We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good basic accommodation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 34

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel 34
Ranked #192 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good basic accommodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

This hotel is a 2-star so I didn't expect any luxury. Anyway, room was large enough with a big bed, a television with DVD player, aircon and internet wireless really working for free.
Room was clean and comfortable. Bathroom quite rundown and shower not working, bu the reception managed local maintenance staff fixed it. Personnel was kind.
I recommend this hotel for short stays like stop-overs if you don't want to spend too much.
Geylang is the so-called "red light district" but I wasn't disturbed at all.

Room Tip: Have a look that everything is working before accepting the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancescoR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    54
    41
    14
    8
See reviews for
20
27
24
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

We Check in late (20.00). The receptionist was very nice and helpful. Room a little bit small but enough for us because we didn't bring large baggage. At the end don't expect too much. It's a tour hotel but two nights stay nothing ill manner happened. Quiet and peaceful. Besides the eateries corner nearby are selling cheap.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stanley John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

Located in Geylang, near the Aljunied rail station, which in turn is between downtown Singapore and Changi Airport, the Santa Grand is outside the zone of skyscraper hotels to be found in much of Singapore. Accommodation in Geylang is much less costly, and, despite the name of the hotel, much less opulent and over-the-top.
The Santa Grand has clean rooms with adequate space, a comfortable bed, and very good shower. The air-conditioning is efficient, without being aggressively cold. The reception staff are very helpful and obliging. No breakfast is available at the hotel. but a couple of 7-11 stores are nearby, as well as a large food court, and for later in the day, some fine restaurants but a few minutes away. A kettle, plus tea/coffee, are provided in the room.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TONY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed here for two nights and I must say that next time in Singapore we will look for somewhere else to stay. The hotel room was ok but the bathroom was very dated. The location was ok but not great - about a 10 min walk to the MRT station. It did have a good working air conditioner.

Before arriving we paid a deposit of the cost of the first night's accommodation. Check-in was fine and we were given our room key. The staff didn't know anything about the area. There was an ipad attached the wall in the reception area which we used ourselves to work out our way around.

Our biggest shock and disappointment with the hotel came when we arrived back at the room after a long day of sightseeing at about 11pm on the second night of our stay. After such a full day, we (and our two young children) were rather hot and tired so before going up to the room we bought a bottle of water from the reception desk. Nothing was said to us and we headed up to the room only to find that our room key would not open the door. We had been locked out of the room because we hadn't paid for the second night!! We wouldn't have minded if their policy is that you must pay up front but we were pretty cranky that they hadn't told us but had let us find out the hard way!

We didn't see or hear any other people staying at the hotel in the time that we were there. I guess the best things about the hotel was that we didn't spend much time either. The hotel is well priced but I think that it is probably worth paying a bit more somewhere else.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Slugette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

The room is too small and needs to repaint, bed is not comfortable to sleep and even there is wifii its too hard to access

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bethianian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#145 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
#137 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Joo Chiat
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
#128 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Chang Ziang Hotel
Chang Ziang Hotel
#185 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Emerald
Fragrance Hotel - Emerald
#129 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 Hollywood
Hotel 81 Hollywood
#198 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 34? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 34

Property: Hotel 34
Address: 34 Lorong 22 Geylang Hotel 34, Singapore 398691, Singapore (Formerly Santa Grand Hotel Aljunied)
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Geylang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Price range (per night): $51 - $98
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 34 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 34 is an eight-storey character hotel, comprising of Superior, Deluxe and Family rooms - giving a very intimate and homely atmosphere to all guests. The rooms reflect a modernistic style specially designed using different colour combinations to create varying moods. Just 18 minutes from Changi International Airport and a stone throw away from the city centre - Suntec Singapore International Convention and Exhibition Centre, Suntec City Mall and the financial and business districts at Shenton Way. Hotel 34 is ideally located for both regional business and leisure travelers. In addition, Hotel 34's location within walking distance of Singapore Indoor Stadium means that for iconic regional performances, we are able to host regional travelers for very short stays for whom convenience to the venue is the primary concern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel 34 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 34 Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing