We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good, but room for improvement” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orchid Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Orchid Hotel
Ranked #97 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good, but room for improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Stayed in this hotel mid-March 2012 for 5 days. Although I had read mostly excellent reviews about it, the staff didn’t make a good first impression. I contacted the hotel on 2 occasions (via the Agoda booking form as well as via email) prior to my arrival with an early check-in request (seeing that I would be on a 13 hour flight), but didn’t receive a response within the first two weeks. It was only after calling them, that I received a reply, in which they noted that early check-in is subject to room availability and that I could ensure that my room was available by booking the night before against the full daily rate. Although I can understand that this might be hotel policy, I found it hard to believe that all 254 deluxe rooms would have been booked, so I decided to take my chances. I arrived in the hotel around 7am and was indeed told that my room wasn’t ready yet and that I had to wait in the lobby. The reception staff apologized for the inconvenience and offered me free bottled water. It was only until around 10 am however, that they were able to check me-in, and this was only because I insisted that a room should be available now as I had just seen someone check out 15 min before.
It’s also good to know, that they ask for a 50SGD guarantee on your credit card. This is just in case you use something from the minibar (which was only stocked with Tiger beer, coca cola and sprite I might add). Although there are two free bottles of mineral water in the room (restocked daily).
Finally in my room, I noticed that I had accidentally left behind my camera. The good thing was that the manager handled this issue swiftly and efficiently. As it turns out, I had left behind my camera in the elevator and the manager returned it to me himself within less than 10 min.
My room (1513) was clean, big and spacious with a light décor. The bathroom only had a shower, but was very clean and extremely spacious as well, with great water pressure and an adjustable showerhead. The room also had a very beautiful skyline view over Singapore. Housekeeping did an excellent job. Every time I went out and switched on the please make up room button, the room was swiftly cleaned and toiletries were fully restocked when I got back in
I had booked a deluxe room promo with free wifi. I was able to go online, but the connection seemed excruciatingly slow during, what may have been, certain peak hours.

There’s a small gym, sauna and swimming pool on the 3rd floor, which are all open from 7am-9pm, which I thought was a definite plus. There’s also a restaurant/ café on the third floor, which offers an American as well as Continental breakfast, against reasonable prices (around 17 SGD).
Another pro is the excellent location, within a 5 min walking distance from Tanjong Pagar MRT and several shops (incl. 7-eleven, supermarket and a small fruit market).
The staff effiency/service can really be improved on though.
I had booked a day tour with an 8 am pickup. Having waited 10 min. in my room, I decided to go down to the lobby and inform the reception desk that I was expecting someone from a tour agency. It was only then that they informed me that the driver was already waiting outside! A call to my room would have been nice though.
All in all, I would rate this hotel as average. They have got a lot going for them, but at the same time there is definitely room for improvement. I did like the nice atmosphere. I really got the feeling that they respected my privacy (staff was very friendly without being too pushy).

Room Tip: request a room on a higher floor, for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MLR84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    171
    85
    13
    5
See reviews for
83
86
24
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

All the previous comments about the hotel are true, good value, large room, clean and convenient but the wall is thin, if your neighbor is loud you could hear their conversation as most of the rooms are connecting. Stayed there three nights, on the second night was awaken at 1:30 am by my neighbor who just checked in. Luckily they checked out the next day. BTW, asked for a bottle opener on the third night and been told they do not have any despite there is an in-house restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a non connecting room (limited quantity on each floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJFORFUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

The Orchid hotel is a new hotel in the Tajong Pagar area. The rooms are big, the bathroom a delight and the bed & pillows so comfortable. The hotel is across the road from markets, hawker food stalls, restaurants and shops. Less than 100 metres away is the entrance to the MRT station and from there Singapore is accessible. A very easy walk to Chinatown. Combined a business trip with a few leisure nights and had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarTraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

The Orchid is right on Tajong Pagar MRT station which provides easy access throughout Singapore and and a one, easy change link to Changi Airport.

The staff are very professional and rooms are spacious,well-appointed and decorated.Singapore can be expensive for hotel accomodation and I believe the Orchid represents very commendable value for money.There is a swimming pool,sauna and small gym on the 3rd floor.

Chinatown is only a few minutes walk away and downtown a short trip away by MRT.Get yourself a NETS card and explore the city.

The justly famous Maxwell Food Centre is a stroll up the street and if local food at super prices is high on your list,as it always is on mine - The Orchid may be just the hotel you are looking for.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Crooked Nose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Unexpected from the simple lobby outlook, the rooms were excellent and real value for money. Location is great too. Would recommend as hotel is new, everything is perfectly in good working condition.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunderaj N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Amara Singapore Hotel
#77 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#55 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Dorsett Singapore
#85 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Furama City Centre
#47 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Hotel

Property: Orchid Hotel
Address: 1 Tras Link, Singapore, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price range (per night): $158 - $307
Hotel Class:4 star — Orchid Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing