We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A decent enough hotel in a good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Pacific Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Pacific Hotel
Ranked #107 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A decent enough hotel in a good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We are a family of four with 7 and 11 year old sons. We had stayed at the Grand Pacific when it was the Allison Hotel many years ago and it was little changed.

Plus points:

-Very helpful and polite staff, even during busy periods
-Location -quie central and easy to walk to Clark Key and other attractions- about 20 mins
-Convenient Hawker center opposite the hotel
-Generally clean and well kept within the constraints of it being quite an old hotel.
-Beds big enough to hold a family of 4 in the 2 queen size beds in the room
-wash and dry facilities

Minus points

-Rooms and bathrooms were quite small and dark
-Breakfast was very average
-Pool area rather shabby and worn
-no little extras apart from two small bottles of water-

All in all, a good stopover hotel for a few days and very acceptable if you are looking for a good basic 4 star hotel in a good location.

Room Tip: Ask for a non smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cromerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    492
    256
    81
    32
See reviews for
238
352
91
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Hi,

We have visited the Grand Pacific Hotel many, many times over the last eight years, sometimes with friends, sometimes four times per year and have always been happy with our stays. The staff are great, I even get welcomed with a kiss and a hug from all the Concierges who are great people.

The rooms are standard rooms that we book although you can book premier rooms for 25 UKP a night more, this room comes with breakfast usually. The standard rooms are rosewood and are a comfortable size and have all the usual things in the room. The hotel has a pool and one thing which I think hotels should have is a self service laundry ($6.00 plus $6.00 SP). The Grand Pacific has this and that is super handy to have.

The only drawback we have since we have been visiting the Grand Pacific Hotel, the rooms have gone up from 53 UKP to 110 UKP per night since 2009. This price would include breakfast for two people. I would like to ask the question why? I expect price rises but not that much. They are pricing themselves out of existance where many people cannot afford to pay these prices, expecially people like ourselves who go for a week or so at a time. They don't do a long stay rate which is extremely unusual nor Corporate rates.

We have been told for the last three years that the rooms are being upgraded, the standard room that we were in hadn't been. We used to get high floors but now they won't put us any higher than floor 9. However, the premier rooms are the higher rooms. We have also noticed that the hotel is never full, only 50% full, so why don't they lower their prices and include breakfast and it would be brilliant.

I would like to tell you about the breakfast which we have had in the past alot. The staff remember you if you come back, you have all the usual buffet food including a counter where you can ask for eggs and bacon, omelettes all freshly cooked. The lady that works on that section is great, doesn't speak alot of english but you ask for what you want and she does it for you perfectly. Hassan (very nice gentleman with a suit on, you cannot miss him) is extremely obliging and will help in any way he can. He originally said "come and stay at this hotel, you will not be disappointed". We haven't been.

One tip, ask for a room facing Victoria Street, if you face the back where the pool is there is alot of noise in the room and it is bad. Book your hotel on an asian based website, don't assume you have to book if with your tour operator. I have been booking holidays for ourselves (2 people) and our friends (4 extra people) for ten or so years and have never had a problem that we could not fix.

They also have a fantastically easy transport system near the Grand Pacific, you can go on three lines on the MRT, work out where you are going on a map then go to the one that works for you. The buses are great, we have been out in the middle of nowhere not knowing where we will end up and have seen buses that say on the side of them Victoria Street and we have hopped on. Easy.

The other thing I would say is get an EZY card with stored value which we keep using everytime we go. The value stays on it and lasts for as long as you need it within reason. Don't be the person that has to buy the ticket, if you do don't forget you get a dollar back after you have completed your journey. It is obviously daft if you are only there for one or two days, but it is still nice to take home for a souvenir. We have had ours for years and have had a changeover card due to the original one being upgraded.

When you go for your stay always go in a taxi from the airport, everywhere in the world is expensive, not there! We have never paid more that $20.00 (10 UKP) each way, but we have always arrived in the daytime. The price can double between midnight and 6am. Do not book the shuttle you want to get there quicker unless it comes as a freebee.

An American company has recently taken over the Grand Pacific Hotel and thinks oh we will put the prices up by 100%, nobody will mind, tourists will pay it. It is sad and I really would like to get a reply from Head office on this matter. I would also want some sort of loyalty scheme for regular customers that they get points etc like the Hilton, or an automatic upgrade as many hotels do in Asia and Australia.

We have already stayed one week on this holiday and are going back in 10 days for 8 nights and will ask for a different room again. I have a list of which are ok and which are not. We are looking forward to it.

About Singapore review: Why do people only come to Singapore for a stopover? I have talked to many people and they say "yes, I've been to Singapore", and I say "great, where did you see?" The usual places are Raffles, Sentosa Island, Bird Zoo, Night Zoo etc. What are these people doing, they are missing the great places as well that are undiscovered. We have been on many really good walks and seen loads of wildlife that are wandering about. Last week we went to Kranji and got on a bus $3.00 SP each and went to the Wetlands Centre, we saw snakes, monitor lizards (big Ones), birds and all sorts of other creatures. It was brilliant and in the middle of nowhere.

We also walked up to the Henderson Waves bridge and carried on for miles over the Southern Ridges on a tree top walk. At the end we caught a bus to the MRT and got that back to the hotel.

You can go skiing at the ski place, go to museums, go for exciting things like Universal worlds and Sentosa Island. My tip go on the luge and go as fast as you can and buy a five go ticket for $25.00 SP, it is extremely good fun. Go on long walks, there is something for everyone including nature lovers.

So we love Singapore and have been lots of times and are still finding loads of things to do, we are usually the only english people doing them but hey what does it matter! It is extremely safe, I have never been to a place where I felt like that all over the island. So my tip is take longer, stay longer plan what you want to do before you arrive. Talk to the Tourist Board, they have helped me time and time again.

Thanks for reading my review, Pegasus65.

Room Tip: Face Victoria Street in your room. Use taxi from airport quick and easy and efficient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Pegasus65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
96 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

This hotel was fine for the three nights that we stayed, good sized rooms and comfortable enough Main benefit was its central location which was important for us with just two days to see Singapore. Breakfast only so so. No proper reading lights over the bed.

Room Tip: We were high enough not to bothered by any noise from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glen67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

This is an average middle class hotel. nothing special to complain at, nothing special to remember. Location is great though.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terserus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
82 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Hotel staff treatment to the guests is just as cold as the air temperature that blows from the central aircon in the rooms. Staff are not rude, but equally not helpfull. Do not be fooled, however, by the temperature selector in the room: it doesn't matter what you set, it will always be freezing cold inside and you will need a good blanket to sleep in full tropical summer. Breakfast is another trap: extremely overpriced and not included in the room rate (and worst - they do not tell you it when checking in). For less the half price, you can have a full meal just crossing the street. Decor is also outdated, but everything was working well. At least there was a nice bathtube where you can warm up a little to face the cold air in the room. All in all, it is a poor and overcharged place in a good location and, regarding we stayed there on behalf of Singapore Airlines, we can certainly say thet this place is obviously below the Singapore Airlines standard.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uprightM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel Royal at Queens
#149 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Hotel Kai
#122 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#64 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
Furama City Centre
#45 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,290 reviews
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
#111 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pacific Hotel

Property: Grand Pacific Hotel
Address: 101 Victoria Street Hotel Grand Pacific, Singapore 188018, Singapore (Formerly Allson Hotel Singapore)
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price range (per night): $133 - $244
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Pacific Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sixteen-story Hotel situated in the heart of business district, shopping & entertainment centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Pacific Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allson Hotel Singapore
Singapore Allson Hotel
Allson Singapore
Grand Pacific Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing