We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Young and trendy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wanderlust

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wanderlust
Ranked #95 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Cowansville, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Young and trendy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

We spent only one night there but we had a very nice time ! We had the "Space Room", a little bit more expensive but it was worth it. The room was nothing compared to any other hotel ! We felt like children again: there was a spaceship, a nice egg-chair and black walls with sparkling stars everywhere ! There is a separate area for the toilet and the shower, but the bath is pretty much IN the living room, which we loved ! The coffee machine and complimentary drinks in the fridge were very appreciated. The restaurant and the communal area were great, the included breakfast was very good too. I highly recommend this hotel for the price. The only bad thing I can say is about the location: it's very noisy and not nice for walking, but the hotel is close to public transport so it's not a big problem. Also, because you have to climb very steep stairs to get to the bed, I wouldn't recommend this room for older people.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valérie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Guest Relations Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear GLAMOUROUSVEE,
Warm hellos from the team at Wanderlust!

Thank you for your generous compliments. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
The whimsical lofts were designed exactly with the idea to bring out the child in you. I am pleased that you found pleasure in the amenities provided by the hotel as well as the breakfast spread.

The streets can be a little bustling at night, and we would be glad to offer and assist with a room change if we do have availabilities facing the back lane.

Do request for a different themed room for your next stay so you may experience more of Wanderlust!
We look forward to your return so we may be of service to you once again.

Best regards,
Yan Yi, Lai
Guest Experience Ambassador
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    317
    93
    37
    17
See reviews for
51
431
91
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

Great location. Fantastic breakfast and communal area. Unique and interesting rooms that make you want to stay indoors. The only reason it wasn't amazing is that the staff were nice but didn't seem to want to or actually go out of their way to help you experience Singapore. I would stay there again for the quirky room and location but wouldnt for the service - the latter you would get better from a bigger hotel,

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Guest Relations Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear Steven P,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.
We take our guests' feedback seriously and your feedback has been looked into and addressed with the relevant departments.

I am however glad that you enjoyed the comfort of our hotel rooms and the breakfast spread.

Should your travel plans take you to Singapore again in future, we hope that you would allow us the opportunity to welcome you back and impress you with our commitment to improve.

Best regards,
Yan Yi, Lai
Guest Experience Ambassador
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

Very interesting, quirky boutique hotel in Little India section of Singapore. Great location, near MRT and bus lines. Our room, 2nd floor corner, facing Dickson Road, was a Pantone Deluxe room all in yellow, with a neon sign saying "Yellow Submarine" over the bed. Bed was very comfortable, but a little hard for the person sleeping next to the window to get in and out of because it is set into a raised platform. Looks neat, but hard to navigate. Great breakfast with several menu options. Little India is a gritty neighborhood of Indian shops and restaurants, that really feels like India, with its attendant smells and noises. We never felt threatened walking through the neighborhood at night, although I would advise avoiding some of the dark alleys we passed. The hotel has no pool, just a very shallow jacuzzi which we didn't use. Soft drinks and water in the room's fridge were complimentary - a nice touch when returning from slogging through Singapore's 95% humidity.

The only drawback was the street noise. On Saturday night, the noise level from the several open air restaurants adjoining or facing the hotel was significant. It continued unabated until a 4am thunderstorm chased the crowds home. Sunday night was better, but still rather noisy. Monday night was OK. The problem is that the windows on the 2nd floor do not block out street noise. Also, there is a lot of street construction going on now, which made taking a restorative afternoon nap a challenge. The hotel's management is aware of the problem, and placed a little card in the room offering us a gift to compensate us for the noise. Unfortunately, there was no gift in the room, and we never asked about it.

Room Tip: Don't stay in any of the rooms facing Dickson Road on weekend nights - too noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonardas_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Guest Relations Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear Leonardas_P,
Warm hellos from the team at Wanderlust!

We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us at the hotel as well as what the surrounding area had to offer. The streets can be a little bustling at night, and we would be glad to offer and assist with a room change if we do have availabilities facing the back lane.

Do request for a different themed room for your next stay so you may experience more of Wanderlust!
We look forward to your return so we may be of service to you once again.

Best regards,
Yan Yi, Lai
Guest Experience Ambassador
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Situated in litle india near Bugis underground. It room are small but it is a big bummer that we book the most expensive room and that a bad idea because we have to climb a very steep stair to bed. The bed and pillow are not comfortable, I wake up in the morning with my sore neck and body. Like other comment the room is not quitet at night because the street downstairs.Very nice breakfast, tasty. Overall it is a interesting experience but i would prefer something a bit more normal and functional.

Oh there is no iron and iron board so not good for business traveler at all.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anqueetas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Guest Relations Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear Anqueetas,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.
We are disappointed that did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. Our guests’ ease and comfort is of utmost priority and we are taking measures to do what we can to eradicate/minimize the noise issue you experienced. We take our guests' feedback seriously and your feedback has been looked into and addressed with the relevant departments.

We do recognise that Wanderlust is not for every traveller, and perhaps you'd like to try our sister hotels, New Majestic Hotel or Hotel 1929 in the future.

The streets can be a little bustling at night, and we would be glad to offer and assist with a room change if we do have availabilities facing the back lane. Should your travel plans take you to Singapore once again, we hope that you would allow us the opportunity to welcome you back and impress you with our commitment to improve.

Best regards,
Yan Yi, Lai
Guest Experience Ambassador
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stayed here twice in March and couldn't be happier. First of all, the service is truly exceptional. Everyone who works there was helpful and friendly with anything we ever wanted. Second, the location is great. We are so happy we decided to stay in Little India, I think it's really the best area to stay. There is so much food and culture around there, I wish we could've stayed longer!! Third, we stayed in one of the loft rooms on the fourth floor. The stairs getting to the bed are quite steep so just be aware of that. But we loved our room and found it to be well designed and despite being small, we felt there was ample room for our stuff. All I can say is that we will definitely stay here the next time we are in Singapore!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tizemple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Guest Relations Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear tizemple,
Warm hellos from the team at Wanderlust!

Thank you for your generous compliments.
We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us at the hotel as well as what the surrounding area had to offer. Do request for a different themed room for your next stay so you may experience more of Wanderlust!
Housed in a conservation building, most of our rooms are rather compact and not very big at all. Each level is done by a different local design agency in Singapore, and we are proud to have their works showcased within the hotel.

I am pleased you found the staff to be helpful and friendly.
We look forward to your return so we may be of service to you once again.

Best regards,
Yan Yi, Lai
Guest Experience Ambassador
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
New Majestic Hotel
#90 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#53 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Lloyd's Inn
#50 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#11 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Hotel YAN
#49 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Little India
The Daulat Hotel
The Daulat Hotel
#149 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanderlust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanderlust

Property: Wanderlust
Address: 2 Dickson Road Wanderlust Hotel, Singapore 209494, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#82 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#86 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price range (per night): $133 - $239
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanderlust 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wanderlust in Little India draws madcap, curious voyagers to the old ethnic enclave. Made for guests with a sense of adventure, we invite you to walk the unconventional path where a radical hotel experience awaits.Its history began in the 1920s as the Hong Wen School, where the building at No 2 Dickson Road still retains its old-world charm with an unchanged façade. Situated 10 minutes from the cosmopolitan stretches of Orchard Road and the Central Business District; Wanderlust also offers door step access to a bustling, colourful street life. The four storey boutique hotel has 29 rooms. Just as no 2 rooms are identical, the same can be said for each floor in the hotel. It features the groundbreaking works of award-winning Singapore design agencies. Each agency was given full creative freedom to design an entire level in the hotel, resulting in four, different ‘in-your-face’ themes – ‘Industrial Glam’, ‘Eccentricity’, ‘Is It Just Black and White?‘ and ’Creature Comforts.’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, Odigeo and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Wanderlust reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanderlust Hotel Singapore
Wanderlust Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing