We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for Money”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rider's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rider's Lodge
Ranked #266 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent value for Money”
Reviewed 28 April 2011

We recently stayed at Riders Lodge as a Group for between 2 and 6 nights. Considering the prices for accommodation in Singapore, Riders Lodge is excellent value. Included in the price is breakfast and internet access.
Our group booked 13 rooms and from the time of check in till time of departure Ravi G the Operations Manager and his staff could not do enough to help our group. One morning he even started breakfast early so our group could have breakfast before we departed for the day. Yes, some of us, did have slight problems with our room, but once these faults were pointed out that were either fixed immediately or in one case one person moved rooms, nothing was a problem for the staff.
The rooms are definately not 5 star but for what we paid, we were provided with CLEAN and comfortable spacious accommodation, and are very functional considering the price.
One of our group got quite sick the night before leaving and could not travel, so Ravi G allowed him to stay in his room, instead of checking out, and then called a taxi later in the morning to take him to his next destination.
They do not have a restaurant, but at Turf City (approx 5 minute walk) there are many outdoor restaurants.
We would highly recommend Riders Lodge for anyone looking for accommodation in Singapore at an affordable price and in particular if you did not want to be in the heart of the city. If you were travelling in a group, Riders Lodge would be perfect.
We will definately consider Riders Lodge next year, if the need arises.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank resordanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    40
    32
    20
    14
See reviews for
16
26
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Corfu, Greece
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

In Summary:
Costly to reach & requires taxis to go anywhere.
Room with no window or only 6" wide window right by the door.
Aircon which will take an average hour to get room down to selected temp as fan speed inadequate.
Unhelpful & uninterested staff at reception.
Clean basic room (hotels classification deluxe).
Basic amenities included (tea/coffee, air-con, deposit box).
Minibar available at extra cost but resonably priced.

We chose this hotel away from the city in order to have a nice view & quiet stay. The taxi cost 28$S in rush hour and the hotel location is not great because there is no MRT station or transport nearby so you have to use taxis to get everywhere.

On arrival reception/hotel is not accesible directly from the car so you have to pull your suitcases uphill & along a paved path (not easy) for short distance approx 20m. Our room was then upstairs (no lift / porter or assistance). The 'receptionist' was not particularly polite or helpful although not rude at check-in.

The room was clean with kettle tea & coffee included. Minibar available at reasonable rates.

Room was extremely disappointing. The hotel's descriptions state "rooms overlooking scenic views". The views are not particularly scenic & you don't have a window to look out of anyway unless you you count a 6" wide slit of a window by the door.

Overall I'd score it 1 out of 5 because it was clean.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atraveller2011189458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

The reviews on Trip Advisor generally seemed positive - a nice lodge style hotel in a semi rural setting. Overall I was disappointed with my experience. I turned up at about 7am as my flight from NZ landed very early (about 5:30am). The lady on the front desk gave me a look of "what are you doing here?" when I showed up hot and sweaty with my luggage. Not welcoming at all.

Being jet lagged I tried to get some sleep in the morning but this was difficult as the cleaners are extremely noisy. They seemed to spend all their time yelling at each other (including a man, perhaps the overall boss of the cleaning and housekeeping staff, who kept on saying "now listen to me, this is how should be doing it" very loudly!).

My room was very basic, you might even say budget. The breakfast was very very average.

I expected a nice retreat. I got a very basic hotel, with noisy housekeeping staff, which is in the middle of nowhere and awkward to get to.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoamingKiwi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
195 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Rooms: I got myself a Grandeur room with a King size bed. It has a big 32’ LCD TV. Room is reasonably big while Bathroom does not have a bath tub. The room also has got a very small window and of course there is no balcony (I guess it is with Suites only). If you love to look out of your room, pls ask for rooms with double window when you reserve. WiFi Internet access is free and that is a big plus. Big windows would have earned rooms 1 more star from me. It does have a mini refrigerator as well. Iron and ironing board, travel adaptors are available upon request. Late check out/ early check in are allowed subject to availability at no extra cost
Restaurant: Does not have any of its own. But they do serve breakfast for free. Limited
items but taste is good and breakfast is sufficient. As for lunch/ dinner, there is a French restaurant (Picotin) in the same campus, most haunted by locals, so one can try that (min S$60 for 3 course meal) . Else, about 300 meters away you have plenty of restaurants/ bars (including 2 Indian restaurants) on sixth avenue.
Room Rates: Reasonably priced. But do try to call hotel for discounts before booking. (Rack rates are much higher than what you book at)
Proximity: No MRT nearby but there is one coming up in year 2014. Bus stop is 250 meters away from where you can find buses to nearest MRT or even Orchard Road. Interestingly the place has direct link by bus to major shopping areas besides Orchard like Boon Lay, Bukit Timah, Clementi besides those who have work in NUS Kent Bridge, there is a direct connection too. There is a supermarket (Cold Storage) nearby as well. In the hotel compound, there is a famous but expensive Spa as well. If going by taxi, please tell driver that you have to go near horsecity opposite sixth avenue on Bukit Timah Road because this place/ hotel is not well known among the cabbies.
Verdict: The hotel is in a compound where besides hotel there is a Montessori, a French restaurant, a Spa besides a horse turf and a dog compound. At the rate being offered and the access to various places, I have all praise for this hotel. A hotel that could have completed the 5 star rating if limitations are addressed.
Plus: Rooms, location, internet access (if it works)
Minus: Maintenance staff works at their own leisure. I could not access internet at one point in time and it made me call them almost 6 times and they took 5 days to correct the problem. Upon check out when I asked for discount on account of internet issue, I was told that since it was for free so no discounts. I hope someday they should not come n say “today no breakfast” and since it is also for free so hardly as a guest we can do . No choice in cable channels. No Hindi channel. Paid parking at S$1/hr during day time & half after that.
Verdict: Dont choose just because it has got good reviews. It is near to no tourist spot and the price you pay for it, can get you a descent accommodation in the city. I choose it because it has direct access to NUS. Choose this only if you feel like staying in a resort.
Word of caution: Bathroom sleepers are supplied only if u ask for :) ????

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rakesh37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2011

A nice informal hotel in a great spot in Singapore. Away from the city but surrounded by restaurants and bars of Bukit Timah and Sixth Avenue. The rooms are clean and fairly comfortable, albeit a little basic, but given the room rate is fair, no problem. My only real gripe is the breakfast which borders on inedible. Tea ran out, although told 2 minutes, which after 15 minutes never appeared. I asked for a tea bag so i could make my own - no joy - no tea. Friday's breakfast offerings - Curried beans, something I can describe as left-over soggy pasta mixed with tuna?, deep fried chicken nuggests, soggy french toast and overcooked boiled eggs. Still, good for the diet eh? My advice, ask for a $10 discount on the room in return for no breakfast and walk the 20 metres to Picotin and buy breakfast there. Given I stay in alot of hotels in Singpare, it's a shame as I was feeling good about the lodge but the breakfast really blows. Still, on balance good to stay at with just a poor breakfast letting it down.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee_in_Wokingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Singapore
18.3 km away
Genting Hotel Jurong
Genting Hotel Jurong
#1 of 1 in Jurong
300 reviews
16.1 km away
Santa Grand Hotel West Coast
Santa Grand Hotel West Coast
#212 of 306 in Singapore
166 reviews
13.5 km away
Park Avenue Rochester Hotel
Park Avenue Rochester Hotel
#85 of 306 in Singapore
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 km away
Arena Country Club
Arena Country Club
#229 of 306 in Singapore
14 reviews
12.6 km away
Park Hotel Alexandra
Park Hotel Alexandra
#62 of 306 in Singapore
605 reviews
13.8 km away
Citadines Fusionopolis Singapore
Citadines Fusionopolis Singapore
#204 of 306 in Singapore
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rider's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rider's Lodge

Property: Rider's Lodge
Address: 108 Turf Club Road, Singapore 287999, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #266 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Price range (per night): $103 - $144
Hotel Class:3 star — Rider's Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial style rooms tastefully designed with Rodeo inspired decors overlooking a scenic view. Its is an oasis of tranquility with country style lush green landscapes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rider's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rider`s Hotel Singapore
Riders Hotel Singapore
Rider's Lodge Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing