We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated, quality below average”
Review of The Ruf Resto Bar

The Ruf Resto Bar
Ranked #2 of 337 Restaurants in Boracay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 4 - USD 10
Description: The Ruf Restobar, located just a few minutes walk from the back and front beach at the rooftop of Ferra Hotel Boracay, is a getaway from the noisy and busy atmosphere of the main road and beach front. It's chill, relaxing yet classy ambiance provides a cozy dinner venue not only for couples but also for family and friends who want to have a wonderful dinner out. Our wide variety of Asian fusion choices and extensive drinks offering will surely provide a satisfying and gastronomic escape. A n amazing view of the sunset and the stars is also visible right at the rooftop restobar providing a visible and colorful view of the horizons-definitely a must-try in Boracay.
Restaurant details
Description: The Ruf Restobar, located just a few minutes walk from the back and front beach at the rooftop of Ferra Hotel Boracay, is a getaway from the noisy and busy atmosphere of the main road and beach front. It's chill, relaxing yet classy ambiance provides a cozy dinner venue not only for couples but also for family and friends who want to have a wonderful dinner out. Our wide variety of Asian fusion choices and extensive drinks offering will surely provide a satisfying and gastronomic escape. A n amazing view of the sunset and the stars is also visible right at the rooftop restobar providing a visible and colorful view of the horizons-definitely a must-try in Boracay.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Ordered fish/chips all came with butter juiced, fries were so overcooked so no potato left, just crispy shell. Fish is cheap Tilapia, which is regular fish for cat food.

Burger came with fake cheese. Just some sort of cheese hard substance, not even close to cheddar.

Stuff wanted to know your name and hotel where you're staying. Thanks not asking my passport number.

2 stars for the beer. Think twice before you go.

1  Thank Dmitry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferra Hotel B, General Manager at The Ruf Resto Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hi Dmitry K!

Thank you for your review.

We would like to sincerely apologize for what has happened during your group's dinner with us. What has happened has given us the opportunity to recheck our food preparation standards and we have already reiterated to our staff the proper standards and quality of preparing our food and would not tolerate anything that would deviate from the high standards that we uphold.

We want you to know that we take these things seriously and that we are very much willing to continuously improve our services and product offerings.

With this improvements being made, we hope you can give us another time to host you for dinner.

Please feel free to let us know how else we can assist you. Please contact us at 09176809137 / ferrahotelboracay@gmail.com.


Truly yours,


ARNEL SALVADOR
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We had high hopes for this restaurant given its Tripadvisor ratings. However the whole experience fell flat and we left disappointed.

We ordered Nasai Goreng and Fish and Chips. The Nasai was bland and we asked for some soy sauce to liven it up. The sauce arrived 10 mins later after the Nasai had been finished (because we were so hungry). I also asked for more sauce to go with my fish and chips, which the waitress realised she had forgotten when she delivered the soy sauce, so a further wait for that. Curiously there was far more fish than chips in the portion. The batter was dense and overpowered the small bit of fish it contained.

We ordered cocktails which were also a disappointment as they were so weak. The Cosmo may as well have been just cranberry juice.

That said, we ate all of our food as we waited so long for it and were very hungry by the time it arrived. If the staff spent less time trying to be your friend and more time delivering better food and service it would have improved our experience. If like us you make a booking here based on Tripadvisor ratings, be warned.

Thank yobwashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferra Hotel B, Manager at The Ruf Resto Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hi yobwashere!

Thank you for taking time to review our restaurant.

First of all, we would like to apologize for the experience you had with our restaurant.

As this came into view, we would like to let you know that our management takes these things seriously, thus, we have investigated what has happened and has reiterated with our kitchen and service staff the value of adhering to our basic service and food preparation standards. We have also further made sure that similar instances like these would be avoided in the future.

We are thankful for the opportunity to better our products and services through your comments.

If you have any other questions, please feel free to contact us at 09176809137 or email us at ferrahotelboracay@gmail.com.

Thank you.


Truly yours,


ARNEL SALVADOR
Hotel Manager
Ferra Hotel Boracay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Assessing the reviews of this restaurant already gives you the first impression on what will it once you come and have a try on their dishes. And it really didn't disappoint me, of course, from its smiling staff who are ready to ask you of your food preference to their menu list which has a plenty of choices. Moreover, when you feel like you really need to fill up your stomach with heavy but tasty meals or you just want to take a sip of their refreshing cocktails together with your friends, you will never have to think twice of this. Went here many times already and gained some good friends from their staff and I really want to go back again and again because of their ladies' night every Friday wherein drinks are just free for ladies and I can't get enough of their dirty fries as a pair for it. You can as well ask their F & B staff if you would want to have it strong or just light :) Kudos and keep up the firing hospitality skills!!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferra Hotel B, Marketing and Communications at The Ruf Resto Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Dear Beth R,


Thank you very much for this review! We are very happy you enjoyed your dining experience with us :)

Thank you also for complimenting both our food and staff!

We are really glad to have had you as one of our guests and we look forward to your next visit :)



Best regards,

The Ruf Resto Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Food was okay but it took too long till we got served the food. Over an half hour..:/ I don’t Id come back again...

1  Thank Haeun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FerraBoracay, Marketing and Communications at The Ruf Resto Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Dear Haeun K,

Thank you for taking time to give us a review and thank you for choosing to dine with us :)

Also, we do apologize for any inconveniences you have experienced with us. Rest assured that our management is already taking immediate action to address this.

We do hope to have you again on your next visit to the island :)


Best regards,

The Ruf Resto Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile


Yes very good service and god food, relaxing atmosfare and top all... good location and easy to find... the banana desert was perfect...... Lindeman Redwine was good...

Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FerraBoracay, Marketing and Communications at The Ruf Resto Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dearest Jan H,

Thank you for dropping us a review! We are happy to know that you enjoyed dining with us, from the food, the atmosphere, the location and especially our Banana Foster and Linderman red wine. :)

We are looking forward to seeing you again here!


Best regards,

The Ruf Resto Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ruf Resto Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Ruf Resto Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing