We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just not up to par for Singapore”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Regis Singapore
Ranked #64 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I have been coming to Singapore on business for about 10 years and have tried many hotels. I am what you would call an easy client, but this one is really taking its clients for granted.

the location is good and the common areas are nice, but...

- rooms are tiny. For the same price as a 25sqm room at the Novotel or similar hotels in the area, you get a rat hole with the closet in the bathroom because they had nowhere else to put it...

- my room is at the corner of the building (a long long walk from the elevator...) and the window from the room next door looks right into my room!!! talk about privacy! so you have the choice between letting your neighbours look into your room, or deprive yourself of any sunshine and a pool view that would otherwise be quite nice.

- when I decided to stay in one evening and watch some TV...I had the choice between Chinese channels, sports channels and kids channels (and the usual dozen news channels...) but no good HBO-like channels, or axn, etc...18 channels when every other hotel in town carries between 60 and a hundred...seriously, is it 1985?

- oh and that is the only hotel in town that's asked me for 1,200 dollars in deposit!! that's right, about 30% over my expected bill...

seriously, in some places i would stay "go ahead, it is not that bad" but in a town like Singapore, it is very disappointing. You can get either the same for about half the price, or twice as good for the same price!!!

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pbelliard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
park_regis2011, General Manager at Park Regis Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Dear pbelliard,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us.

We have taken note on your feedback. With regards to the guestroom and bathroom, we acknowledged that the design and style of each hotel can be a subjective matter of taste. We are sorry that our guestroom and bathroom were not to your expectations.

We would like to seek your kind understanding for the deposit (in the form of cash deposit or credit card pre-authorisation) as a form of security upon registration for potential expenses that may be incurred within the hotel during your stay. However, this holding amount is not an actual charge unless expenses were actually incurred.

Your feedback on the variety of the in-room television channels is greatly appreciated and will be reviewed as we strive to improve our service quality and facilities to allow us to continually monitor our guest’s requirements.

We certainly hope to welcome you back to Park Regis Singapore soon and have the opportunity to be of service to you again.

Best Regards,
Jason Dowd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,764)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,166 - 3,170 of 3,764 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2012

Stayed in Singapore for a quick business trip. Normally stay in a different part of town but as this was organized on my behalf I was pleasantly suprised. Taxi fare from the airport was approximately S$25 which I didn't think was too bad. Check in was quick and efficient which was perfect after an 8 hour flight. Room was an interesting configuration which wasn't a problem as a solo business traveller. The location was perfect with its close proximity to Clark and Boat Quays. Also, approx 30-40 minute walk to Bugis Street. Breakfast was OK, small sampling of Asian food with the normal bacon, eggs etc. Would have enjoyed more Asian dishes. Only annoyance was a S$30 for 24 hour Internet charge. I would happily stay here again but next time bring a swimming costume as the pool looked extremely inviting.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silent_P62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
park_regis2011, General Manager at Park Regis Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Dear Silent_P62,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are delighted to know you appreciate our prime location and have found our service to be delightful.

We have noted your feedback about the selection of breakfast items and this will definitely be shared with our F&B department to look into it and your comment about the Internet charge will also be reviewed.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Park Regis Singapore soon.

Best Regards,
Jason Dowd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights recently. Was in one of Merchant Quay rooms with direct access va patio doors to pool area.

pluses
- New hotel so fixtures and fittings are of excellent standard
- Gym - pretty good levels of equipments plus trainers if you are really serious
- Outdoor pool very nice. Large. With loungers
- Location - Clarke Quay MRT across the road

minuses
- As others say, rooms are small. Even the so-called premium rooms
- Extortionate charge for wifi. Come on this is 2012. Wifi is a 'hygiene' factor these days and should not be subject to extra charges

Overall. Very good. In fact, I am booked back in next week. So I am a repeat buyer :)

Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank tedtheredUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
park_regis2011, General Manager at Park Regis Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Dear tedtheredUk,

Thank you for your valuable feedback from your recent stay.

It is heartwarming to learn that you appreciate our convenient location and facilities. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and your comment about complimentary wireless Internet access will be reviewed.

We are delighted to welcome you back to Park Regis Singapore and we hope to exceed your expectations and be your preferred hotel each time you visit Singapore.

Best Regards,
Jason Dowd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I've been to this hotel once, and I can say it's perfect both for business and for tourism since it's right behind the singapore river where all the restaurants and the promenade are.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dalmata22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I really wish this hotel had worked out since it's in a great location and well priced compared to other hotels in Singapore. We didn't end up staying here because of how inflexible they were with changing our reservation. Unfortunately our flight was delayed so we were scheduled to arrive in Singapore a day later than expected. I booked through Orbitz and had their manager speak to several people at the Park Regis, none of them were willing to change the date of my reservation (with more than 24 hours notice). I wasn't even trying to cancel, all I wanted to do was change the date. Considering the amount of travelers that probably get delayed when flying into Singapore, I am surprised that this hotel has such a poor change policy.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank AnnaRachaelS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
park_regis2011, General Manager at Park Regis Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Dear AnnaRachaelS,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback.

First and foremost, we would like to sincerely apologise for this unfortunate incident. The hotel has a cancellation and amendment policy of 48 hours prior to the arrival date and on a case on case basis, we do allow room for flexibility if the hotel is able to re-sell the room when the notice given to the hotel is less than the stipulated timeframe. However, the hotel was informed by the online travel agent about the change of reservation date with less than 24 hours’ notice.

Once again, please accept our apologises for any inconvenience this might have caused and we do hope to have you stay with us in the near future.

Best Regards,
Jason Dowd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#56 of 319 in Singapore
4,373 reviews
The Quays
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#10 of 319 in Singapore
1,277 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#66 of 319 in Singapore
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Singapore

Been to Park Regis Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Regis Singapore

Address: 23 Merchant Road, Singapore 058268, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#35 Family Hotel in Singapore
#41 Business Hotel in Singapore
#59 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $182 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Regis Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located next to Singapore’s most vibrant entertainment hub, Clarke Quay, Boat Quay and Chinatown, Park Regis Singapore is within easy access to major tourist attractions as well as the Central Business District. A fully Wi-Fi enabled hotel, featuring 202 modernly designed open-concept guestrooms enhanced with upgraded bedding amenities, an all-day dining restaurant, a Chinese restaurant, pillarless meeting room, well-equipped gym and an impressive 25-metre swimming pool with cascading waterfall. Catering to savvy travellers, handy phone with free mobile internet and IDD calls are available to all guests. The hotel provides all the facilities that you need to complete your stay experience such as e-scooter and bicycle rental service for guests to explore the surroundings, self-service laundromat, and a Bondi book corner for guests reading pleasure. Park Regis Singapore is an ideal destination to meet, stay and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Regis Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Regis Singapore Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing