We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Ranked #48 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012 via mobile

Well situated in Singapore. Able to walk to Raffles, the Merlion and is close to some good restaurants and bars on Clarke Quay. Good price as Singpore hotels are generally more expensive.

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ChezNoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,621
    1,687
    503
    161
    66
See reviews for
942
1,552
248
750
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
332 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed here briefly and were pleased to that it maintained the same high standards as its sister hotel. It's also ideally located to access the whole of the central city and the restaurants of Clark quay. The staff were most charming and accommodating allowing us to leave some baggage while we went down to Australia for a week saving us a lot of hassle with Aussie customs. All the public areas are of a high standard and the breakfast was the usual buffet covering a vast array of tastes, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Stayed in the hotel for 4 nights in early March, overall is good.

We booked a Business Advantage Room. Checked in at about 10.30pm, were given a room on 8th floor, huge, but the hot water tap had absolutely no pressure and the water was max luke warm, the water was leaking out of the bath tub onto the floor. We called housekeeping and got a call back from the duty manager. He first suggested fixing the tap TOMORROW - lol, he could easily see that we only just checked in and without a shower how could we possibly go to bed not to mention we had a 4yo kid!!

After we saying NO, we were moved to another room on 5th floor - same type of room but a lot smaller which was fine as we now could have a decent hot shower at least.

Have to say the bed linen is so so nice. I normally don't notice this kind of things but this time I felt so luxury when laying on the bed. They were just soft. They also had a "pillow menu" so you can request different type of pillow to suit your personal needs. We didn't use it though.

We didn't use their service much but reception staff seem friendly. We used the pool once at night time, it was not bad. Daily breakfast in Executive Club on 11th floor - small selections but nothing to complain about.

Location of the hotel is really good, you can walk around the hotel and directly connect you to the Clarke Quay train station. You can walk all the way to China town.

Overall, good hotel in good location, nothing to complain about but nothing to brag about either.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teresahuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcliff-on-Sea
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

This was a two day stop-over hotel on a flight from Melbourne to London. The location was excellent, right on Clarke's Quay, overlooking the river. In this respect ideal for the night life. On arrival we were asked if we wanted to upgrade at an extra cost. This we agreed to do, so we found ourselves on the 12th floor, with a view that looked out over the Singapore Flyer and the surrounding skyline. Included in the upgrade was breakfast in the Executive Club, also 'happy hour' drinks and canapes. We felt the cost of the upgrade was worth the extra. Our room was extremely well equipped, and quite spacious. The hotel was really 'tuned in' to the business traveller. The staff were friendly and efficient. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MayWest42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
136 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

I stayed in the Swissotel on a conference.

We had our conference in a meeting room, so, combined with the huge range of bars and restaurants just outside, we didn't go more than 100m for the entire 3 days. The area is nice enough with the water, and venues were good.

The hotel is fine - someone said it was slightly dated in the rooms, but I'd say only slightly. The nicest surprise is the gym/spa - spread through mid-size rooms, with decent Technogym equipment covering all the main machines, AND a smith machine and dumbbells up to 30kg; unheard of in a hotel gym. I'd say it's one of the best hotel gyms I've seen from the perspective of being nearly able to do my "proper gym" workout.

Staff were friendly, breakfast and buffet were very good in range and quality. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damoske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Park Regis Singapore
#51 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,807 reviews
The Quays
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#50 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,251 reviews
Furama City Centre
#47 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,267 reviews
Fairmont Singapore
#15 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Property: Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Address: 20 Merchant Road, Singapore 058281, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#36 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#37 Family Hotel in Singapore
#40 Business Hotel in Singapore
#46 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price range (per night): $208 - $362
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Merchant Court, Singapore offers the best of both worlds: a central-city location and resort-style ambience. The hotel is ideally located on the banks of the Singapore River, next to Clarke Quay Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) station. Facilities including two award-winning restaurants, one contemporary bar, a resort-style swimming pool, 24-hour Fitness Centre and Purovel Spa & Sport, the region's first luxury Swiss spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Merchant Court Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing