We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,577)
Filter reviews
1,577 results
Traveller rating
887
442
144
52
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
887
442
144
52
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glass house deluxe garden room battle box colonial building orchard road bustling city high tech nespresso machine dhoby ghaut mrt beautiful hotel complimentary drinks clarke quay boutique hotel national museum plaza singapura evening drinks quiet location
Filter
Updating list...
540 - 545 of 1,577 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2016

My partner and I stayed at the hotel after a cruise for 5 days. We were attracted by the location and that the hotel was small in comparison to other hotels we were looking at. the pools were the best pools I have ever swam in. They were clear and refreshing and most of the time I was the only one in them. We stayed from Tuesday to Saturday and were well looked after by the staff. The Hotel was much busier leading up to the weekends due to the weeding industry. The registers office is just down the hill.

The hotel was walking distance to all the great shopping Singapore has to offer and we usually walked down the hill and taxi back to the hotel. The park is great and i used this daily for walking and running. Just a note run early in the morning or after the sun goes down as it is very hot during the day.

Happy hour was a great feature and very relaxed with a guest only lounge and a help yourself bar. We arrived at 1000am as our cruise ship was having an overhaul so off the boat earlier than expected. We were able to check in at 1000am as our room was ready and we were greatly appreciative of this. Then room was small for a 5 star hotel but we loved it. The ensuite was a little unusual as it was built into the old veranda that was part of the original barracks. A view from the loo! Overall we cannot fault our stay. I will be staying there again when I am next in Singapore.

Room Tip: The pools are very clean and great to dip your toes in after a day of shopping.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandn157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HFCManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

Dear Mandn157,

Greetings from Hotel Fort Canning.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and taking the time to share your experience with us.

As the only hotel in Singapore to be nestled amongst 18 hectares of lush national parkland in the heart of the city, we are privileged to share our unique and historic surroundings with our valued guests such as yourself.
We are thrilled to hear you had found time for a dip in our chemical & chlorine-free mineral pools which are purified with NASA technology, and mingle with other travellers for complimentary wines and canapes during Aperitif Hour.

We are glad to have been able to delight you and make your stay with us so memorable.
It has been a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to your swift return soon.

At your service we remain.

Best wishes,

Abigail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016

We love Singapore and regularly travel from Aus for quick relaxing getaways.
This time we wanted to spend a little more on accomodation and chose Hotel Fort Canning. Great rooms, beautiful setting in the park, excellent pools - and complimentary drinks between 1800 - 1900. All perfect except the first morning we were woken up at 0500 by the noisiest television next door. It didn't stop. Unsure whether our room had the ability to become an adjoining room I don't know, but when you can theoretically inform the Americans in the next room about whether it's worth going to the river safari because you CAN HEAR EVERYTHING they're saying its pretty frustrating and incredibly annoying.
Staff are nice and friendly - mrt station Dhoby Gaut is close by... Be prepared to conquer all the stairs to get there and back !

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HFCManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2016

Dear L L,

Greetings from Hotel Fort Canning.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and taking the time to share your experience with us.

As the only hotel in Singapore to be nestled amongst 18 hectares of historic national parkland in the heart of the city, we are privileged to share our unique surroundings with our valued guests such as yourself.

We are glad to hear you had enjoyed your room which was styled by the award-winning DP Architects, and found time to join fellow travellers for complimentary wines and canapés during Aperitif Hour.

We apologise to hear about your encounter with the guests next door.
Our Front Office is available 24 hours and would have seen to assist you with immediacy had they been made aware of this issue.

Thank you for your kind compliments for our team members, we will be sure to share this with them as motivation while we continue our strive to improve our hospitality standards.
It has been our pleasure having you and we look forward to your return soon.

At your service we remain.

Best wishes,

Abigail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We spent one week in Singapore and stayed at Fort Canning.
Beautiful rooms, spacious, and full of light. Breakfast was included and they had a good variety of food. Service was exceptional.
One caveat: the hotel is up on a hill, and there is no good way of getting public transportation. You have to walk down the winding hill or take a bunch of stairs, then walk to the nearest metro. Since it is located inside the park, you also cannot just walk out for a cup of coffee or shopping.
Taxis are everywhere and relatively cheap, so if you don't want to walk, and you are ok waiting for one, it's reasonable to use taxis.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuansterDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HFCManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

Dear QuansterDallas,

Greetings from Hotel Fort Canning.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and taking the time to share your experience with us.

As the only hotel in Singapore to be nestled amongst 8 hectares of national parkland in the heart of the city, we are deeply privileged to share our unique and tranquil surroundings with our valued guests such as you and your family.
We are thrilled to hear of your delight with your room which was styled by the award-winning DP Architects with features such as our signature picture window design, and deep bath tub.

Thank you for your kind compliments for the breakfast spread at The Salon and for our team members; we will be sure to share them with our Executive Chef, his culinary team and our team members.
It has been a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to your return soon.

At your service we remain.

Best wishes,

Abigail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Amazing hotel surrounds by huge green garden, it looks even more enchanting on little hill top in the mid of city centre. Cafe offers good value high tea set $25/pax or simply chill out with wine or draft beer at 1-for-1.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank lsg181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HFCManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

Dear lsg181,

Greetings from Hotel Fort Canning.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and taking the time to share your experience.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our lush tranquil surroundings in the heart of the city and that you’d found time to enjoy the Hi-Tea in the Park and 1-for-1 offers at Tisettanta Lounge.

It has been a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to your return soon.
At your service we remain.

Best wishes,

Abigail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Room and facilities spotless, staff friendly and efficient, food was wonderful - would stay there again tomorrow - setting was in the fort gardens extremely peaceful close to bus, train and taxi less than $5 to centre of town.

Room Tip: I don't normally do 'base' rooms but in this case it was really good.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cath S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HFCManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Dear Cath S,

Greetings from Hotel Fort Canning.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are thrilled to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us, and the lush tranquillity of our unique location – nestled amid 18 hectares of national parkland in the heart of the city.
Thank you for your kind compliments for the food at The Salon and our team members.

We are privileged to have been able to delight you so during your stay and look forward to your return soon.

At your service we remain.

Best wishes,

Abigail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews