We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Experience, Average Service”
Review of Marina Bay Sands

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marina Bay Sands
Ranked #35 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience, Average Service”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

In total this hotel is an amazing experience - huge rooms, very clean, one of a kind pool. We enjoyed the stay. So our total rating is very good, but still there were a few annoyances. On our next visit we will probably try a different hotel.

The free airport shuttle is nice, but hard to find. There is no sign or staff at the terminal, which told us which of the 50 bus slots is the right one. (Hint: at T2 it is slot 13) The hotel website says the bus goes every 30 minutes, but we waited for 1 hour from 6:30-7:30 am.

The hotel lobby felt like a railway station. Crowds of people at all times of the day. For each visit to the front desk you have to stand in line for 10-15 minutes. There is a separate VIP check-in, which also looked crowded.

We arrived on an early flight, and checked in at 8 am. Official check-in time is 3 pm, so we did not mind the waiting time itself, as there is lots of stuff to do on the grounds. However we were asked to check-back if our room is ready early a couple of times, and each time we had to stand in line 10-15 minutes just to know that the room is not ready. Apparently the huge crowds of people are all check-backers clogging up the lobby. Clearly they could do better organizing this.

The pool is outstanding and makes up for most of the annoyances. However the security staff at the pool area made us feel uneasy - especially around the visitor elevator and the bar at the sky terrace. They looked like doormans at a shady night club. At one time we were bullied because we re-entered the pool through an (left-open) back gate.

We had breakfast at Rise and dinner at Ku De Ta Restaurant. The food was good, but too expensive.

Our dinner at Ku De Ta was one of the worst experiences we ever had. We made an order of 5 dishes a la carte - and within 3 minutes of our order all dishes appeared on our table, even before our toast drinks! We intended to have a dinner spread our over 1-2 hours, and now we sat there with all that apparently pre-cooked food getting cold and waiting for our drinks. The staff was chatting and joking with each other in the restaurant area, we felt like in a school cafeteria. The food was very good, but the portions tiny. We left the restaurant after 30 minutes, hungry and with a hefty bill of 210 USD for 5 small dishes and 2 glasses of wine.

The rooms are remarkable - they are spacious, amazing views, modern interior, huge bathroom, free internet, nice bathrooms toiletries.

The staff was always friendly (except from some of the pool staff), but I found it a bit anonymous for this price point. I would have expected them to make this more personal by addressing us by name and at least bring us to the room.

So bottom line - if you never stayed here, you should go at least once and enjoy the views and the pool. It is a remarkable experience. For drinks and food maybe go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Premier Room with City View
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hitravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aacortes, Senior Vice President - Operations at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear hitravlr, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am disappointed to learn about the challenges you encountered during your recent stay with us which may have marred your otherwise pleasant experience.

With regards to our Airport Shuttle Service, we have concierge services at the Arrival Halls at Terminal 1 and 2 of Changi Airport. I have also shared your feedback regarding the delay in departure with our Transportation Department for their review.

I regret to learn about your experience with our Security Team Members at the SkyPark and I would like to assure you that our Team Members did not mean to offend nor cause our guests any unnecessary inconvenience. Please be assured that I have shared your feedback with our SkyPark management for their review. I will also convey your comments on KU DÉ TA to their management for their review and appropriate action.

I sincerely appreciate your compliments on our friendly Team Members. We are continuously reviewing our processes for improvement and I hope that you and your partner will allow us another opportunity to welcome you both back to Marina Bay Sands in the near future for a more successful stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11,308
    6,000
    2,448
    864
    714
See reviews for
5,597
7,828
963
2,341
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,223)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Philippines
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Definitely a landmark in my Singapore trip. The pool, the view, something to look forward to future SIngapore trips. Booking through your website is okey . -ZC and Mato

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank ZCPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

There are not many halaal places. The place was not built with Muslim tourists in mind.

Mostly expensive stores and food. Nothing really out of the ordinary except for architecture and novelty. Practicing Muslim tourists won't swim at the top either.

I rather stay somewhere that feels like local Singapore with access to the mrt and only go to MBS as a place for taking pictures or shopping if I'm interested. The farrer park area is good as its clean and smack in the centre of Singapore with access to public transport and walking distance to the mustaffa centre and local food which is cheap!

The ArtScience museum is nearby which is nice!

Good photo area.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinuviel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn_Ng, Senior Hotel Manager at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear tinuviel01, thank you for your review. I regret to learn that you did not fully enjoy your recent visit to Marina Bay Sands.

I note your feedback on our Halal dining options and have shared the contents of your feedback with our Executive Chef who will review our Halal food menu in order to improve the dining experience for our Muslim guests.

Currently, we do have some Halal options available to our guests. Hotel guests can order Halal food via the In-room dining option. Lau Di Fang at Rasapura Masters serves Halal Scissors-Cut Padang Rice and Pita Pan, located along the waterfront, is a fully vegetarian Mediterranean restaurant.

Thank you again for your feedback as it is through communication such as yours that we can continue to improve our products and services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at Marina Bay Sands for 2 nights in May 2012. This resort is amazing, from the complimentary pick up at the airport, the features, dinning, facilities and staff are all first class. room service was excellent quality and delivered on time! We were also upgraded to a suite with a view from the longe room, bedroom and bathroom. I do suggest booking a suite, but if you can't manage it, you will enjoy the facilities and service equally from a standard room. Many excellent choices for dinning and entertainment. We were impressed with every aspect of this hotel, and amazed at how well a hotel can operate. We will definitely stay at Marina Bay Sands again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janelle016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aacortes, Senior Vice President - Operations at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review, janelle016. I am thrilled to hear that you and your partner enjoyed your recent stay in one of our Suites and that you had the opportunity to experience some of the multi-dimensional offerings at Marina Bay Sands. I am also delighted that our room service exceeded your expectations.

It is our goal to create once-in-a-lifetime experiences every day for our guests and I look forward to welcoming you and your partner back to stay with us soon for more successful visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

SGD500 a night was well worth it at the Marina Bay Sands. The room was immaculate, the check-in process was impeccable. There was even free Internet access. I have been in other similarly starred hotels to know that they would usually charge a princely sum for a simple amenity, but MBS gave this for free. I especially liked the toiletries.

How I wish that money grew on trees; that way, I could come back to this place each and every time I am in Singapore.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChadwickJinShui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aacortes, Senior Vice President - Operations at Marina Bay Sands, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review, ChadwickJinShui. I am happy to learn that you and your partner enjoyed your recent stay with us. There is no greater satisfaction than receiving kind words from a valued guest. I certainly look forward to welcoming you both back to Marina Bay Sands on your next visit to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
Raffles Hotel Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore
#2 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Bay Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Bay Sands

Property: Marina Bay Sands
Address: 10 Bayfront Avenue, Singapore 018956, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#23 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#29 Family Hotel in Singapore
#30 Business Hotel in Singapore
#35 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price range (per night): $472 - $952
Hotel Class:5 star — Marina Bay Sands 5*
Number of rooms: 2560
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along Marina Bay waterfront with 3 cascading hotel towers, 2,560 rooms, extraordinary Sands Sky Park, floating crystal pavilions, lotus-inspired ArtScience Museum, The Shoppes, Celebrity Chef Restaurants, Theatres and hottest nightclubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marina Bay Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Bay Sands Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay Sands Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing