We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fragrance Hotel - Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fragrance Hotel - Imperial
Ranked #179 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Horrible Experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Stayed here on a stopover to Phuket and let me tell you the rooms are super small and the shower is even smaller. You are pretty much showering in the toilet. There is no shower screen so the whole bathroom gets wet. Will never be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fijistar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    114
    105
    33
    24
See reviews for
87
71
40
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We spend one night, because of delays in connecting flights. We had booked a Superior Room. The room we were offered was on level 2, and was a tiny airless shoebox with no windows at all. Very claustrophobic. The corridor outside the room also smelled strongly of cigarette smoke. We asked to be moved to another room.. The replacement room (which they proudly called a "superior" room) was slightly bigger, but also had no windows at all. At least the airconditioning reduced the level of stuffiness and and feeling of claustrophobia a bit. I wondered what the first room was, if the replacement room was supposed to be an improvement on what we had booked and paid for.....

The hotel had more of the feel of a budget backpackers hostel - there were no carpets on the floors, and the bathroom did not have the amenities to which travelers these days have become accustomed (small soap, small individual bottles or sachets of shampoo and conditioner and shower gel) but rather had a dispenser of anonymous gel of some sort bolted to the wall in the shower stall. Towels were thin and threadbare, and no wash cloth or shower mat to stand on whilst drying oneself. The sheets on the bed were too small for the mattress and thus could not be tucked in properly. This resulted the the bottom sheet coming loose and rucking up around one - most uncomfortable.

The breakfast options were also severely limited - one could have a hot breakfast of fried eggs with ham or turkey slices and greasy hash browns plus toast, or an Asian option of noodles and toast, or cereal plus toast. The cereals on offer were cocopops or cornflakes. The end. This was also the first hotel we found in our 20-day trip around Asia that did not offer soya milk.

On the plus side, the reception staff did try to help us, and were very friendly.

Room Tip: Book in a different hotel, or else get confirmation in writing that you will get a room with windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TSmith48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Bali
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

I stayed there with my family as a transit before flying back to Bali.
This place looks more like a jail than a hotel. My "family" room was so small, no more than 4m by 4 m, walls are paper thin, i had to knock on our 2 doors away neighbors at 3.00 am in order to sleep. One of the most lifeless room I have ever encountered.
Forget about service, it is all "do it yourself" in this place. Breakfast is really basic.
150$ for this.....forget about it.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PulangBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
170 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

The hotel is located in a quiet neighbourhood with a food court with a wide variety of fast food stalls located a block away. Marina Bay is within leisurely walking distance through the Kallang Water Park. There is another Fragrance Hotel in the block so make sure you have the complete hotel address to avoid confusion.

The room I reserved was a standard room. Room is generally clean and space is ample for one or two persons, except that the standard room I was given was without windows. It was not really a problem since I only stayed overnight.. . But for those who are claustrophobic and staying for more than 1 day, make sure you ask for a room with a window. Unlike in other similar hotels, the bathroom of Fragrance Imperial is large enough that the shower is separate from the toilet.

The room comes with hot pot and complimentary drinks like bottled water and 3 in 1 coffee mix and basic toiletries like toothbrush, soap and shower cap. The room is equipped with a flat screen TV , fridge and bedside lamp A light switch is also provided by the bedside, so no need to stand up to turn off the lights. The room is generously provided with power outlets which is very convenient for recharging all the electronic gizmos all at the same time. It also has a swimming pool at the roof top.

The front desk staff is really friendly and helpful. I have no reservations about staying in this hotel again during my future trips to Singapore.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OWSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iloilo City
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

The rooms of this hotel are small and make you feel cramped up. The rates were surprisingly expensive! Also, the Wi-Fi was S$5/2 hours and S$4/hour so I was like what?
Some of the staff are Filipinos. Interesting.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank piearesquared-hubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#118 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Fragrance Hotel - Bugis
#159 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Fragrance Hotel - Riverside
#137 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fragrance Hotel - Balestier
#161 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Fragrance Hotel - Lavender
#266 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Joo Chiat
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
#129 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fragrance Hotel - Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fragrance Hotel - Imperial

Property: Fragrance Hotel - Imperial
Address: 28 Penhas Road, Singapore 208187, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Price range (per night): $93 - $136
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fragrance Hotel - Imperial 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Wotif.com, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Fragrance Hotel - Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fragrance Hotel - Imperial Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing