We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 STAR HOSTEL EXPERIENCE”
Review of Bunc Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bunc Hostel
Reviewed 28 April 2012

When I first stepped into Bunc Hostel, I thought it was a hotel at first because of the excellent interior design and cleanliness. The Bunc staff were very friendly, the beds were super comfy and I highly recommend anyone looking for a good backpacker hostel to stay at Bunc Hostel!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a small sofa inside, its more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

422 - 426 of 544 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2012

This was my first experience in a hostel & it was a very good one. I stayed in a very well apointed private room ( wish they had more than 2 private rooms ) Adrian the main dude @ bunc really friendly & helpful another person i must mention is this girl called winnie who was very helpful at the front desk. When u walk in u feel u have entered this chic cozy boutique hotel...
it's a happy well appointed place with happy staff, cozy chillout fun room with x box etc, a fancy common kitchen & a beautiful deck.
There is this really good Thai street restaurant right behind which is a must try, it's open till late....& a very conveniently located 7 eleven right next door.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CNCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Searching for a cheap and still comfortable and clean place? Than Bunc is the place to be! The common area is really modern, with public wifi, and the place where the breakfast is served. The stuff is really really nice and makes you feel welcome!
The dorms are large and clean, but if you have a snoring guest this is really annoying, as there is no way to escape. :-( The bathrooms are absolutely clean and just newly built. Breakfast is included. You can choose between coffee/tea/juice + bread and cereal.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StudentenkussHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stayed a couple of nights at Bunc. It is quite new. I love the fact that the toilets are clean!!! The shower stalls were also impeccably clean. Breakfast is not very good, very little choices but there are many other easy options around the area anyway. You have an option for a single or double bed. The extra space is great for a single traveller or couples.

I recommend staying in rooms at the second floor. The ladies' bathrooms have seats in front of the mirror there.

The location is good, just around a 15 minute walk away from Bugis Station, about 10 minutes from Bussorah Street and very near Little India.

The staff were different. Some couldn't be bothered to even greet us when we came in after walking around in the rain (forgot to bring umbrellas), others are just accommodating and nice. So I guess it depends on what time you come in and who in the staff you encounter.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are better as the toilets there are also better than the first floor. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sleepyinsomniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Hi Sleepy,
Thank you so much for staying with us.

We apologize for the lack of attention from our staff at that moment.
We hope it won't stop you from visiting us soon.
See ya.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

My friend and I spent four nights at Bunc and enjoyed every minute. The staff, Hanafee and Winnie were friendly and welcoming from the minute we walked in -- they even took us out to show us the town and try some great Singapore food. The entire place was spotless. The cleaning staff was friendly and did a great job keeping the place sparkling. I especially noticed how clean the bathrooms were. The rooms were quiet and kept at a comfortable temperature. I can not say enough great things about Bunc. I will definitely stay again! Just note its about a ten minute walk to a metro.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy2684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eewm, Owner at Bunc Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Hi Amy,
Thanks heaps for your review!
We are really glad you liked us and the hard work the Bunc team has put in.
Hope you had a great time at Lau pa Sat with us..the next time you come back to Singapore,we will introduce you to more intresting local hangouts.

Love,
The Bunc Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Footprints Hostel
Footprints Hostel
#59 of 244 in Singapore
304 reviews
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#31 of 244 in Singapore
510 reviews
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hive Singapore Hostel
#42 of 244 in Singapore
409 reviews
New Society Backpackers' Hotel
#137 of 244 in Singapore
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunc Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunc Hostel

Address: 15 Upper Weld Road Bunc Hostel, Singapore 207372, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 244 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: $25 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bunc Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bunc Hostel is a brand-new 233-bed, 3-storey hostel strategically located at Upper Weld Road, within the culturally rich Little India Historical District in Singapore. Founded by enthusiasts long smitten with the charm behind the concept of a hostel stay, Bunc is the re-imagination of the Singapore hostel, a vision brought to life by carefully refining and reassembling the essential elements of a hostel. To make your stay a pleasant one, we offer full air-conditioning, complimentary Wi-fi, kitchenette facilities, recreation rooms with gaming facilities, an outdoor tanning deck, commercial washer-dryers, a ladies-only floor and most of all our custom made, roomy Bunc beds that maximizes personal space and privacy. Bunc beds come in two sizes: Singles and Deluxes. A deluxe Bunc bed is twice the size of the full-sized single, and is able to accommodate two people spaciously. Each Bunc bed is luxuriously appointed with duvet covers and plush pillows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bunc Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bunc Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing