We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location was good, liked the pools, breakfast was not fantastic”
Review of Hotel Fort Canning

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Fort Canning
Ranked #33 of 315 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Location was good, liked the pools, breakfast was not fantastic”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed in a Deluxe Garden Room from 10 - 12 Feb 12. It was a rather average sized for a couple but really tiny for our family as we have two young children (5 year old and 3 year old) with us. The fact that there was a bath tub in the room (right next to the bed) was cool but it actually took up a lot of our precious room space whenever we were not using it. The room came with a very small and pleasant 'garden' that was nice for reading books/newspapers. However, the garden wasn't really private because the other side of the garden was a common walkway for hotel staff/guests.

Location was good, secluded enough so that we don't feel like we're really in Singapore. But yet it's not too far away from civilization in that it only takes us about 10 - 15 min to walk to Plaza Singapura (up/down several flights of stairs though).

The hotel is currently carrying out a trial on in-room movies and until the trial is finished, movies are free for us to watch. The choice wasn't extensive but my boys found what they liked -- Despicable Me, Shrek Forever, and Megamind etc.

The three pools were smallish but I really liked them because they were ultra clean and not crowded at all. There was a lap pool (1.2m), a main pool (between 0.9m and 1.7m) and a tiny round children's pool (0.4m). The main pool and children's pool are just next to each other while the lap pool is a flight of stairs away.

Breakfast at The Glass House wasn't fantastic. The food selection was not extensive (no nutella!), and the restaurant couldn't cope with the high volume of guests on the second day that we ate there. Granted that the occupancy was unusually high that day, but even then, constantly running out of food was rather bleah.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Janerty

Thank you so much for choosing Hotel Fort Canning as your choice of accommodation in Singapore. We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay with us. It is indeed our pleasure to have had you with us.

Your kind words of praise to the hotel are very much appreciated. The hotel is relatively new; hence, it will take some time for the greens around the private patio of a Deluxe Garden Room to grow really thick. In your next visit, we recommend a Premium Luxe Room which come with a twin sofa bed would be more spacious and comfortable for a family of four.

Your feedback on our breakfast selections and services have since been investigated and highlighted to the department concern for improvement to be made.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comments. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning soon.


Yours sincerely
Leslie Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    652
    363
    110
    43
    45
See reviews for
144
602
66
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Ok first the bad - the hotel is hidden away in a park on a hill, the room smelled a bit of stale air upon arrival and the breakfast could have been better BUT the hotel staff is friendly and engaging, the rooms are beautiful and spacious and they have three pools, although not as large as the pictures on their web site makes them look. The smallest pool is for kids, then their is the freeform and at last the lap pool.

We stayed on the second floor which waas the pool floor so you could put on your swimsuit and dive in, well almost. Since the hotel is located on a hill the views are good and the traffic noice low. The ceiling height in the rooms are close to, if not 4m and our room, the deluxe was good for two. There is lots of storage space. The bathroom has both a walk-in shower and a huge tub.

The location is good eventhough you have to walk about 10 minutes to the closest MRT (through Park Mall) but your close to both Orchard Rd and Clarks Quay. Downtown Singapore is walkable eventhough the heat can get to you.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SushiX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear SushiX

We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay with us. It is indeed our pleasure to have you with us.

Your kind words of praise in your encouraging note are very much appreciated. Once again, thank you for taking time to share your experience with us.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning soon.

Yours sincerely
Leslie Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I'm not sure why some travellers gave such bad review of the room/hotel. It was almost perfect to me and my husband. Service was good, we even got a call from Housekeeping asking if we need any replenishments of amenities since we chose not to have our room house-kept when they went around. Hotel isn't too crowded to make it lose the resort feel. Hotel could have better anticipated the number of guests and made sure there are enough tables and seats for everyone instead of having people queuing to wait for breakfast. Evening free flow of canapes and wine was not worth waiting for. Accesible to MRT and nearest malls are Park Mall and Plaza Singapura. Overall, for the price paid for the quality, it was very worth it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WanderLSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Yvanie

Thank you for choosing Hotel Fort Canning as your choice of accommodation in Singapore. We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay with us. It is indeed our pleasure to have you with us.

Your kind compliments of our service staff are very much appreciated and these will be duly conveyed to them. Indeed, your heartening response and feedback will be shared with all our staff and these will undoubtedly motivate them to strive for even better service for our guests.

Once again, thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning soon.

Yours sincerely
Leslie Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenlyon, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Beautiful restored building with a lot of character. Quiet location in the park. Nice pool area that makes you feel like you are in the middle of the park trees. Friendly and efficient staff. Well appointed rooms with very large bathroom.

Room Tip: City view gives a glimpse of the city, or Park view for a nice tranquil setting
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Judith C

Thank you for choosing Hotel Fort Canning as your choice of accommodation in Singapore. We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay with us. It is indeed our pleasure to have you with us.

Your kind compliments of our service staff are very much appreciated and these will be duly conveyed to them. Indeed, your heartening response and feedback will be shared with all our staff and these will undoubtedly motivate them to strive for even better service for our guests.

Once again, thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning soon.

Yours sincerely
Leslie Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City, Country
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Hotel Fort Canning was everything all the trip advisor reviews said it was. Loved being in the middle of Fort Canning Park but close to MRT and all other attractions. Very friendly staff and food at both restaurants was good. Lovely old colonial building but very trendy inside. Loved our stay at Hotel Fort Canning.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timberhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Timberhead

Dear XXX

Thank you for choosing Hotel Fort Canning as your choice of accommodation in Singapore. We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay with us. It is indeed our pleasure to have you with us.

Your kind compliments of our service staff are very much appreciated and these will be duly conveyed to them. Indeed, your heartening response and feedback will be shared with all our staff and these will undoubtedly motivate them to strive for even better service for our guests.

Once again, thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning soon.

Yours sincerely
Leslie Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
1.1 km away
Naumi Hotel
Naumi Hotel
#16 of 315 in Singapore
2,227 reviews
1.8 km away
SO Sofitel Singapore
SO Sofitel Singapore
#29 of 315 in Singapore
1,626 reviews
0.6 km away
Grand Park City Hall
Grand Park City Hall
#49 of 315 in Singapore
2,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality
1.5 km away
AMOY by Far East Hospitality
1.1 km away
PARKROYAL on Pickering
PARKROYAL on Pickering
#25 of 315 in Singapore
2,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Singapore

Been to Hotel Fort Canning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fort Canning

Property: Hotel Fort Canning
Address: 11 Canning Walk Hotel Fort Caning, Singapore 178881, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#31 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#33 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#36 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price range (per night): $257 - $472
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Fort Canning 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush greenery of a historical park, the heritage Hotel Fort Canning offers a discreet sanctuary of calm in the vibrant city and an epitome of style and modern comfort in each of its 86 guestrooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fort Canning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Canning Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing