We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Far From The Madding Crowd” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capella Singapore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Capella Singapore
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Far From The Madding Crowd”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Singapore, the Capella offers a sanctuary of peace and quiet among a beautifully manicured landscape. The imposing colonial mansion set on a sweeping knoll is reminiscent of the grand old days of colonial charm. It is backed by a modern building designed by Norman Foster to house the rooms which are spacious and stylishly furnished. The daring combination of colonial and modern architecture however, overshadows the charm of the colonial building. Our room overlooks a great vista of a beach and the Merlion viewing point and at night we can see the lights of the attractions of Sentosa. The room is all mod con and the curtains, blinds and lights are all remotely controlled from the bedside. Service is impeccable and attentive. The only criticism is the turn-down snack at night is a packet of biscuits that came in all broken and crumbly as it obviously cannot survive the rigour of transit . Maybe they should stick to chocolate goodnight gift as normally distributed in luxury hotels. It would also be useful to have a guest relation person who can speak English coherently when showing guests to their rooms. The Chinese lady who showed us to our room is beautiful and gracious but we could not understand half of what she was saying in her broken English. Breakfast is sumptuous with a large variety of choices from the full blown decadent menu to healthy ones. The only problem is the lift nearest to the Knoll, the restaurant where breakfast is served, has a foul smell. Apparently the management is trying to solve the problem.To avoid the smelly lift, take a stroll through the lovely garden and enjoy the breakfast. One of the best things about the Capella is that it allows guests to bring their dogs (provided they are of small breed) to stay in their rooms. Sentosa is a wonderful escape from the city with many of its greenery and forest still intact and at the same time offers attractions to suit everyone. Highly recommended attraction is the luge downhill self-driven ride akin to tobogganing except on a vehicle with wheels and brakes down a winding concrete path. Capella offers a tranquil escape yet minutes away from all the attractions and beaches in Sentosa and it offers a free shuttle to Vivo City shopping mall across the waters.

Room Tip: We were very happy with our room facing the beach and the Merlion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenOon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    898
    186
    63
    29
    19
See reviews for
387
455
40
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

I’ve stayed in a few luxury hotels in Singapore but when I do, I try to make sure that the stay is truly value for money. And when I do review them, I make sure that my review is based on a few occasions and not just one stay. Reason being, only then I can be sure of the service consistency and product offerings.

The one hotel that has not disappointed me is The Capelle. The Capelle at Sentosa is one of the luxury hotels in Singapore and they definitely live up to its name. The experience starts when you make a reservation. Prior to your arrival, the hotel will check with you whether they could be of assistance to make your stay more enjoyable. While most luxury hotels do that, my experience tells me that this hotel really means it and ensures that whatever you have requested is delivered (as long as it’s humanely possible).

For this trip, my partner and I stayed in two different rooms – the premier sea view room and the sea view villa.

On the whole, the staff provides genuine service regardless of which category of room you are staying in. It is even more challenging for the staff to service the guests staying in the villas because the staff has to drive the buggy to the villa just to deliver the items. This happened to me when the service staff had to make a few trips from the main building to the villa just to deliver the items. They were so polite and ever so accommodating. I should have prepared a list of required items and got them to deliver all at once. My apology.

The premier sea view room is very spacious and it has a fantastic view of the sea. And the room has a balcony which allows you to enjoy the scenic view. But it was the villa that blew us away! The villa is super spacious. So much so that we even had friends over to enjoy a few drinks in the comfort of the living room. The villa has an outdoor bathtub and shower. The supply of Nespresso coffee and Gryphon tea is much appreciated and you know the hotel does not stinge on such little luxuries for its guests. Furthermore, the supply of complementary drinks in the villa’s minibar is well stocked. The pool in the villa is good for a soak and for young children to swim but too small for any decent size adult to swim.

We had a few meals at The Knolls and also the Chinese restaurant, Cassia. The selection and quality of the food is excellent. We are very much impressed by Cassia’s intimate setting and quality of food. The fine Chinese cuisine is very well presented and worthy of its high price tags. The Bob’s Bar is another of our favourite place in the hotel. It’s really relaxing to be able to enjoy a drink or two at the outdoor lounge and enjoying the sea view. The only objects that probably gave hint that we are still in this busy city is the massive number of container ships in the distance. Bob’s Bar continues to be one of our favourite haunts even when we are not house guests.

Even though the December stay in Capella was the second we had in a year, we still didn’t have a chance to use the gym. We did not get to use the spa as well.

Personally, the Capella continues to rank very highly in my review. Despite its minimalist design and decoration (and at times, it pales in comparison to some of the luxury hotels in the main island), Capella is one luxury property which exudes discreet elegance and charm without having to be ostentatious. But the service quality definitely lives up to the luxury benchmark. This is what I love about the Capella.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank QCInspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
294 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Ever want to get away from Singapore but too tired and allergic to another plane ride? Hop in a car and drive across a causeway to Sentosa. Soon you will forget yourself in the verdant leafy surrounding of Capella. We have been here on Staycation, business conference, and executive retreat. The feel each was the same- very relaxing, friendly atmosphere without the hassles of a ferry to Bintan and certainly no airplane is needed. The rooms each of three occasions have beautiful sea view with electric drapery unfolding with the press of a button. Themed lighting adds to the mood of your choice and a wonderful sound system to help you get into and luxuriate in the mood. The resident tea lounge is upstairs with free soft drinks at least when we were there: great for an after lunch unwinding or post workshop debrief.
The conference rooms are the hotel's weakest feature. The facilities are down below 2 flights if stairs giving me the feeling we are moving underground when we are actually just descending to below street level. Once you are in the ballroom you might as well be in the Suntec Convention center because it is windowless. A lot of conference participants chose to get some fresh air in the large patio area outside and enjoy a bit of sun and the lush greenery.
Cassia, the upscale Chinese restaurant at street level is under sung. The dishes are superbly executed and service impeccable as far as Chiese restaurants go. Throughout the entire resort and eateries, the decor is understated and elegant which help the guest relax.
All in, a definite super deluxe hotel and resort for stay cation, a couples retreat or just an intimate business meeting. Go elsewhere for conference.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnyboy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We had one night at the Capella with our two daughters and all thought it was fantastic. Excellent pre check in service with telephone calls assisting with spa bookings, dinner reservations, early check ins. They arranged one room to be ready early so we could get there around 11am and my husband and I visited the spa which was bliss before an excellent lunch at their mediteranean restaurant. The bedrooms are stunning - we had premier seaview rooms - beautifully furnished, amazing full height windows with great views and lovely balcony and bathrooms. Spent the afternoon lazing by the pool and playing tennis - my only recommendation is that they upgrade the tennis rackets they provide. Lovely drinks before dinner in Bobs bar - very trendy and cool furniture, live band in background. Amazing dinner at Chinese restaurant, Cassia - excellent waitress who really knew the menu and could assist with our order. Went back to Mediteranean for coffee/pud as thats what the kids felt like. Breakfast excellent the next day and we were sad to leave in the end. Beautiful contemporary architecture around an old colonial building, great views, lovely service - expensive but well worth it. Was a bit miffed we had to pay the valet park as thought that would have been included and hadn't been told I think on arrival - they just whisked car and luggage away. Think they should just charge visitors not residents. Will definitely go back and it's probably now my top hotel in Singapore.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodwoodSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sentosa Island hotels
1.8 km away
Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa
0.6 km away
Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa
2.1 km away
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
#4 of 13 in Sentosa Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Resorts World Sentosa - Equarius Hotel
1.1 km away
Resorts World Sentosa - Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
0.9 km away
Resorts World Sentosa - Festive Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capella Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capella Singapore

Property: Capella Singapore
Address: 1 The Knolls, Sentosa Island 098297, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sentosa Island
#1 Spa Hotel in Sentosa Island
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sentosa Island
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sentosa Island
Price range (per night): $581 - $2,256
Hotel Class:5 star — Capella Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ultra luxury resort situated on Sentosa Island, Singapore. Guests can enjoy an on-site spa, restaurants, golf courses and the beautiful landscape overlooking the South China Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TravelClick, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Wotif.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Capella Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capella Singapore Sentosa Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing