We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low cost hotel with poor service”
Review of V Hotel Lavender

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
V Hotel Lavender
Ranked #152 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We started off badly - I wasn't informed that I had to pay all my nights in advance (something that UK budget hotels tend to do, by the way) and the little cheesy sign telling me there were no refunds right at the counter had me concerned.

As others have said - the rooms are just too small, poorly decorated, there are too many of them and the lobby and elevator areas feel like a low cost airport. I don't care how many pretty pictures they have on the website, there are just too many people in the hotel and you are constantly surrounded by crowds. This place is a budget tourist hotel on a massive scale.

The staff are trained to make sure the business runs smoothly - but they have no training in how to make a visitor feel valued. "You realize you have to pay for that..." That sort of non-sense and nothing like what any kind of "luxury" hotel would do. And, although it's not their fault, everyone running the front desk are rather young and are not too smooth with English. No one was ever rude to me, but I got the feeling I was working with a budget car rental office when talking to them. This is sad considering Southeast Asia and Singapore in particular have such a great standard of fine customer service.

So, why did I and do people stay here? It's less than a year old and the price is low. I was there for 10 nights and after 5 nights upgraded to a Premier room. My colleague complained upon check in and was not charged all nights in advance and he left after 5 days to another hotel.

Although nothing terribly unacceptable happened, I cannot recommend this hotel and won't stay there again.

Room Tip: Get the Premier room - it at least has an easy chair in it and a view of the ICA building and not th...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamesKantor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,700)
There are newer reviews for V Hotel Lavender
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,536 - 2,540 of 3,700 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2012

Newish hotel on top of lavender mrt station, which makes it quite convenient. few convenience stores within 2 min walk and also a food court underneath beside the mrt station.

rooms are done in a dark colour, so might appear even smaller than they are. Probably worth it to get the bigger room if they don't want too much extra for the night's you're looking for, and if there's more than one of you. Bathrooms are clean but tiny, and only come with bare amenties and 2 bath towels.

Wouldn't call this a luxury hotel, so keep your expectations in check. Staff is hit or miss depending on who you talk to, but good location, clean rooms, and easy to get a taxi or mrt to whereever you're going.

Room Tip: pay the extra for a bigger room, especially on top floor as it'll be much quieter.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exakatakaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

The room was clean but we felt that there should have been more basic essentials. We were only provided with two bath towels. No face or hand towels and no soap. We had to purchase our own soap at a convenience store. Ice is not provided and had to be purchased outside as well. Although the room was clean, I would not recommend this facility to others. The elevators are extremely slow and very stuffy due to the humidity of Singapore.

Room Tip: Singapore has an excellent subway system and your only a half block away from the subway system. (L...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

The things that stands out about the V hotel is that a) it is superbly located above Lavender MRT and b) is comparatively new and hence feels nice. we had a superior room and it had just enough space for the bed.... that's about it. so the only thing that you could do in the room was to go and sleep. with a 2 year old hyperactive baby with us, sleeping was the best choice. The bathroom is very small and lacks ventilation - so be sure to have a foggy room post a shower.
The MRT station is right below the hotel and that makes travel across singapore a breeze. Moreover, there was a convenience store, a 24 hr Kopitian [food court] and a number of bakeries near the hotel that provide multiple food options - good choices to catch a satisfying breakfast.
In a world of free Wifi - the hotel charges 10SGD for a 24 hr connection; avoid.
The reception is always crowded with people checking in or checking out. the checkin can be quick or painful depending on the crowd there when you arrive. But overall a decent choice for a quick stay in singapore.

the pool is awesome and the gym overlooks the pool with

Room Tip: take up rooms away from the elevators. the ones close to the elevators are noisy.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Arnab D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Rooms are Tiny and overprized. Location is not very Central so you Need to take subway to all sights. Avoid hotels Wifi. It is not working well, people sat with laptops in the hallways to get wifi reception. Wifi is 10 SGD for 24 hours at the hotel. If you just need connection for iphone/ipad Go to the Kiosk just around the corner of the hotel and get a Local Singtel Simcard instead. Costs 15 SGD and you can get a 7 Day package with 3GB data at 8 SGD. This can be deducted from the 15 SGD balance you get with the SIM card.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shipping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel Boss
#148 of 316 in Singapore
1,736 reviews
V Hotel Bencoolen
#159 of 316 in Singapore
1,334 reviews
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#66 of 316 in Singapore
6,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel G Singapore
#69 of 316 in Singapore
793 reviews
Kampong Glam
Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
Aqueen Hotel Lavender
#157 of 316 in Singapore
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Singapore

Been to V Hotel Lavender? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about V Hotel Lavender

Address: 70 Jellicoe Road, Singapore 208767, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $123 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — V Hotel Lavender 3.5*
Number of rooms: 888
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
V Hotel Lavender is an exciting new hotel located just above Lavender MRT station with direct access (via MRT/tube/subway) to/from the airport and various parts of Singapore (for instance, only stops to City Hall or Promenade Station). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotelopia and Cancelon so you can book your V Hotel Lavender reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
V Hotel Lavender Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing