We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Convenient to the MRT and Chinatown”
Review of Orchid Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Orchid Hotel
Ranked #81 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Location, Convenient to the MRT and Chinatown”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Hotel was gorgeous! Outstanding breakfast buffet included. Very helpful staff, great gym and a beautiful clean pool. Everything perfect, I can't believe I only paid 65$ per/night!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Billrybak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    192
    89
    13
    5
See reviews for
95
95
31
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2012

It's situated at a good location, very accessible with train station so nearby and there are many good food available nearby which are operated till very late. Ate at a korean restaurant superK along tanjong pagar rd, they served very good Bbq food. After dinner went to fluffy dessert for dessert and they serve very nice snow ice with fruits. Perfect for me as the weather in sg is very hot! Head back to orchid hotel just walking distance. Enjoyed my stay here!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennnnnnnnnnnifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I would have given this hotel a "very good" rating if it wasn't for one small but crucial thing: nobody picked up the phone. Trying to minimise roaming expenses, my husband tried calling me on the land line on numerous occasions only to listen to the phone either ring out, or to be diverted to a voice mail that said "Sorry, but this line is currently not available" (!!!). Yes, that was their main outside phone line. When he finally was able to get someone (and he wasn't always lucky I might add), when he asked to speak to me he was told that a person with that name wasn't staying in the hotel. Only when he gave my room number was he finally put through. But even when I tried to ring the front desk from my room, it simply rang out. When I told the front desk (in person), they didn't seem too concerned.

How can you get something so incredibly simple, but equally vital, so wrong?

The location is great, the rooms are big (albeit with very old fashioned deco), the pool is beautiful. But if they can't answer the phone, I won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HK_G_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This hotel is ideally located. Close to the Maxwell foodcourt and to Chinatown.
The room was big and nice. Pretty big bathroom with a nice view on the buildings. Furniture is very strandard and does not have a lot of style. Pretty much the same kind of stuff you would find in every hotel of the world.
Breakfast is ok, the choicie is broad enough.
Nice pool located in front of the restaurant so that everyone can watch you swimming !
Wifi works well.

Staff is ok but does not speak very well english. But they do work well.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chica b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Stayed in this hotel mid-March 2012 for 5 days. Although I had read mostly excellent reviews about it, the staff didn’t make a good first impression. I contacted the hotel on 2 occasions (via the Agoda booking form as well as via email) prior to my arrival with an early check-in request (seeing that I would be on a 13 hour flight), but didn’t receive a response within the first two weeks. It was only after calling them, that I received a reply, in which they noted that early check-in is subject to room availability and that I could ensure that my room was available by booking the night before against the full daily rate. Although I can understand that this might be hotel policy, I found it hard to believe that all 254 deluxe rooms would have been booked, so I decided to take my chances. I arrived in the hotel around 7am and was indeed told that my room wasn’t ready yet and that I had to wait in the lobby. The reception staff apologized for the inconvenience and offered me free bottled water. It was only until around 10 am however, that they were able to check me-in, and this was only because I insisted that a room should be available now as I had just seen someone check out 15 min before.
It’s also good to know, that they ask for a 50SGD guarantee on your credit card. This is just in case you use something from the minibar (which was only stocked with Tiger beer, coca cola and sprite I might add). Although there are two free bottles of mineral water in the room (restocked daily).
Finally in my room, I noticed that I had accidentally left behind my camera. The good thing was that the manager handled this issue swiftly and efficiently. As it turns out, I had left behind my camera in the elevator and the manager returned it to me himself within less than 10 min.
My room (1513) was clean, big and spacious with a light décor. The bathroom only had a shower, but was very clean and extremely spacious as well, with great water pressure and an adjustable showerhead. The room also had a very beautiful skyline view over Singapore. Housekeeping did an excellent job. Every time I went out and switched on the please make up room button, the room was swiftly cleaned and toiletries were fully restocked when I got back in
I had booked a deluxe room promo with free wifi. I was able to go online, but the connection seemed excruciatingly slow during, what may have been, certain peak hours.

There’s a small gym, sauna and swimming pool on the 3rd floor, which are all open from 7am-9pm, which I thought was a definite plus. There’s also a restaurant/ café on the third floor, which offers an American as well as Continental breakfast, against reasonable prices (around 17 SGD).
Another pro is the excellent location, within a 5 min walking distance from Tanjong Pagar MRT and several shops (incl. 7-eleven, supermarket and a small fruit market).
The staff effiency/service can really be improved on though.
I had booked a day tour with an 8 am pickup. Having waited 10 min. in my room, I decided to go down to the lobby and inform the reception desk that I was expecting someone from a tour agency. It was only then that they informed me that the driver was already waiting outside! A call to my room would have been nice though.
All in all, I would rate this hotel as average. They have got a lot going for them, but at the same time there is definitely room for improvement. I did like the nice atmosphere. I really got the feeling that they respected my privacy (staff was very friendly without being too pushy).

Room Tip: request a room on a higher floor, for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MLR84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Amara Singapore Hotel
#75 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsett Singapore
#86 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#52 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
M Hotel Singapore
#78 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Hotel

Property: Orchid Hotel
Address: 1 Tras Link, Singapore, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price range (per night): $160 - $349
Hotel Class:4 star — Orchid Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing