We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hostel”
Review of Bunc Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bunc Hostel
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We were at the bunc for 4 nights and it was great. The staff is super friendly and always ready to help out plan your activities. The hostel environment is soothing with a cool black and white theme. The bunc allowed us to store our luggage until check-in time and stored the luggage after check-out until we are going to the airport at no extra cost.

The rooms: Excellent bedding, pillows and covers. There are lockers under the bed that have enough room to fit the largest hand carry luggage and even small check in luggage bags. Each bed includes a full light, night light, a reading lamp and one power socket. (Converters are available at a small deposit with no charge). The AC is turned on from 6 PM. I visited the room only once during the day time but even then the room is quite cool.

The washrooms: With separate washrooms for males and females and electronic locks bunc has done a great effort to make the stay very comfortable. The industrial fans in the wash rooms are a great idea. Its always easy to find a dry washroom anytime of the day. Unlike some hostels, bunc has done the homework and has provided water and paper options in all the toilets so that people from all over the world are comfortable. Each floor has washrooms to maintain a good bathroom to people ratio

The breakfast: The breakfast includes bread, jams, peanut butter and butter along with fruits, tea and coffee. Breakfast cereals and milk is also included with top notch toasters, ovens. A kitchen is also available 24x7 for more adventurous people to prepare there own meals with a shared fridge and special lockers to keep the dry foods.

The location: 10mins to the nearest MRTs (Bugis and Little India). bunc is in walking distance to the must visit 24hour mother-of-all-department stores, The Mustafa. There is some construction work going on near the bunc but is quite quiet in the night. The Sim Lim Square is also quite near.

Overall, bunc was a great place. The only thing I missed is that bunc does not offer tea/coffee making facility around the clock.

Room Tip: Bring locks for the lockers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeevan_VJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

354 - 358 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

It has been a very pleasant experience to stay in bunc hostel. Staff were friendly and helpful,they recommended us some places to have our dinner and what not. We were staying in the mixed dorm and it was good ,beds were very comfortable and aircond is not too cold. Although its a sharing dorm but I don feel too interrupted and still have a lil privacy. Quite a distance from mrt stations but its still acceptable. Price is very reasonable for this kind of services, beyond reasonable i guess, what more can you ask for?

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hui X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

It was my first time that I've been to Singapore and I'd never travelled abroad alone before. Staffs are very nice. They always smiled while they were talking to me, even though I couldn't catch what they'd said and they were willing to repeat and explain it again to me. The room and the bathroom are clean. The bed is also more comfortable than I thought, so it made me don't want to get out off the bed in the morning. :) I chose the lady room to stay and I feel free to stay in this room.

But, the thing I don't like a little bit is the hostel is located in Little India and a bit far from MRT (at least 400m for walking). I had been shopping too much and I had to carry all my shopping bags from Ochard Road to this place. :(

Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
3  Thank Lalita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

A great place to stay ,when you are on a Singapore trip.Nice location,especially for south Indians who may strive for Idli,dosa ,sambar.All sorts of restaurants are close to this.
This one is a clean,elegant professional set up,which runs miles ahead of many hostels we have stayed in Europe,Thailand,Hongkong,Malysia.
Rooms were well kept,secured with key card access.
We stayed in a mixed dormittory of six beds.We enjoyed our stay ,the complimentary breakfast they serve was good enough to keep us going.
Kudos to the staff,they were ever ready to help with a pleasing smile.Mr.Mervin ,desk staff,deserves a special mention.

Room Tip: go to the blogs,discuss with ur friends.start preperations atleast 4 months bfore ur travel date
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MohanPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I've been to a ton of hostels across Europe & Asia, and this one really knocks it out of the park. The great mattresses, fluffy blankets, 2 REAL pillows, and to top it off, everything is white. Key card access to rooms and the women's restroom is in a separate area from the men's so I found it great for me as a lady traveling solo. Incredibly friendly service, and fast internet in rooms too.

Only downside is that it's 10min from the MRT, but it's in the same vicinity as Wanderlust (w/fancy brunch), a few british pubs, and a smattering of other hostels that don't look as nice.

They have outlet converters for rent, but don't forget to bring your own lock for the lockers! You can usually find them at the airport..

Room Tip: Ladies only dorm is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Footprints Hostel
Footprints Hostel
#58 of 235 in Singapore
301 reviews
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#26 of 235 in Singapore
499 reviews
The Hive Singapore Hostel
#39 of 235 in Singapore
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Rucksack Inn @ Lavender
#15 of 235 in Singapore
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Singapore

Been to Bunc Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunc Hostel

Address: 15 Upper Weld Road Bunc Hostel, Singapore 207372, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 235 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: $29 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bunc Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bunc Hostel is a brand-new 233-bed, 3-storey hostel strategically located at Upper Weld Road, within the culturally rich Little India Historical District in Singapore. Founded by enthusiasts long smitten with the charm behind the concept of a hostel stay, Bunc is the re-imagination of the Singapore hostel, a vision brought to life by carefully refining and reassembling the essential elements of a hostel. To make your stay a pleasant one, we offer full air-conditioning, complimentary Wi-fi, kitchenette facilities, recreation rooms with gaming facilities, an outdoor tanning deck, commercial washer-dryers, a ladies-only floor and most of all our custom made, roomy Bunc beds that maximizes personal space and privacy. Bunc beds come in two sizes: Singles and Deluxes. A deluxe Bunc bed is twice the size of the full-sized single, and is able to accommodate two people spaciously. Each Bunc bed is luxuriously appointed with duvet covers and plush pillows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Agoda, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Bunc Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bunc Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing