We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location but that's it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Pacific Hotel
Ranked #117 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Convenient location but that's it”
Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

This hotel is close to the City Hall MRT station and has lots of buses going everywhere. Staff are always chatting amongst themselves, lackluster or can't be bothered to serve guests. Our room on the top floor was moderately sized and comes with the standard amenities. Nothing more, nothing less. Although it was situated away from the elevators, we could hear the mechanism noise particularly at night. Definitely not for light sleepers. Broadboard or WiFi isn't free. This hotel is purely functional. Good for one or two nights' stay, but no personality to speak of.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank floppybunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    532
    278
    95
    38
See reviews for
263
392
99
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kingscliff NSW
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Recently stayed at Grand Pacific Hotel (formerly Allson). Hotel has undergone name change and some renovations. I hadn't stayed here for 6 years, so thought I would try it again. Location is excellent, just a few minutes from Raffles Plaza, Sun Tec City and all the shops at Bugis Junction. Had a standard double room on 4th floor. No much has changed here. Still has the dark wood panelling in the hallways and in the rooms. At least they have moved to flat-screen TVs. AC was good, room and bathroom clean. Never got to try breakfast as it was way too expensive (make sure it's included in any on-line room reservation). Front desk staff were helpful. I found it strange that with severl bell/doorman staff always floating around - in all the times I entered/exited the hotel - not one of them opened the door. Not that I am lazy - but I saw doormen at other hotels opening doors for their guests. I thought internet was included in the rate - but disappointed to find out it is around S$20 per 24hours. With so many less expensive and lower-star-rated hotels offering fast and free wifi in rooms - I fail to understand some of these larger, more expensive hotels that are still charging. Apart from mini-bar costs and laundry - it's about the only other way hotels can rip you off. I usually do not stay at hotels without free internet in rooms, but I made a mistake on this one. Would I recommend to friends? Probably. Would I stay here again? No - there's better deals around that include complimentary wifi.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kwalaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nothampton
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

The hotel as comfortable and lovely however the receptionists could have at least been a little more smiley to their holidaying customers. Breakfast was prompt meaning you had to have so by 10.00 and you were reminded of that even in the dining room. My brother was practically followed around the room with them clearing his stuff away thinking he had finished that in the end he laughed about it. Staff however were very pleasant and did try to help. We thank them all for their support and their concierge who told us about the boat trip across Singapore.

Room Tip: Just make sure you tell them all your requirements e.g. twin, double etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Hotel Grand Pacific, Victoria Street Singapore
This is a nice hotel with eager, cheery and helpful staff. The room is a generous size with comfy Queen bed, tub chair, desk and chair, TV, fridge and the bathroom has a shower over the bathtub. All modern, clean and in good condition. The hotel breakfast was good with a wide selection of mainly western foods. The Grand Pacific is a non smoking hotel and it was pleasant having a room without the lingering stench of cigarettes. Local buses are available n#et door to the hotel with the opposite direction over the road. The Bras Basah MRT is an easy stroll around the corner and just down the road. There is a 7-11 n#et door and 24hr food courts are over the road or on Bras Basah road, towards the MRT. We'll happily return.

Room Tip: We had a Deluc room - upgraded because we booked 3 nights with breakfast. It fronted onto Victori s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LKRobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed in Singapore for 2 days after spending a week at Club Med Bintan Island. We chosed this hotel mainly because of the location. The hotel is very close to Bras Basah MRT station so you can get to many destinations easily. The hotel has its own Cafe and restaurants - we had breakfasts included with our room. The buffet breakfast is ok has all the usual options. It also serve lunch and dinner buffets and it looks like it is very popular for the locals the place was full on Sunday we I walked pass. There is a local food count right opposite the road, the food was ok there fairly cheap. But if you walk down victoria Street (south) then turn right on Bras Basah Road and walk for about 5 mins there is a more modern foodcourt which has food from many different cultures.

The room is ok but it does need a renovation at some stage. The bathroom has a bath and it is reasonably clean.

This hotel has laundry, gym, and pool but we didn't use those facilities.

The staff there is fantastic didn't have a problem with any of them. All of them were very helpful to us.

If I want to be close to town and MRT station I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank giggler12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel Royal at Queens
#170 of 312 in Singapore
728 reviews
Hotel Kai
#112 of 312 in Singapore
225 reviews
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
#115 of 312 in Singapore
4,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#61 of 312 in Singapore
6,377 reviews
Kampong Glam
Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pacific Hotel

Property: Grand Pacific Hotel
Address: 101 Victoria Street Hotel Grand Pacific, Singapore 188018, Singapore (Formerly Allson Hotel Singapore)
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price range (per night): $149 - $292
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Pacific Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sixteen-story Hotel situated in the heart of business district, shopping & entertainment centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Pacific Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allson Hotel Singapore
Singapore Allson Hotel
Allson Singapore
Grand Pacific Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing