We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,522)
Filter reviews
4,522 results
Traveller rating
1,663
1,976
594
186
103
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,663
1,976
594
186
103
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new wing raffles city great location premier club room opposite raffles bras basah marina bay mrt stations business trip bugis junction club lounge central location an upgrade rain shower buffet breakfast shopping centre long flight
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 4,522 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2018

My friend and I were quite upset by the misrepresentation of the size of beds in the hotel. We expected a king size bed, but instead we got something along the lines of a queen size bed. I chose this hotel because the rating for cleanliness was high and they said they have a king size bed. Anyhow, my friend's room smelled really musty compared to mine, but had a better view.

All in all, I would return here, though it's not really walking distance to anything worth seeing or eating. The hotel is comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonHotelSG, Manager at Carlton Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Teresa L,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Carlton Hotel Singapore and for sharing your recent stay experience with us. While we are glad to read that you have enjoyed our central location, we are disappointed to read that your stay fell short of your expectation. With regard to the size of our beds, we would like to clarify that all our 940 rooms come with a king size bed. At the same time, we have also shared your feedback with regard to the musty scent in the room with our Housekeeping team for their review and rectification.

Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We look forward to having you with us once more.

Best Regards,
KC Sim
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

This is an excellent hotel conveniently located on Bras Basah, next to both Raffles Hotel, Raffles City (Bar Rouge) and Chijmes. On our return stay we had three days in the hotel. The room was good but not huge, it was clean, tidy and comfortable and had a splendid king sized bed. We stayed in a Premier, Club room which gave us access to the Club lounge for pre-evening-meal drinks and canapes and was located on the 18th floor ( the 18th floor gave access to superb views over the city, particularly at night). We also had breakfast in the Club lounge and were able to check-in and out from there - convenient to avoid the crowds! Breakfast was very good with a reasonable variety of foods from various regions. The location of the hotel makes exploring very convenient whether by taxi or MRT (both of which are not too expensive). Eating out for us is always the highlight of our visits to Singapore, we avoid restaurants and bistros and head for the local food halls. For anyone who has never experienced a food hall in Singapore it is something that should not be missed - to say the least they are rough and ready, they are where the locals eat, they are often noisy and a little chaotic, however they will provide you with a vast variety of different cuisines from Japanese to Korean to Chinese to Indian and many varieties of each. Almost always they are excellent and the food splendid. Food halls or Hawker stalls are usually located under large stores, malls, office buildings and/or in outside areas like parks etc.

The only irritation with our return stay was that on our last day we were told we could have a room in which to shower and change before leaving for the airport, but this was not the case! We packed, checked out and went out for the day. We returned, expecting to have a room, as agreed, in which to shower and change, however, the ''room'' turned out to be a communal shower area next to the pool, complete with a queue of around a dozen seriously irritated, hot, frustrated, other guests. I complained but to no avail, I was given a key to the gym changing room but this was a nightmare with a large suitcase and at this point my wife gave up on the idea (she was then forced to wait in a smelly gym with no seats whilst I conducted my ablutions - not pleasant for non-gym bunnies). I have written to the hotel and await their reply.

Room Tip: Best rooms are Club rooms on upper floors with access to the Club lounge.
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian F M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonHotelSG, Manager at Carlton Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Ian F M,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your recent stay experience on TripAdvisor. It is our pleasure to have you with us during your stopover to and from Borneo and we are most pleased to read that you have appreciated our well-appointed Premier Club Room with complimentary access to our Premier Club Lounge and found convenience in our central location. As you have highlighted, Singapore is a foodie heaven and it was great to know that you have enjoyed your dining experience at our food courts and hawker stalls.

We have also taken note of your feedback with regard to the room for washing up upon your check-out. Please accept our sincere apology for the miscommunication and inconvenience caused. We have since shared your feedback with our Front Office team for their review and improvement.

Once again, thank you for your constructive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back at Carlton Hotel in the near future.

Best Regards,
KC Sim
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

I was in the higher rate tower . The room was quite OK and relatively spacious but not as spacious as the Swissotel over the road. Nevertheless, the quality of this hotel is somewhat superior to it's neighbours!

I was there for an overnight stay so cannot comment on the quality of the facilities but the lobby was spacious but with inadequate seating.

The service was pretty good although I would rate it at 80%. Check in staff were very good and housekeeping excellent but bell service could do with some attention from management.

In terms of position - almost unbeatable being directly opposite a shopping mall with restaurants all around and an MRT station (City Hall) opposite.

Room Tip: The premium tower was pretty good.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonHotelSG, Manager at Carlton Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Dear Michael T,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you’ve had an enjoyable stay with us and appreciated our services and convenient location. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
KC Sim
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

Recently attended an event hosted at the function rooms.

Very good service, food and drink provisions; love the breakout areas outside the function rooms - the seats and tables. Good planning.

Quality of the food was exceptional, especially with more than 500 participants.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
Thank Ahguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

Excellent hotel good position staff very helpful breakfast and evening meal first class. Would stay here again. Singapore is very clean and lots to see very close to hotel. Room was generous size and fantastic bathroom

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank whisperin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews