We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic, homely hostel located centrally in Clarke Quay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fantastic, homely hostel located centrally in Clarke Quay”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I will admit that when we saw the outside of Rucksack Inn on Hong Kong street, we were a little skeptical about what the place would really be like. However we though to ourselves "Well the location is great at least, and we won't even need to spend much time here so it won't matter much if it's not great." But we were wrong with our perceptions, because as soon as you enter the stairwell which will lead you to Rucksack Inn the walls are covered in writing, which were all travellers' comments stating how much they'd enjoyed their time at Rucksack. This gave us a more optimistic idea about what the hostel would be like, and as soon as we entered the facilities, we were not disappointed! Everything is absolutely spick and span, there is free internet, the beds are comfortable, the bathroom facilities are modern and clean. There was no sense of cheapness or 'cutting corners', which is something that we'd partially been expecting after paying such a low price compared to any other accommodation in Singapore!
But seriously, the location is excellent. I returned to Singapore a few weeks later and stayed in Little India but I much preferred my time in Clarke Quay at Rucksack. The MRT is an easy 5 minute walk, Central shopping center is practically across the road, and Boat Quay and Clarke Quay which are buzzing with nightlife are right on your doorstep.
I'm certain that anyone who stays at Rucksack Inn, whether short or long term, will never look back!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matkakucing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    129
    24
    7
    2
See reviews for
51
38
100
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
138 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Dont let looks decieve you. Not even the strairs. Once you enter inside Rucksack Inn 1, you will feel welcome in an instant. It's like an extensiion of your own home.
I feel bad I learbed about this place just now. I wasnt aware that there are better places than the ones I (we) used to spend overnight transits in singapore.
My sleep was amazing. Staff were helpful and attentive.

Room Tip: Book online to get the online rates and book in advance as the beds get filled up especially on publ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mervinmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

The dorm rooms are clean and everyone is very respectul. The common area had a great backpackers atmosphere with modern comfy furniture and several computers with Internet that you can use for free. The staff is helpful and there is also free toast,tea and coffee all day. The location was also close to transit, shopping, restaurants, the waterfront and Chinatown.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moderatetraveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

The location was great. The room was very clean. And they kept the AC running at night so it was cool and dry in the room. The staff was very friendly and helpful. And, yeah, a Singapore Sling at the Long Bar would set you back more than a night's stay at the Rucksack Inn.

The only only inconvenience was that I had a morning flight out of Singapore and had to wake up around 7am. The room is kept pretty dark so it was difficult trying to pack while not waking the others around me. But hey, this comes with the territory of staying in a backpacker's inn.

This is not a place for those who need the privacy that comes with having your own room, but it doesn't try to cater to that crowd. I would definitely recommend this place to my friends backpacker friends!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Botayone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Great location, very near to MRT (Clarke Quay), near to Central (a mall, mostly for eat and dine), near to bus stop with a lot of buses to explore the city and surroundings; to Orchard, Bugis, Funan, City Hall,... you name it! :)
I was staying in Rucksack Inn 2. Very happy staying there although I must have walked quite a lot of stairs to the room :P however, the place was very neat, tidy and full of facilities. TV cable, wifi, towel,... and mostly the toilets. They were clean and looked grand.
I also liked the security system, mostly because I stayed here alone. There would be no strangers could come to the room without the front office noticing. The front door would be closed and could not be opened by the card they gave me after 10pm. You must ring the bell to let them open the door for you.
The guys and the ladies in front office were very helpful and very friendly. Want to enjoy Singapore more practically? Just stay here. You won't regret! :)

Room Tip: If you travel in a group, just choose the dorms. They were great too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gabywhee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#13 of 223 in Singapore
471 reviews
Chinatown
Wink Hostel
Wink Hostel
#7 of 223 in Singapore
674 reviews
Chinatown
The Bohemian Chic Hostel
The Bohemian Chic Hostel
#48 of 223 in Singapore
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Chinatown
5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1
River City Inn
#18 of 223 in Singapore
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown

Property: Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown
Address: 52 Temple Street, Singapore 058597, Singapore (Formerly Beds and Dreams Hostel Temple Street)
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 223 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price range (per night): $24 - $234
Hotel Class:2 star — Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, lastminute.com.au, HostelWorld, Expedia APAC and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rucksack Hotel Singapore
Beds And Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing