We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$186
Vio.com
Agoda.com
AU$182
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Cynthia L
Canberra, Australia

Not happy!

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Oct 2012
The hotel is in a very central location and the room was comfortable enough, except for a badly fitted toilet seat which made a racket when we sat on it! The windows were double glazed which was necessary as Bras Baseh is a very busy road and there was heavy construction on a side street. However the service was well below what you would expect from a 4-star property. Except for one receptionist (Vivien) and a bellhop, services were non-existent. Room attendants were rather inconsistent and surly and when I rang for un-replaced towels, it took half an hour and a second call before they arrived. I used up the only 'newspaper request' card for the local newspapers on one day and since the request card was not replaced, I was not able to get any newspapers for the rest of my stay (5 days)! Restaurant is very, very expensive - even by Singapore's standards. A cup of coffee is S$7.50 plus 10% service, plus 7% GST! A sign on the window of the coffee shop advertised it was only $5 a cup and when I protested, they told me the $5 price was meant for the courtyard cafe and not the coffee shop. And when I went to check in the Courtyard cafe, they told me the $5 tag was for coffee from the coffee shop! I walked away in disgust. As a result of this, we had all our meals outside the hotel.

It was not very practical to have messages put in the TV. We missed a couple of messages simply because we did not switch on the TV! Isn't it simplier to have a 'message waiting' button on the phone?
Date of stay: October 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$380
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$406
  • Agoda.com
    AU$288
  • Hotels.com
    AU$386
1.7 km from Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$173
  • travelup.com
    AU$180
  • Expedia.com
    AU$179
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$179
Fully refundable
  • travelup.com
    AU$171
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$158
  • Expedia.com
    AU$180
1.8 km from Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$329
  • Expedia.com
    AU$344
  • Hotels.com
    AU$345
  • Priceline
1.7 km from Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality
Free Wifi
Free parking
Facade
Booking.com
AU$179
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • KLOOK
    AU$150
  • travelup.com
    AU$174
1.5 km from Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$293
  • travelup.com
    AU$291
  • Agoda.com
    AU$250
  • Expedia.com
    AU$256
1.4 km from Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality
Pool
Restaurant
Facade
Booking.com
AU$222
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$180
  • travelup.com
    AU$220
1.9 km from Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$293
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$267
  • Priceline
2.5 km from Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$1,026
Fully refundable
  • travelup.com
    AU$1,202
  • Vio.com
  • Trip.com
1.9 km from Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$325
  • Algotels
1.2 km from Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Singapore
Reviews (4,998)
Filter reviews
4,998 results
Traveller rating
2,425
1,894
495
128
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,425
1,894
495
128
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club room orchard road bras basah mrt stations plaza singapura national museum dhoby ghaut central location excellent location little india walking distance bus stop late check public transport food court marina bay shopping
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4,142 - 4,147 of 4,998 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2012

The arrival was very positive and the appearance of the room excellent. The location is excellent too, close to everything. With a few adjustments on services this hotel could be great.

During our stay the cleaning has left much to be desired on more than one occasion unfortunately (towels were not changed, used glasses left around the room etc etc). The menu for in-room dining is limited and the quality could be better. Upon check out, one of the luggage handlers almost smashed one of the suitcases trying to press them into the boot of the taxi without noticing that it would have been enough to slide the handle inwards into the compartment so that it would have gotten in easily,

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Down U
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 October 2012

They tried to overcharge by applying the service charge and sales tax twice. And when I pointed out their mistake, they at first insisted they were correct (before later apologizing and fixing the bill). It's hard to believe this was an accident - charging for rooms is what they do for a living, after all.

The rooms are OK and the location is good (5 minute walk to an MRT interchange), but by the time you add on $27 per day for Internet access and another possible $40 of overcharges if you're not all the ball, you could stay in a far nicer and newer hotel such as Fort Canning just a block away.

Another point is that many of their rooms are noisy right now due to the construction of the Downtown MRT line adjacent to the hotel which goes on for most of 16 hours a day, 7 days a week. This is not their fault, but it's something you should be aware of. They have a limited number of quieter rooms on the opposite side, so if noise bothers you, ask for one of these should you book.

Also, their mattresses are hard - harder than anything I've seen in a shop. This didn't bother me personally, but it's worth bearing in mind if you're used to something soft.

Room tip: While the new MRT line is under construction, ask for a quiet room if daytime noise bothers you.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Hotel room was very good,bed was quite comfortable after a lot of pretty hard beds throughout France,Polandand Rome.The hotel restaurant has a great spread for breakfast but is quite expensive for meals.They have a special for a bottle of wine.Buy one get one free but the bottle costs about three times the cost of a comparable bottle at home.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Central placed. Friendly and helpful staff. Good gym.
Got a free upgrade to a club room (without even asking for it).
Very Close to the Bras Barah metro station.
Very Close to Coffee Bean and the tea leaf - I had breakfast there every day, even ordered take away from them.

Room tip: The club rooms are rather high up in the building (10th & 11th floor).
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattias_xyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Really good location, you can walk to the main places. 20 mins to CQ, 25 to Chinatown, even to marina bay you can walk. 7 eleven opposite the hotel, nice restaurants around.

Room quiet small but comfy. Mattress slightly to hard... Challenge with the water temperature in the shower, but manageable :)

Front office staff helpful and polite but not outstanding. Request a room facing the pool area they are more quiet, as a major construction work is going on next to the hotel (MRT).

Haven't tried the food and beverage outlets, but honestly, why should I eat in the hotel when I'm surrounded by so many very good local restaurants ??

Would highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinBeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews