I have written to the hotel and await their reply.

Room Tip: Best rooms are Club rooms on upper floors with access to the Club lounge.
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian F M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonHotelSG, Manager at Carlton Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Ian F M,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your recent stay experience on TripAdvisor. It is our pleasure to have you with us during your stopover to and from Borneo and we are most pleased to read that you have appreciated our well-appointed Premier Club Room with complimentary access to our Premier Club Lounge and found convenience in our central location. As you have highlighted, Singapore is a foodie heaven and it was great to know that you have enjoyed your dining experience at our food courts and hawker stalls.

We have also taken note of your feedback with regard to the room for washing up upon your check-out. Please accept our sincere apology for the miscommunication and inconvenience caused. We have since shared your feedback with our Front Office team for their review and improvement.

Once again, thank you for your constructive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back at Carlton Hotel in the near future.

Best Regards,
KC Sim
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews